Beginnings

Photobucket image by JJOH

There’s something exhilarating about embarking on a new adventure, isn’t there?

The year is brand new, full of promise. I’m eager to see what 2011 holds. I long to happy dance with you as your dreams are realized.

What are your dreams? Completing a manuscript? Receiving an offer of representation? Getting The Call?

Or perhaps you’re seeking employment. Improved health for yourself or a loved one. A restored relationship.

This month marks the fifth anniversary of my writing journey. I marvel at how far I’ve come and how much richer my life is because I chose to pursue my longtime dream.

Was it easy to declare myself a writer and start that first story? Nope. It was kinda scary, but I did it, and that was one of the best decisions of my life.

I wanna know . . .

What dreams do you have?

What are you doing to see that they come to pass?

If you’ve yet to begin pursuing your dreams. what’s holding you back?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Beginnings

  1. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    Just a small wish for the new year here….health. And to see all my friends happy, healthy and well. And that there`s always a light on the roads we walk, the loving light in our eyes, a cool drink of water and the colours of nature and of the universe. – And that my boyfriend is always as happy as he is now.

    And that we can read some of your writing, maybe in a book, Keli. 🙂

    I think I wish too much….lol.

  2. Love the new look Keli! I can’t wait to happy dance with YOU when your dreams come true! I know they will!

  3. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    They surely will come true 🙂

    For you deserve it.

  4. Anne Barton says:

    I love the new look, Keli! Happy 5 year writing anniversary. 😉

  5. Congrats on the move. I hope to have more time to write and get the stories out of my head that are wandering around there and then hope they are accepted for publication.

  6. Cathy West says:

    Happy New Year, Keli! Right now I’d really like to start feeling better! Been coughing forever!! This is going to be a challenging year for me, but I’m also looking forward to everything that’s happening! I hope to be able to juggle my writing time with my marketing and book promotion time, and still stay sane! I’m sort of looking forward to hearing what people think of my book, although that’s a little scary I admit. I’m also really looking forward to the next ACFW conference where I hope I’ll get to hang out with you again! AND Happy Dancing with you! I know that’s going to happen SOON!!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Cathy, I think it’s high time that pesky bug bugged off. Perhaps you need to serve it with an eviction notice. =)

      You definitely have an exciting year ahead of you as you learn to do the Published Author Juggling Act. I have a hunch you’ll do a great job striking a balance between writing, promo, marketing, answering fan mail, watching your book climb the charts . . .

      I’m eager to see you in St. Louis, too.

  7. Sherrinda says:

    I love the new look, Keli! And Happy Anniversary! What an exciting journey, to be sure! For me, I dream of going to the ACFW Conference in St. Louis this year. I better get to saving, huh?

  8. Jan Cline says:

    I just posted about this on my blog. I think a lot of us are in the dreaming mood. I love the new blog. Happy New Year.

  9. Jessica N says:

    Tons of dreams but only my practical ones get followed. The rest I give to my characters. That’s why one heroine is a freelance writer for a newspaper, one is a bookstore owner, one is a private detective and one is a skydiver. LOL I wonder what my next heroine’s career will be!
    May this year be full of many dreams realized for you! 🙂

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Jessie, I think it’s cool how you give your “less practical” dreams to your characters. You can still enjoy them that way without taking all the risks yourself. However, I think you’re quite brave to go extreme fishing in Costa Rica. I think that experience would make a great story set-up. I hope your finger is healing nicely after your little accident.

  10. Keli, I’m so glad to see you blogging on your Novelist blog! I had been checking it periodically since August, but I see I missed some December posts. Now I will be able to keep up regularly.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Rosslyn. I was focusing my attention on my other blog, Romance Writers on the Journey, and had neglected my personal blog. I intend to be more faithful about publishing posts here.

  11. Tamika says:

    This year I am daring to dream big. God has begun a work in me, that He promises to complete. That is all the good news I need:)

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Tamika, I think it’s important to dream. Since our Lord is capable of great things, I feel certain He’s fine with big dreams. I marvel at what He’s done with mine. I’m excited to hear that He’s at work in your life and look forward to you sharing what is happening as the year progresses.

  12. Hey, Keli! This is great!

    My dream… to pursue writing more this year. I want this. I really do!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Kristen, I hope you’re able to enjoy more writing time this year. I know your last year was one filled with change and didn’t allow you the time you’d had in the past. Be sure to keep me posted so I can share in your joy as you embrace your dream and work to make it come true.

  13. territiffany says:

    All of the above!LOL So many personal things happening this year in my life–hubby graduates and we need work and decisions on areas that way. With writing, I am praying this book will be my best–but a long way to go with it.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Terri, may this be a year filled with wonderful surprises in both your personal life and your writing world. I long to see great things happen for you.

Comments are closed.