Your Hobbies and Interests

I enjoy choosing hobbies and interests for my characters. My current heroine has a thing for birds, and that adds a fun element to the story.

My hobbies include reading, scrapbooking, playing Scrabble, taking walks, going on top-down rides with Gwynly in his vintage British sports car, and organizing.

Organizing?

Yup! When my creative juices evaporate or I’m feeling antsy, I dive into a cupboard or closet and whip it into shape. I’m one of those people, the kind who hangs her clothes by color and sleeve-length. The canned food in our kitchen sits in straight rows, right-side up, with labels facing front. But not to worry. Stacks and piles on counter tops, tables, and desks offset the islands of organization. 🙂

Your turn.

What are some of your hobbies and interests?

Do you have any interesting quirks such as my bent for organization?

If reading is in your list, as it is mine, what do you read? Me? Historical romances are my first choice, my favorites being mail-order bride and marriage of convenience stories. Contemporary romances would come next.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Your Hobbies and Interests

  1. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    I have loads of hobbies…lol: Painting, making music and singing, songwriting, atsrophysics and quantum theories, archaeology, learning languages ( I speak 7 by now), history, nature, reading and….yes, writing…lol.

    My main hobby is music, so in 3 stories I wrote the main characters are musicians. At the moment I write science fiction, and it is interesting not only to learn things about the past but to imagine how the future will be for our planet…

    I admire teh order in your kitchen, Keli. Mine looks more creative-desatrous…haha. But I always find what I need when I am cooking (another hobby). As our saying says: a genius dominates the chaos…hahahaha.

    • Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

      I am a miserable typer sometimes. It should be “Astrophysics” and “the”; …..sorry for that.

  2. Sherrinda says:

    Oh, I love to do calligraphy. And I love to use scrapbooking material to make cards. I haven’t done that in a while and have run out, but I am hoping to restock my supply during the summer.

    Of course reading is my number 1 hobby and I also like historical. Mail-order brides and marriage of convenience are on the top of my list too! I do like contemporary, and have some favorite authors I like to read.

  3. Jessica says:

    LOL! When I went to Costa Rica my MIL totally reorganized my pantry just like yours! I came home and had to laugh because I’d never even thought about organizing my pantry. 🙂
    As for me, I’m fairly boring. I love to read and I love languages. No real hobbies, though I’m competitive so I enjoy sport-like stuff. 🙂

  4. Okay, for a second when I saw that perfect pantry all I could think about was that movie, Sleeping with the Enemy (Julia Roberts)!!!!! But then when you said your counters had stuff on them, I sighed with relief! (I’m playing of course)

    I love to read. I love romantic suspense, thrillers, and crime novels (with romance) most, but I’ll read anything. I also love to hunt for old pieces of furniture and refurbish them. I’ve found some incredible antique pieces on the side of the road for the trash heap that I’ve turned into treasure. I also love going to movies and hanging out at bookstores with a cup of coffee watching people and seeing what they read. It’s not stalking. It’s observing!

  5. I knew it! That’s why we get along so well! Organized by color of the rainbow and sleeve or other (pant/dress) length. Yup! That’s me! Gonna have a garage sale next week… time to organize! 🙂

  6. Apart from reading, taking my kids on fun and educational field trips, shopping (particularly finding a good deal), and baking, I’m sort of nuts about vacuum lines in my carpet. I like them to be facing the same direction so the carpet looks even and clean. Oh – and it drives me crazy when someone walks on it once it’s freshly vacuumed. That first footprint makes me insane! 😉

  7. Wendy says:

    I like refurbishing furniture, running and reading (women’s fiction…but of course). Another quirk I have is that all of my dresser drawers have to be pushed in at night before I can fall asleep. 😉
    ~ Wendy

  8. the writ and the wrote says:

    I love to read anything I can get my hands on. I’m just finishing a novel about the Salem Witch Trials and then digging into Harlan Coben’s Long Lost for the book club I belong to. Other than reading, I love to write, travel and embroider (although those last two things have fallen by the wayside due to financial and time constraints).

  9. cynthiaherron says:

    Oh, my goodness! Now, I know we were destined to get acquainted, Keli! (I’m being perfectly serious.) I, too, love to have my cabinets organized–and my pantry looks just like YOURS! I purchase in bulk and on sale, so it helps to have everything organized to keep our ship running tight! (I thought I was weird, so now I know I’m not–ha ha!) And just like you, I offset everything else in some mini piles–stuff in my office, my bedside reading basket, etc.

    I have several collections: gingerbread men/women, mini teapots, apple stuff, old cookbooks-love the pics!, and Royal Ruby glassware.

  10. People think I’m crazy, but I rotate my clothes. When I wear something and wash it, I hang it at the back of my closet. I take the clothes I’m wearing from the front, so everything gets an equal turn!

  11. We have one in common – Scrabble. I love it. I have the Scrabble app on my iPhone and also Words with Friends. Whenever I feel stressed, I sit down and play Scrabble against the computer. It relaxes me and puts my mind in neutral.

    I also like to read. Currently I am reading Our Witch Doctors Are Too Weak by Davey & Marie Jank. It’s not only inspiring, it’s hilarious! I love to laugh and be inspired. This book allows me to experience laughter and inspiration at the same time.

    I like the organizing hobby! How convenient. Get a little antsy and organize a closet or a cupboard! How handy! Blessings to you, Keli…

  12. Hey, Keli!

    Now I know why you didn’t answer my questions in my comments, it’s all here. Love the drive one. That sounds fun.

    Organizing? Seriously? That sounds more like a chore to me!!

  13. Keli, I knew I loved you. I have my closet organized by color too. And Scrabble? Have you ever played Speed Scrabble? Funnest game ever! I’m bringing Scrabble tiles to ACFW so we can have a tourney! 🙂

  14. Wow – – so many organized people out there with neat closets! Well….I’d LOVE to have a neatly organized closet, but it’s become a “catch-all” in recent years, I’m sorry to say. However, my closet is one of the very next projects I’m tackling! 🙂

  15. Linda Hoye says:

    Reading for sure! Also gardening, knitting and quilting, though I have put quilting on hold until I finish my memoir.

    P.S. Next time you feel the urge to tidy up…come to my house! LOL!

  16. Oh you would be horrified by my cupboards which are daily “organized” by my children… My hobbies? I go in cycles of loving something to death and then never doing it again. Some have been running, genealogy, and baking. But the things I’ve stuck with for years and years are photography and reading.

  17. Susan Mason says:

    Let’s see … at the moment only reading and writing are taking a front seat. But for a while I was hooked on Ancestry.com (researching my ancestors). I also love scrapbooking but only do it occasionally. Have tons of supplies though – I think shopping in craft stores is more fun than actually doing the work!

  18. baking4six says:

    Last things, first. My Great Grandmother was a mail-order bride of-sorts. My Great Grandfather found her advertised on a match box cover. (gosh, I cannot even imagine such a thing – but – I suppose “match-box” dating is the Great-Grandaddy of today’s cyber-dating and I wonder if my Great Grandchildren’s generation will consider “cyber-dating” historical romance?)
    I enjoy all things creative & love to make things look pretty; afterall, “Love (or in some instances “diva’s”) is in the details”. I am a memorabilia collector and have been scrap-booking for 35 years since I received my first scrapbook as a gift. I enjoy entertaining and themed party planning. I have a flair for staging party food tables and I especially enjoy designing & crafting the invitations by hand. My other interests include flower gardening & arranging, baking, cake/cookie decorating, rubber-stamping, graphic design, photography, reading, writing and technology; which have all led to my current interest, reading/studying blogs and writing one of my own.
    I enjoy reading “funny” books – which include an element of romance. I too, enjoy/desire a “Happy Endings”! I also like to read cookbooks, my current favorite is french inspired pastries.

Comments are closed.