Getting to Know You

I spent six hours with my real-life, romance writing sister last week, and it was bliss.

Kal and I camped out at a Carl’s Jr. that’s midway between our towns, consumed far too many yummy calories, and talked writing to our heart’s content.

I wish I could join you for lunch and a gab fest and learn more about you.

The next best thing is connecting with you here in cyberspace. I’m devoting some posts to getting to know you. So, let’s chat.

I’ll start with some easy questions.

Taco Bell is my favorite fast food restaurant, but I know not everyone loves it like I do. If I met you for lunch and asked you to suggest the restaurant, which would you choose?

My drink of choice is sweet tea. What’s yours?

Are you a writer? If so, what do you write? Fiction? Non-fiction? Poetry? Articles?

How long have you been writing, and how many manuscripts have you completed?

I’m an Empty Nester who doesn’t work outside the home. What’s your situation?

I look forward to reading your comments and getting to know more about you.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Getting to Know You

  1. baking4six says:

    Hi Keli,
    I’m terrible at writing letters, actually I’m GREAT at writing letters and HORRIBLE at mailing them…but, oh, how I enjoy cyber “writing”.
    I’m not really a big fan of fast food restaurants, if you can call a fast food joint a restaurant. I think of them more as “comfort-food” stations. However, I tried El Pollo Loco for the first time a few days ago & was pretty excited about their $1 taquitos. I also like Jim Boys tacos (which I haven’t had for over a year) & am pretty much a huge fan of French Fries – from pretty much anywhere… as long as they are HOT!! (I probably eat these at least once a month.)
    My favorite drink should be water (however, I like Coke, Slurpees, Smoothies & Frappucinos)
    I really enjoy writing, although I’m not exactly a writer. My degree is in Communication (which required quite a bit of writing). I have always journaled, written yearly Christmas letters (until they got WAY too long), written poetry, and most recently started a baking blog and a “personal” blog; both of which are in their infancy stages.
    Which leads me to your last question – my “personal” blog pretty much explains my everyday life of being an un-employed Catholic school teacher, mothering 4 kiddos, failing at my attempts to be a domestic goddess and offer explanations for why I didn’t have time to bake while absolutely ENJOYING every moment of motherhood (well, almost every moment, some moments are just not quite so enjoyable; sometimes, I just enjoy the fact that those moments are over).

  2. Sherrinda says:

    I think my fast food chain of choice would be Taco Bueno…or Chick Filet. Both yummy. And I absolutely love Diet Dr. Pepper. I do love sweet tea, but I’m trying to cut back on the calories these days.
    I am a writer, but haven’t written anything in a month! This time of year at my full time job in an elementary school office is crazy busy. Also, I have a senior, so there has been alot of activities, shopping for prom, planning for college, etc. I’m trying to be present for my daughter, so the writing has fallen by the wayside…just for a time–I’m going to have two whole months to write to my hearts content! πŸ™‚

  3. My favorite fast food joint would have to be Back Yard Burger. Drink of choice? Diet A & W Root beer, although I do love southern sweet tea. I work for my church office 3 days a week, so mostly I’m at home and have time to write while my kiddos are at school. Great post today. I love reading the comments and learning about other people!

  4. Wendy says:

    Let’s see, probably Chipotle. Coke or sweet tea for me. I’ve completed five women’s fiction MS that I’m perfectly happy to call contemporary fiction at this point πŸ˜‰

    And I have three little girls and a good man at home.
    ~ Wendy

  5. the writ and the wrote says:

    *Restaurant – Casa Don Juan for veggie burritos, with extra guacamole.
    *Drink – Root beer.
    *I am a writer. I write a little of everything. I am trying to get braver about writing and sharing poetry.
    *I’ve been writing since I was a kid, but it’s been my career for almost a year. I have one completed manuscript and three WIPs.
    *I’m a single 28 year old who lives with her parents.

  6. Susan Mason says:

    Fast food – McDonald’s – can’t beat their fries! But I do this very seldom. For lunch, I’d probably choose Applebees or Kelseys.
    Drink – Coke or wine (What is sweet tea? Is that what we call iced tea?)
    Writer – of contemporary inspirational romance. 4 completed + 2 other stories (non-inspirational). I’ve been writing about 8 years.
    I am a sandwich generation (true definition last week as I juggled two teenagers’ busy schedules and a mother in the hospital – can you say ‘exhausted’??) I work part-time as a church secretary with the possibility of changing to full time employment). Will have to find new ways to squeeze writing in!
    This was fun, Keli!!

  7. *Favorite Fast Food: Rubio’s Health Mex fish tacos
    *Green tea with no sweetener
    *Writer of children’s fiction/non-fiction (written 4 children’s manuscripts–one sold, one in development as iPad app coming fall 2011)
    *Writer of adult non-fiction (written numerous manuscripts–one sold and available in bookstores 6/1/11 in anthology THE DOG NEXT DOOR)
    *Writing in current genre for 4 years
    *Empty nester (two grown boys, three grandchildren)

  8. -Hungry Hobo. But I’m pretty sure those are a local thing, so you probably have no idea what I’m talking about.

    – Unfortunately, Diet Coke. Not the healthiest thing in the world.

    – Yep – contemporary romance.

    – I’ve always written stories, but I didn’t start seriously writing until about four or five years ago. I’ve written six novels.

    – I’m a full-time working mother of one who is very excited to stay home next year with her boy!

  9. McDonald is my favorite fast food and my chosen drink at McD is diet Coke. I’m a writer and have only one MS in progress and enjoy posting on my blog a lot. I retired early to become caregiver to my husband. He has Alzheimer’s, and is blessed in that his Alzheimer’s is advancing very slowly. Sometimes I feel certain that he is getting better and not worse. God is good!

    Thank you for sharing information about yourself. I also like iced tea but without sugar. I enjoy Taco Bell, also, and I’d love to go there with you to chat, but well, cyberspace chats will have to suffice. Blessings to you, Keli…

  10. Tana Adams says:

    um, hello? Is there anything BUT Taco Bell? I live at the Bell. I love coffee and water, yes plain old water.

    I write just about anything when the spirit moves me! =)

  11. cynthiaherron says:

    I try not to eat a lot of fast food, but when I do, I like Taco Bell, too, and Culver’s (a hamburger/sandwich/ice cream eatery.) Favorite drinks are iced tea with only a hint of sugar, and Starbucks–not anything fancy, just the plain, ol’, strong coffee. Black, nothing in it. I write heartfelt, homespun, contemporary Christian romance and I’m currently working on a series. Book 1 is with my agent, and I’m about 3 chapters into book 2. I’ve been writing many years, but often had to take some detours until about the past year. We have a college senior and a middle schooler, and I substitute teach when needed.

  12. I had to smile at your replies Keli, because we do have a lot in common. πŸ™‚ LOVE Taco Bell (and also Chic-fil-a) ~ Enjoy sweet tea, but usually drink water and COFFEE πŸ˜‰ ~ Write historical and contemporary romance (but historical is my favorite) ~ Have completed 4 manuscripts ~ Also an empty-nester *sigh* (but at the moment my “baby” is home for the summer–YAY!) ~ I enjoyed reading the others’ replies too!

  13. Julie Nilson says:

    For fast food, I’ll say Chipotle or Subway. But if we’re talking real food, I’d take you to this great Mexican place in my hometown. The owner actually grew up in Mexico and his recipes are adapted from his mother’s, so the food is AWESOME.

    If calories don’t count, my drink of choice would be a caramel frappuccino from Starbucks. But if I plan to actually eat anything the rest of the day, I’ll go with a Diet Coke. Cold Riesling if it’s evening and the weather is warm.

    I’ve been a professional writer since I got out of school, but it’s almost entirely corporate. I write it all: articles, press releases, manuals, books, and pretty much anything else with words! But while that was fine for a time, I’m starting to get tired of it, so that’s why I’m trying to break into fiction writing. I’ve been writing some short stories, but I recently realized that I don’t find writing (or reading) short stories nearly as satisfying as novels, so I’m refocusing my efforts onto my novel manuscript. I’ve just got the one, but I’ve written eight nonfiction manuscripts.

    I’m a part-time freelancer, working from home when the kids are at school or asleep!

  14. Fun idea, Keli!

    Lunch date – Jersey Mike’s. They have the best subs ever invented!
    Drink choice – Water. I know. It’s lame. But nothing else quenches quite the same. (Although coffee and root beer are a close second.)
    Writer? Yep. Fiction and articles.
    How long writing? Seriously for over 2 years, with 2 completed manuscripts, and the 3rd underway. I guess that makes me a one-book-per-year writer.
    My situation – A stay-at-home mom who never stops working. πŸ™‚

  15. Oh, I want to play!
    If we were meeting for lunch and doing fast food, I would prefer Schlotskys or Firehouse Subs.

    I am one of the few people in the state of Texas who do not drink tea. (shh, don’t tell, they will evict me!) I drink water. Nothing with caffeine or sugar. When I get crazy, I add some lemon. πŸ™‚

    I am a writer~ still trying to get used to saying that! I write Mystery/Suspense with romantic elements. The emphasis is more on the suspense than the romance.

    I have been writing all of my life. I don’t know exactly how many manuscripts I have completed, but since I started letting other people read them in the past few years, I have completed four.

    I teach high school and play taxi service for my two elementary age girls. I also have a wonderful husband and a 4o lbs writing partner who has four legs and drops slimy tennis balls in the middle of my laptop when he thinks I need a break.

  16. What is sweet tea?
    Sushi is my fast food fave – Sushi Train – yum
    I love tea – black, earl gray, chai, herbals… but I don’t know what sweet tea is?
    I decided I would be a writer when I was 11 – but my dreams were squashed in highschool and I didn’t find confidence to write again until I was 30 – 9 years ago.
    I write PBs, Chapter Books and YA as well as a little poetry.
    I think I have finished 9 ms’s – most of those I keep submitting and refining and submitting…
    I have 4 children at home… all the time… I homeschool by day and write by night.

    Thanks for asking about me. xx

  17. Corrie Garrett says:

    Cool! It’s fun to see who else Is on here! And Dawn, I haven’t thought of schlotsky’s in years- I miss them!
    For me (in California) In-N-Out burgers are the best. And I love a fountain rootbeer, or a sour lemonade.
    I write scifi/ paranormal, with a Christian flavor. Only 2 manuscripts done so far, one in the works. I’ll probably try to pound out the next rough draft in November during NaNoWriMo.
    Have a great Tuesday everybody.
    Corrie

  18. Keli Gwyn says:

    I’ve had so much fun reading your answers and learning more about you.

    In answer to the questions about about sweet tea, it is sweetened iced tea. It’s quite popular in the southern United States. My mom grew up in Texas, and her sweet tea could pass for syrup. I don’t make mine that sweet, and I make decaf. Texans would consider my unleaded sweet tea wimpy. =)

Comments are closed.