Writing Partners: The Furry Variety

Do you spend countless hours alone in your office with your desktop computer or in a comfy armchair in your living room with your laptop?

I do.

Lately, though, I’ve had company. One of our cats has decided his favorite place to be during the day is in my office.

There are three desks in my tiny writing cave, each with a rolling chair. Which of the chairs does Sandy want to occupy? Mine, of course. Whether I’m in it or not matters little to him. He merely makes use of his needle-like claws in my backside to get his point across.

Do I give in? Yup.

Why?

One reason is that I’m a cat owner who knows her role is that of support staff.

Another reason is that while I’m a person who is OK with spending hours alone at my computer, I welcome the company.

Besides, every now and then Sandy actually condescends to let me love him. I don’t know about you, but I can’t resist a cat in an affectionate mood. My furry friend must have a dog gene or two, though, because when I pet him, he not only vibrates with a purr one can hear across the room, but he also drools.

A third reasonone I admit only because you understand and won’t think me daffyis that when I’m inclined to talk as I work out a scene or see how a line of dialogue sounds when spoken, I have an audience. Thus, I’m not really talking to myself.

* * *

I wanna know . . .

Do you have a dog, cat, bunny, pot-bellied pig as a writing buddy?

What makes your pet such a good companion?

Does your cat drool?


About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Writing & Promotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Writing Partners: The Furry Variety

  1. Keli, what a cute picture! I don’t have any pets so when I read part of my story out loud, I really AM talking to myself. Oh well 🙂 But having that company here and there is so important. We need breaks and a chance to re-energize–anything to keep us going! Hope you have a great and productive week!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Cindy, I think talking to oneself is part of a writer’s job description. Maybe you could get a stuffed animal pal or a pet rock to keep you company. =)

  2. Anne Barton says:

    Nice of Sandy to allow you a little piece of his chair. (And a good thing you’re so petite!)

    I like how he’s looking at the camera–BOTH of you are very photogenic!

  3. territiffany says:

    I want your cat! I used to always have them but my daugther married a guy who is allergic! Ugh. So tell me, is that one of those backrests from Walgreens on your chair? I just bought one and it rides too low–you have yours higher up. Maybe I put mine on wrong!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Terri, our daughter never had a problem with the cats until she went away to college. When she comes home to visit now, she clouds up and sneezes like one of the Seven Dwarfs. Since she won’t hear of giving up the cats, she just deals with. Thank goodness for allergy pills.

      I think the mesh backrest did come from Walgreens, although I’ve seen them at the Dollar Store, too. Mine slid down all the time until I came up with a solution: I safety pinned the elastic straps to the backside of the chair back, and the backrest hasn’t budged.

  4. I can’t write with my poodle because she’ll sit in my lap… and then there’s no room for my laptop. But that’s okay. She’s worth it!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Kristen, it sounds like your poodle is jealous of your laptop and wants first dibs. =)

      What kind of poodle do you have? Is it a miniature one?

  5. Erin says:

    Hi Keli! Love the new blog “home”.

    I do have a writing buddy. My trusty Golden Retriever Jack has been my writing pal from the beginning… in fact, as I type this, he’s curled up next to me on the couch (my favored writing position) with his head on my lap. I confess sometimes it gets a bit uncomfortable sharing my writing space with an 80-lb dog but there’s no way I’d trade it. When I was writing my book, I sometimes went to a hotel to write and I missed having him there.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Erin, how nice that you have Jack to keep you company when you’re writing. There’s nothing like a loyal sidekick–even a rather large one who takes up a fair amount of the couch. =)

  6. Sandy is a beautiful cat. And a Tom! My cat is also a Tom. Of course, I took care of that for him. He’s neutered for his own good. And mine. His name is Shady and he’s an alcoholic. Just kidding. He’s a good kitty and beautiful like Sandy.

    I don’t have an office and our apartment is ultra-small. It’s not easy for either of us (my husband or me) to do anything that requires one of us to be silent, but we manage. When it comes time to do housework, I really enjoy my tiny abode. I bend over, wipe the floor around my feet, and I’m finished. The truth of the matter is that we enjoy life, and we enjoy our home. I don’t know why I’m in this silly mood. What will you think of me? Blessings to you, Keli…

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Carol, I’ll pass on your compliment to Sandy, who is right behind me in my chair as I perch on the edge–literally.

      What kind of cat is Shady. The name makes me think he might have gray coloring. Am I right?

      Our house is pretty small. One of our friends visited years ago, took a look around, and said, “Your place is nice and cozy–just like an apartment.” As you said, the upside is there’s less to keep clean. The downside is that I quickly run out of places to put my piles. I manage to keep tidy the front rooms tidy, but my office is another matter. Before my hubby snapped that photo, I shoved the incriminating evidence of my case of clutter-itis to the side. =)

  7. Hi Keli,

    Wow, what a gorgeous cat!

    My personal assistant is a beautiful black kitty boy named Shadow, who loves to sit at the very edge of my desk, lean his face forward toward mine while I type, and sniff me. He’s probably trying to figure out what I ate for lunch, and why I didn’t share any with him.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Julie, I’ll pass your compliment on to Sandy, but I’ll have to whisper it. His brother, Dandy, is getting jealous and wonders why I didn’t post his picture on my blog, too. Dan is overlooking the fact that he much prefers my hubby to me and only deigns to enter my office when I’ve neglected my duties as a doting owner, meaning the food dish needs to be refilled or he wants to go outside.

      Shadow sounds like a friendly fellow–and a curious one. I’m sure he makes for good company when you’re writing, at least until you’re hitting the munchies and he wants some. =)

  8. I’m not really a cat person but your Sandy is beautiful (and I’m sure Dandy is, too). For more than twenty years there were always two, three and sometimes even four Shelties that shared my space. The last of them has been gone for a couple years and now there is just our one black Lab who curls himself into the space at my feet beneath the desk, or with his back against the couch when I’m using my laptop. He’s the kind of company I enjoy when writing… quiet, unobtrusive, and warm on my feet. 🙂 He has the advantage over your cat in that he doesn’t try to occupy my chairs. It’s a good thing because at 90 lbs. he wouldn’t leave room for me.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Carol, I understand how special dogs can be. I was a dog person before Gwynly converted me. =) I had an overweight doxie when I was a kid. Alex slept with me at night and kept me warm. How I cried when he was hit by a car during my junior year of high school. It’s so hard to lose a beloved pet. I’m glad you have wonderful memories of your Shelties.

      Your black Lab sounds like a loyal writing buddy–and a great foot warmer.

  9. lynn says:

    That’s a sweet looking cat. I don’t have any pets but my daughter recently bought a huge teddy bear that sits beside me at my table. I’m beginning to talk to him. I love the way he always smiles even when I’m crabby.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Lynn, teddy bears make great friends. They’re smiling faces are so inspiring and uplifting, aren’t they? And they make great writing pals because they won’t tell a soul about our creative mutterings. =)

  10. Susan Mason says:

    Cute kitty! Mine don’t sit with me when I write – although my white one does occasionally come and ask for, sorry – demand – some attention! The moment I sit on the couch, however, Riley, our tabby, must sit on my lap. He prefers to climb on my shoulder, like a baby, but then he licks my face too much until it’s raw!

  11. Keli Gwyn says:

    Sue, how fun to learn that you’re a cat person, too. Riley sounds like a loving cat, although those “kitty kisses” can be rather rough, can’t they?

    Sandy’s brother, Dandy, loves to snuggle with Gwynly in the evening. Dan will stand by Gwynly’s armchair, look longingly at his master–I mean staff member–and keep up his mewling until he gets his way.

Comments are closed.