Friday Fun Victorian Style

The Victorians were quite romantic. Every etiquette book written in the period that I’ve seen includes a chapter on writing love letters, for example.

Love letters, however, were only one way young Victorians conveyed romantic messages, which could be difficult to deliver in person due to the ever-present chaperones. Couples used other means to express their feelings, such as flowers, calling cards, and gifts.

Only when a couple was officially courting could a gentleman offer his ladylove jewelry. One item he might have given her was a ring, perhaps a very special kind of ring, one that oozed romance. These rings spelled out words using the first letter of each gemstone.

The most popular ring of this kind was the Regard Ring pictured above, a replica sold by The London Victorian Ring Co. Can you name the five different gemstones used to spell R-E-G-A-R-D? Note that the stone used for the R’s was the same type.

Another ring given by gentleman to their ladies to express their love, although not as often as the Regard Ring, was a Dearest Ring.

Using the picture of the ring above, sold by the same company, can you give the name of the six stones used to spell D-E-A-R-E-S-T? Note that the type of gemstone used for the two E’s was the same. Since four of the stones are also used in the Regard Ring, you only need to come up with two new ones.

• • •

Update and Answer

The gemstones used for the Regard Ring were:

Ruby
Emerald
Garnet
Amethyst
Ruby
Diamond

The gemstones used for the Dearest Ring were:

Diamond
Emerald
Amethyst
Ruby
Emerald
Sapphire
Topaz

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Fun Victorian Style

  1. Sherrinda says:

    What a cool idea for a ring! Love it!
    My guess is: Diamond, Emerald, Amethyst, Ruby, Emerald, Sapphire, and Topaz

  2. Diamond, Emerald, Amethyst, Ruby, Emerald, Sapphire and I can’t tell if that’s a Topaz or Tourmaline or Tiger’s eye…I need a closer look! :)

  3. diamond
    emerald
    amethyst
    ruby
    emerald
    sapphire
    topaz

  4. wendypainemiller says:

    Aw, bringing back sweet memories…my dad bought my mom one of these for one of their anniversaries.
    ~ Wendy

  5. Anne Payne says:

    Ruby Diamond
    Emerald Emerald
    Garnet Amethyst
    Amethyst Ruby
    Ruby Emerald
    Diamond Sapphire
    Topaz

  6. Donna Pyle says:

    I’m in ring envy! That would go with every single outfit. :) Let’s see: diamond, emerald, tanzanite, tourmaline, amethyst, sapphire, citrine

  7. How fun!! What a cool idea.

    R: Ruby
    E: Emerald
    G: Garnet
    A: Amethyst
    D: Diamond

    S in DEAREST: Sapphire
    T: Uh, topaz is the only T stone I know…

  8. Sapphire and Topaz are the missing ones. Too easy, Miss Keli.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  9. Keli, I came in too late and was about to agree with Lane Hill House and then she wrote that it was correct. I am so intrigued with learning about the Victorians. Although I knew they were different, I had no idea of the depth of their customs. Thanks for another “lesson.” :)

Comments are closed.