Choosing a Blog Log-line

I spent the week immersed in my first online course, Becoming a Brand: Using Social Media to Become a Household Name with instructor Kristen Lamb, offered by the Long Island Romance Writers.

After five days and around 700 messages on our Yahoo! loop, I’ve learned heaps. One thing is that Kristen knows her stuff. I’m eager to read her book, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media.

Kristen is a firm believer in using our names as our brands, which she encourages us to use to identify ourselves throughout cyberspace–including on our blogs. For this reason, her idea of a writer’s best blog title is her name.

One of our assignments during the week was to come up with a list of 100 words to describe ourselves. From this, Kristen and our classmates helped us brainstorm catchy log-lines for our blogs. The log-line gives a potential visitor a feeling of stability and a hint about what kind of content to expect. However, if we use our names/brands as our blog titles, we’re free to vary our blogs’ content as needed.

Some of my classmates came up with clever log-lines on their own. Others asked Kristen for ideas, which I did. Her suggestion for my blog’s log-line is: The Diva’s in the Details.

I like it. Why? Because I’m a detail-oriented person. As a former copy editor, I was paid to sweat the small stuff. If you read my last post, you know I like things to have a place and am one of those strange people who thoroughly enjoys organizing. I’m giving Kristen’s idea a few days to bounce around in my head, but I think I might go with it.

If you were to come up with a log-line for your blog that gives a broad sense of what it’s about, what might you use? If you have one that’s been working for you, what is it, and why do you think it captures the essence of you and what you blog about?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesโ„ข and reading.
This entry was posted in Writing & Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Choosing a Blog Log-line

  1. Thanks for sharing this post. It is very thought provoking. I use my name on the social networks, however my website and blog are not titled by my name. Something to think about! Thanks

  2. candidkerry says:

    Hi Keli!

    I really like that name, for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ It humorously captures who you are.

    I’ve gone back and forth about this. I’m not at the point of publication, but I also realize the merit of creating a marketable name for my blog. When I created my blog a few months ago, Candid Kerry just popped in my head and I went with it. It’s who I am and also somewhat catchy. At this point in my writing “career” it seems to fit me well, and work, a-okay.

    Great ideas. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll defnitely look into reading Kristen’s book, too. Thanks!

    I hope you have a great weekend!

  3. Thanks for this post, Keli, and I really like your name suggestion–especially since you’re a detail-oriented person! ~ Everyone who knows me associates me with cats. ๐Ÿ™‚ My son-in-law calls me CatMom, so when I first set up my little blog a few years ago, the natural choice was “CatMom’s Corner” – – now I’m striving to post more diligently and perhaps more folks will stop by to “purr”use (peruse) my site! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’m such a techno illiterate that I don’t know if I have a log-line for my blog. The name cah4el I thought was my user name. Maybe that’s my log-line or the name of my blog. It shows at the head of the home page. My name, which shows up in full on my comments to others, I thought was my registered name, to be concealed. Duh again. God takes care of people in need. Ha! If I had a log-line what would I choose? “Manna – What Is It?” Manna was a Hebrew word that sounded like “What is it?” This is what the people said when God sent them manna to eat in the wilderness on their way from Egypt to Canaan. They were not too much impressed with it, so maybe I should pick another log-line. I’m not any better at this than I was at writing an elevator blurb for my novel. At this point, I guess cah4el is it. CAH are my initials and EL is one of the names used in the Bible for God. Blessings to you, Keli…

  5. cynthiaherron says:

    My blog is in my name, Keli. And if folks run their mouse over my picture now, they see something like this, “Writing homespun, heartfelt, Christian romance.” I’m pretty down-to-earth and unpretentious so it captures who I am.

  6. I’m 2/3rds through Kristen’s book right now and am learning soooo much! I’m not sure that I technically have a log-line on my blog. I do have my brand of what I write, which is “Lighthearted romance with Amish flavor”. Hopefully that reflects what my blog is about since it’s mostly light/funny stuff with a few Amish tidbits thrown in once in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you have a great weekend, Keli!

  7. Carla Gade says:

    I’ve been thinking of this for a while now and finally decided on mine “Adventures of the heart.” I just hope it’s not taken.

    The Divaโ€™s in the Details – Love it!

  8. I’ve never thought of a blog log line before. I have my writing log line, but never thought of a blog one. I’ll have to give this some serious thought.

Comments are closed.