The #1 Reason for Social Networking

Are you a social media junkie, or did you drag your feet before you began to tweet?

When I crawled out of my cave three years ago and discovered the connections I could make in cyberspace, I rejoiced.

Well, eventually. First I had to learn to speak Facebook and Twitter.

These days I’m becoming trilingual, although I’m by no means fluent in Google+ yet. I have a profile up and am learning to round-up people into circles, but I don’t know how to start a hangout so I can chat via webcam. Give me time, though, and I’ll get up to speed. :-)

When I was first introduced to the concept of social networking, I focused on the word networking. In all honestly, I didn’t care for the concept. The idea of friending or following others in order to build a platform seemed self-serving, and that left me cold.

As I got more involved on Facebook and Twitter, I realized I’d been focusing on the wrong word. Social networking has to do with the word social, which involves connecting with people. Interesting, clever, fun people. Lots of them.

Meeting people and forming friendships is what social networking’s all about. And that rocks big time.

Just last week, I joined a new friend for lunch. Karen Hansen and I met on Twitter a couple of months ago, got to DMing (chatting using direct messages, not publicly), and learned that we only live about an hour apart. We set a date to get together, and when the time came, we had a blast. Our lunch turned into a four-hour gabfest. We talked writing, kids, gardening. . .and social networking.

Because of Karen’s encouragement, I’m on Google+. I’m not usually an early adopter, especially when it comes to technology-related endeavors, but I’m having fun getting to know fellow, well, Googlers.

These days I embrace social networking because I’ve learned the #1 reason for it: forming friendships. All right, I’ll admit it. It’s just plain fun, too.

• • •

Did you embrace social networking, or were you hesitant to join Facebook, Twitter, etc?

What are your favorite social networking sites?

Are you planning to check out G+?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Writing & Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The #1 Reason for Social Networking

  1. I’m always happy to find others in the blogosphere that are there to enjoy networking for the sake of the relationships that develop, rather than just for accumulating big ‘Follower’ numbers and aggressive marketing. I have my Blog, Goodreads, Facebook, and Twitter accounts, gradually acquired in that order over the past 3-1/2 years. I was slow to join the latter two because of the time drain and the fact that I don’t have a professional persona to promote yet. Once I discovered how much I enjoy the cyberspace connections, however, I use them regularly. I’m ready to give Google+ a try, too, but can’t get on it yet. The circles sound like a huge improvement over FB where every friend is subjected to their friend’s comments to everyone else.

Comments are closed.