Writing Partners: Cyber Friends

photobucket image by msparrie

Cyber friendships rock!

Seriously.

The friends I’ve made online have enriched my life and helped me grow as a person and a writer. I marvel at the steady stream of encouragement, support, and wise counsel I’ve received.

Here are just a few ways my cyber buddies have blessed me.

  • A blogger named Tina Radcliffe did some Nancy Drew work to find me after I finaled in a contest. She invited me to be a guest in Seekerville and rescued me from isolation.
  • Two writers named Kit Wilkinson and Courtney Milan saw that guest post, invited me to join my first Yahoo! loop, and introduced me to an awesome group of women, including Anne Barton, who became my critique partner and treasured friend.
  • Numerous writer buddies recommended I read Rachelle Gardner’s blog, advice I heeded. I learned heaps (still do) and dreamed of having her as my agent.
  • Several cyber friends mentioned a contest Rachelle was judging and suggested I enter, which I did. My final led an offer of representation from Rachelle.
  • Tonz of writing buddies talked about Jody Hedlund and suggested I check out her blog. I became one of her many fans as well as her critique partner and friend.

While those gifts are wonderful, the day-to-day delights are best.

  • An encouraging email.
  • A blog post that brings a smile.
  • A tweet announcing a friend’s good news.
  • A Facebook update that includes fun photos.
  • A message on a Yahoo! loop sharing an answered prayer.

You, my dear cyber friends, are special to me. Thanks for being the whipped cream on the hot chocolate of my writing life.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Writing Partners: Cyber Friends

  1. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    It was and is the same for me. I met some of my best friends first online, friends from all over the world. We found that we had a lot in common: life experiences, hobbies, thoughts, interests, feelings. I met many of them later on in person, and they are still my best friends. And no matter where we are or what we do, we are always there for each other in times of joy and in times of need

    – Calum and Karen from Scotland who showed me the beauty of life when I saw only shadows.

    – Monika, my “curandera” (traditional and spiritual healer) and twin soul here in Germany.

    – Dave, my “anamcara” (gaelic for soul mate) and love of my life.

    – Romana, my great friend in Czec Republic

    – Kellie in Michigan, USA – we always cheer each other up when one of us feels down.

    – Malcolm in New Zealand

    – José, Hortencia, Aurora and Teresa in Peru

    – Cristina from Brazil.

    – Leontine in Holland

    The internet has made the world a smaller place, brings people together, makes it easier to exchange thoughts and ideas and to learn things. I therefore see the internet as something positive despite the risks it also may bring.

    And it would be great to meet some people from this blog here in person one day! 🙂

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Martina, what a wealth of friends you have through your cyber connections. The Internet has enabled us to connect with people across our countries and around the world. I enjoy having a new friend from Germany visiting my blog: YOU. =)

      • Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

        And I love your blog, Keli, and exchanging thoughts and experiences with you and the other writers here 🙂

  2. You are such a huge encouragement to many of us. Your twitter messages, comments and blogs always make me smile. Thank you for being such a wonderful cyber friend!

  3. Keli! You are a true find and I look forward to getting to know you more.

    I wish you luck and it sounds like you’ve been blessed with Cyber Buddies!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Bonnie, I have indeed been blessed by my cyber friendships. Getting to know wonderful people like you is such fun. I look forward to doing some celebrating with you in the days ahead.

  4. Aw, Keli, you are such a sweet person. I feel I know you as I would know someone in the real world. Don’t you think it strange the way we think of Cyberspace as virtual (nearly like) and the world next door as real (genuine)? It’s all real. Virtual is a misnomer for Cyberspace in this day and age. How far from anyone anywhere are we? Miles don’t mean as much as they meant when we had to walk or drive. Communication alone makes us close. Blessings to you…

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Carol, you made an important point, one I’m taking to heart. My cyber friends are real friends. Although we communicate via the modern miracle known as the Internet, the friendships I’ve developed online are every bit as special to me as those with friends in my local community.

      • Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

        I second what you say, Carol Ann. Internet and Cyberspace brought us all closer together.

        I think that in the future informational goods will become more important in this world than material goods. Exchanging thoughts, feelings and ideas with people who life in (geographically) far away places in the world have already become something precious and mind-opening. Maybe this is also a chance for ending conflicts on our planet. People who talk with each other will not fight each other.

        I enjoy exchanging thoughts with you here. 🙂

  5. Definitely agree with this post, Keli! It’s pretty amazing to have friends all over the country & even in other countries! And what wonderful way to learn & grow from other writers. I appreciate your friendship and have enjoyed getting to know you! Have a wonderful weekend & God bless! 🙂

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Maria, it is wonderful to connect with so many talented, creative, generous people–like you. I’ve learned heaps from my online friends.

  6. territiffany says:

    You are the hugest friend to writers I have yet to see! Your unexpected cards or gifts and kind emails make me smile all the time:) Can’t wait to meet you some day and give you a huge thank you hug!

  7. Jody Hedlund says:

    Aw, thanks for including me in your list of friends!! You’re such a blessing to me too!

  8. You, my online friend, have blessed me through encouraging tweets and S-C-R-A-B-B-L-E letters in the mail! Thank you!!

  9. When we reach out to each other we only enrich our lives. My life has been enriched by reaching out to you!!

Comments are closed.