Welcome Author Katie Ganshert

Fun. Friendly. Often found wearing a mega-watt smile. That’s Katie Ganshert for you.

A former elementary school teacher, Katie is now a stay-at-home mom attempting to keep up with her three-year-old “wild-child” of a son. Katie, her handsome husband, their active young fellow, and a black lab named Bubba live in the Midwest. The Ganshert family is slated to grow soon, though. Katie and her husband are in the process of adopting a child from the Congo. You can read more about that in this post on Katie’s awesome blog.

Katie is a talented author who wrote a moving story, one I raced through. Her debut novel, Wildflowers from Winter, is due to be released in May. But one lucky visitor doesn’t have to wait that long to get a copy. I’m giving away an ARC I won from Katie’s publisher, so be sure to leave a comment if you’d like a chance to get the book early. I loved this book. You can read my rave review of Wildflowers from Winter on Goodreads.

Let’s Learn a Little More about Katie

You’re a beautiful young woman, both inside and out. No. Don’t deny it. It’s true. You had professional author photos taken last year, which are stunning. When you look at pictures of yourself, what feature do you consider to be your best? Since you have so many, I know this will be a tough question. Humor me, though, and limit it to one feature, but tell us why you chose it.

Oh, Keli, if I could reach through the computer and hug you. You are so sweet. As women, I think we have a hard time seeing ourselves clearly. When I was younger, I struggled with this. I’d often look at another woman and think, I wish I could look like her. It’s taken awhile to break out of this habit.

When I find myself wishing for thicker hair or a smaller nose, I have to stop and remind myself that God fashioned me. I am His masterpiece. We all are. It’s a truth that inspired me to write this short story several months ago.

Anyway, do you like how I’m avoiding your question? Okay, fine. My favorite physical feature would probably be my eyelashes. I have very long, thick eyelashes and I love giving my son butterfly kisses with them.

You share some of your son’s antics on Twitter and Facebook, which often make me laugh. If social media had been around when you were young, what is one of the funniest stories your mom or dad could have shared about you?

Oh goodness. Where do I start? Perhaps they would Tweet about the time I ate an entire jar of olives on Christmas Eve and proceeded to throw them up. Or maybe they would Tweet about the time I thought it would be a great idea to throw crab apples over our fence as hard as I could until the neighbor came over and asked my dad why his daughter was pelting his house with fruit. (Whoops!) Or when I kept referring to Hostess Ding Dongs as donkeys. “Dad, can I eat a donkey now?”

I guess when I was really little, I used to sit in the corner and talk to myself. I like to think I was creating characters and just didn’t have the ability to write them down yet.

When I interviewed you on my former blog back in 2009, just two days before our awesome agent, Rachelle Gardner, offered you representation, you mentioned that you’re a sugar addict. What delectable treats do the best job of satisfying your cravings for something sweet?

Mint Oreos dipped in milk. Frozen chocolate chips—handfuls and handfuls. And my all time favorite: a brownie with two scoops of Whitey’s mint chocolate chip ice cream and lots and lots of Hershey’s Syrup. It’s like heaven in a bowl.

Suppose your hubby came home one day and announced that he’d gotten a nice bonus at work, had arranged to leave your son with trusted relatives, and was whisking you away for a week at a destination of your choice. (Being a wise husband, he knew not to spring such a surprise on you when deadlines loomed.) Where would you choose to have your guy take you?

A week. Hmmm….I’d love to go to Ireland. There’s a lot of Irish blood running through these veins. It would be cool to see where my ancestors lived. I’ve heard it’s a gorgeous country and I could probably sit in a pub all day and listen to people’s accents.

However, if I’m being honest, the first place that popped into mind was Colorado. I’ve been. Hubby has not. Colorado is a great state. I love hiking. I love mountains. I love snowboarding. And I’d love to meet everyone at my publishing house! Waterbrook Multnomah is located in Colorado Springs.

If we took a peek inside your clothes closet, what would we learn about you?

That I hate shopping and I wear shirts I wore ten years ago. Seriously. Shopping is the bane of my existence. The only time I ever go is before the ACFW conference. I’m being totally serious. I have a pair of boots that I have worn since my junior year in high school. And as an odd side note, they are ridiculously heavy. Sometimes I wear them around the house as a form of exercise.

To learn more about Katie, visit her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

• • •

Katie’s Question for You

What is your favorite feature about yourself and why?

• • •

A young architect at a prestigious Chicago firm, Bethany Quinn has built a life far removed from her trailer park teen years. Until an interruption from her estranged mother reveals that tragedy has struck in her hometown and a reluctant Bethany is called back to rural Iowa. Determined to pay her respects while avoiding any emotional entanglements, she vows not to stay long. But the unexpected inheritance of farmland and a startling turn of events in Chicago forces Bethany to come up with a new plan.

Handsome farmhand Evan Price has taken care of the Quinn farm for years. So when Bethany is left the land, he must fight her decisions to realize his dreams. But even as he disagrees with Bethany’s vision, Evan feels drawn to her and the pain she keeps so carefully locked away.

For Bethany, making peace with her past and the God of her childhood doesn’t seem like the path to freedom. Is letting go the only way to new life, love and a peace she’s not even sure exists?

• • •

Drawing for a Copy of Wildflowers from Winter

To enter the drawing, leave a comment by Tuesday, March 27. (Be sure to provide your email address in the appropriate field so I can contact you if you win.)

I’ll select the winner on Wednesday, March 28 and post the name here and in a comment.

Congratulations to the winner: ramblingsfromtheleft!

No purchase necessary.
Offer void where prohibited.
Odds of winning vary due to number of entrants.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Guests, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Welcome Author Katie Ganshert

  1. Thanks so much Keli for introducing us to yet another wonderful writer. Hello, Katie. It is so nice to meet someone who is so down to earth. I might steal the idea of using heavy boots to trim and get the legs fit. I love the tenor of your book and I love you passion for Orerio cookies and milk. Real cold milk and I use the over-stuffed variety. I also break up brownies with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream and marchino cherries :)

  2. I’m laughing because I know exactly the kind of boots your talking about, Katie. I had a pair of those combat boots. :)
    Favorite feature. I’ve always like my lips because they’re the same shape as my grandmother’s. We have a picture of her taken in the early 1920’s and I always thought she looked so beautiful. And then my mom pointed out we had the same mouth. I was thrilled.

  3. Julie Nilson says:

    Favorite feature: Hmm, I guess I’d say my eyes. Partly because I like the color–they’re a bright blue, just like my dad’s and my grandpa’s, and people always compliment me on them, which is nice. No matter how gray my hair gets or how many crows’ feet I earn, my eyes will always be the same color. :) But I also like them because of how well they work: At almost 42, I still have better than 20/20 vision. No reading glasses, nothing–another great genetic legacy from my grandpa, who, at 97, only needs glasses when he reads the newspaper, and that wasn’t until his 70s!

  4. itsalibrarything says:

    I’d love to read Katie’s book!

  5. Rel Mollet says:

    Love, love, love Katie! Also, thoroughly recommend her beautiful book – it made me cry!!

    Mmmmm…favourite feature. You know how to ask HARD questions, Keli! I’m going to wimp out and say my accent – apparently it’s fascinating to all you Americans ;-)

  6. Brianna Soloski says:

    My favorite feature is definitely my eyes, even though I wear glasses. I’m looking forward to your book, Katie.

  7. I wish I was really rich too, Keli! I would also buy lots of copies of my book and send them to everyone! I’ve had so much fun being a guest on your blog today and reading each and every one of the comments.

    Thanks for jumping into the conversation everyone!

  8. jeanniecampbell says:

    loved this interview, keli! and of course you know how i feel about katie’s debut. :)

    my favorite feature about myself is my smile. i went through braces twice and still wear a retainer to keep my pearly whites straight. my retainer–no joke–says 1995 on it. i wonder if that’s a record for wearing a retainer?

  9. Wow, we have a lot in common!! lol I LOVE mint chocolate (anything), I HATE shopping and wear clothes until they get holes in them, shoes too, lol, and I consider my nose too big and not altogether attractive. *grin*
    I can’t wait to read your book!! My fave feature? That’s a hard one. Either my chin because it has this hereditary dimple from my dad or my lips because once my mom told me I had pretty lips and it stuck with me. :-)
    Great interview, ladies!

  10. Eliza says:

    Hopping over here from Katie’s blog. What a fun interview! Ditto the shopping thing completely. My favorite feature would probably be my eyes because they will randomly shift color slightly and I guess that makes me feel a bit mysterious. I would love to get a copy of Wildflowers from Winter and I’m looking forward to reading your blog!

  11. Gin says:

    Wow. A new site, a new voice. Bookmarked!

  12. Susan Mason says:

    Great interview, Keli. Katie, I agree with Keli. I thought maybe you’d been a model in your single days. You sure look like one!

    Your book looks amazing. Can’t wait to get a copy. Wishing you much success with your debut sales!

    Cheers,
    Sue

  13. Keli Gwyn says:

    I’ve held the drawing for the ARC of Katie’s book, and the winner is ramblingsfromtheleft.

    Congratulations, Florence! As soon as I receive the book from the publisher, I’ll get it on it’s way to you. Katie’s book is great. You’re in for a treat.

Comments are closed.