Your Reading Time

I enjoy interviewing book reviewers. One question I ask them is, “when do you read?” Not surprisingly, these voracious readers tend to give the same answer. They read whenever they can, wherever they can, as much as they possibly can.

When I began writing, my reading time dwindled. I used to be able to grab a book and savor it from start to finish in a few delightful hours. I miss those days, but the reality is I no longer have that luxury.

Click on photo to go to Amazon page for Beth’s book.

These days I use reading time as a reward. When I reach the end of the day, I indulge in my nightly Calgon-scented soak and savor a few chapters of a romance.

While I plan to read two or three chapters each evening, I often look at the clock some time later to find that an hour or more has gone by, the water is ice-cold, and my skin resembles a raisin. I blame this on the fact that there are so many talented authors out there writing unputdownable books. Not that I’m complaining, you understand. :-)

Now it’s your turn to answer my question. When do you read?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Your Reading Time

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    I’ve really been enjoying the comments on this post. Thanks to Katie, I’m going to try reading while I walk. Since I walk on a trail with no cars, it could work. I’ll just have to make sure I don’t wander onto the wrong side of the dotted line into the path of those coming from the other direction or get in the way of the bikes that whiz by. I can see it now. I’ll wear a sign on my back that says: “Beware of walker reading.” =)

  2. jennifermajor says:

    Perhaps a helmet might be an idea? We don’t want to lose you to a reading injury. ;)

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      LOL, Jennifer. Yes, I could grab my bicycle helmet. Maybe I could even add one of those cute little flags on a stick so the others on the trail could see me veering from side to side from a distance. =)

  3. jennifermajor says:

    A flag might pose a problem or two. People might think you’re leading a nature hike and start following you. And umm, storage might pose an issue. Why not attach some bells to your ankles? How about you try a few different outfits and we could all vote on them? Talk about a fun photo entry! Or not.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Um, Jennifer, while the bells sound like a good idea, I’m afraid the other hikers might wonder about me as I veered from side to side while jingling and label me a ding-a-ling. =)

      Perhaps special outfits are a better route to take. I’ll have to give that some thought. Maybe one of those florescent orange vests like highway workers wear or something eye-catching like a bright pink feather boa. LOL

  4. Darlene says:

    I commute to work, it is almost an hour each way. So I read on the bus. Thank heaven or I would not get a chance to read at all. I do treat myself to a bubble bath on Friday night and read in the bath as well. Writers have to grab reading time whenever possible.

  5. late to the game….but i read mainly on the toilet. that’s awful to say, i suppose, but it’s the only room in the house that locks. i also frequently take my phone into the restroom at work to read from my kindle app or ibooks app. LOVE that. who’s suspicious of a little phone going in the restroom? however, if i were to bring a paperback….i might get some looks. :) lol!

Comments are closed.