Barbour’s Bride/Wedding Line: The Fun Begins!

A package from Amazon has a way of putting a smile on my face, but once in a while a shipment arrives that produces a grin that would put the Cheshire cat’s to shame.

Friday, August 19 was one of those days when I left the post office in such a state that people stopped to stare. I couldn’t contain my happiness.

What was in that small brown parcel?

The very first book in Barbour Publishing’s brand new Bride and Wedding line. I’m excited because A Bride’s Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas is written by my friend and agency mate, Erica Vetsch. It’s her first trade-length romance, and I’m thrilled for her. Not only that, but the story sounds wonderful. I can’t wait to savor it.

I’ve been doing some Nancy Drew work and have, with the help of Linda Hang, the awesome editorial assistant I’m privileged to work with at Barbour, learned more about the books in the line. The Bride books are historical romances, whereas the Wedding books are their contemporary counterparts.

I’ve been on the lookout for the Bride and Wedding books on Amazon. Guess what? The September titles are available. (The titles are links that will take you to Amazon.)

A Bride’s Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas

By Erica Vetsch

September 2011

* * *

A Wedding Blunder in the Black Hills

By Kim O’Brien

September 2011

* * *

I don’t have information on the October-December 2011 titles, but thanks to Linda, I have the names of the 2012 titles. Several of them already available for pre-order on Amazon. The covers are beautiful, and the stories sound great. But don’t take my word for it. I’ll include a list of those titles I’ve located so you can see for yourself.

A Bride’s Flight from Virginia City, Montana

By Murray Pura

January 2012

* * *

A Wedding to Remember in Charleston, South Carolina

By Annalisa Daughety

February 2012

* * *

A Bride’s Sweet Surprise in Sauers, Indiana

By Ramona K. Cecil

March 2012

* * *

A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island

By Cara C. Putman

April 2012

* * *

A Bride’s Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee

By Diana Lesire Brandmeyer

May 2012

* * *

A Wedding Song in Lexington, Kentucky

By Jennifer Johnson

June 2012

* * *

The July 2012 title is A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California. Sound familiar? If not let me give you a hint. The author is Keli Gwyn. This title is not yet available for pre-order. In fact, I’ve yet to get a peek at the cover. However, judging by the stellar job the Barbour design team has done on those books in the line I have seen, my cover will be awesome.

 * * *

Do you get excited when a publisher launches a new line?

Do you like it when a line includes both contemporary and historical titles?

Don’t you just love the titles and covers of the Bride and Wedding books? (Had to ask. :-))

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in My Journey, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Barbour’s Bride/Wedding Line: The Fun Begins!

  1. Donna Pyle says:

    Keli, your cheshire cat grin puts a smile on my face. :) Thanks for your Nancy Drew work and putting all of these wonderful titles together in one place for easy clicking. That put a cheshire cat smile on my face!

  2. Wendy says:

    Erica’s post made me smile today and so does this. You are an eternal encourager! I love it. I love everything about it!
    ~ Wendy

  3. SQUEEE!!! I can hardly stand it! Thank you so much for sharing my joy. I can’t wait to see your cover art, to read the Look Inside feature on amazon, and to hold your book in my hands.

  4. I find it very exciting to get in on reading a new line right from the start!

    I don’t know how I missed that Erica wrote a trade length book until today, but, boy is this exciting! Must get me to amazon. I have to order the character book she recommended not long ago, too!

  5. Jenny C says:

    I found these books on amazon over the weekend…so stoked to hear more about it. They’re all on my wish list. =) Love it when a series has both contemporary and historical. Congrats to all these authors.

  6. Yay! I love Barbour. Very exciting.

  7. Oh, Keli, I can feel your excitement! Those titles all sound wonderful! And can’t wait to see the cover for your book, too, one day soon.

    Congratulations!

  8. the writ and the wrote says:

    These look great, Keli! And yes, I do love the titles and covers, but I totally judge books by their covers, even though I know I shouldn’t.

  9. You’re cover is going to look AWESOME after seeing all those other covers. :D

  10. Keli, I am so excited for you and once you are available I’ll break a leg to get the book. One of these days after I read “her” I would love to do an author interview. Granted I am changing my blog format, but I am trying to leave at least a half dozen posts open for my writer-blogger-friends and you are one of them :)

    Can’t wait to see the cover!

  11. Lots of great books out there. I do love the brides books! Hope your week is going well!!! :O)

  12. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks for sharing in my excitement about the new line. I wish I didn’t have to sleep so I could blast my way through Erica’s book. Soon. Very soon. :-)

  13. I am so excited to be in this group of authors–including you Keli! I can’t wait to see your cover too.
    Looks like a lot of good reading in my future!
    Diana
    http://www.dianabrandmeyer.com
    A Bride’s Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee

  14. this was a great intro to this new series! i haven’t heard anything about it. :)

    hope i’ll get to see you soon at the conference!

  15. Jody Hedlund says:

    Wow, Keli! What a line up! Can’t wait to see yours NEXT!!! And even more than that, I can’t wait to hold it in my hands!

  16. Julie Nilson says:

    After seeing that long line of books leading right up to yours, you must be *dying* to see your cover now!

  17. That looks like a FABULOUS line-up and love the idea of mixing old and new. It’s also fun that the books are all written by different authors. However, it would be really interesting to read either a Bride book that leads to a Wedding book (future generation) or the other way around a Wedding book that, then looks back to a Bride book. I hope our library carries these books!!… and the covers are GREAT. Looking forward to seeing a picture depicting YOUR bride Keli. :)

  18. I love the titles AND the covers. Plus, I think the historical and contemporary give the line variety. A new line is always lots of fun! I’m looking forward to seeing these on the shelves soon. :)

  19. Susan Mason says:

    Aren’t you the sleuth!! Thanks for sharing these great books with us! Yours will be fabulous I’m sure!! Do you think there will be a violin on the cover? How exciting!! Can’t wait to see it!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Sue, I have a hunch the design team is going to focus on the shops my hero and heroine own–shops right across the street from one another. Yes. They’re in competition. :-)

  20. How exciting, Keli! I totally understand that grin. I had the same look on my face when I got two Jenny B. Jones books in one shipment. Oh happy day! :)

    This line looks wonderful, and I can’t wait to see the cover of Keli Gwyn’s debut novel!

  21. How exciting, Keli! And to answer your questions at the end of your post: Yes, Yes, and Yes!!! ;) Sooo happy for you and cannot wait to read your book next summer! :)

  22. Keli, the light in your eyes in this photo makes me smile, smile, smile as I’m sitting here typing. You are a special person and friend.

  23. Carla Gade says:

    Sorry to chime in so late here, but I am so thrilled about this line and even more thrilled that you are part of it!! I absolutely cannot wait to read your novel, Keli! Please put me on your influencer list.

Comments are closed.