Downton Abbey: My Latest Addiction

Tweets about Downton Abbey flooded Twitter this past year, and I felt like I was missing out on something awesome. So, when my hubby and I finished watching every episode of Bones, Castle, and The Mentalist that Netflix has at this time, I suggested switching genres.

Gwynly loves mysteries, adventure, and action. Me? I’m all about romance, especially period pieces.

I convinced my guy to give Downton Abbey a go by casually mentioning that it’s set in England. With his love of classic British sports cars (he owns one) and his interest in the country’s history, he was willing to give the show a try, thereby scoring major understanding hubby points.

Guess what? We’re enjoying Downton Abbey because it has elements we both like.

We’ve only seen the first four episodes, but we are getting to know the huge cast of characters, and, between us, can name all of them now. We’re eager for good things to happen to some of the characters and for others to get what’s coming to them.

The story is rich and complex, with interesting new twists introduced often. The costumes are exquisite, the setting awe-inspiring, and the accents divine.

I’m thoroughly hooked and have to force myself not to slip the DVD into the player and watch the next episode before Gwynly gets home. I’ve been good—so far.

Are you a fan of Downton Abbey? Without spoilers, what do you like about the show?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Downton Abbey: My Latest Addiction

  1. Wendy says:

    I’ve never even heard of it. Where have I been? I just don’t pay all that much attention to TV shows. This one sounds intriguing though.
    ~ Wendy

  2. cynthiaherron says:

    Keli, this show sounds great! Where can we find it? I believe our son would love it–he adores British history!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Cynthia, the show aired on PBS this past January. It was part of the Masterpiece Classic line up. I made the words “Downton Abbey” in the first sentence of the post a clickable link. Gwynly and I got the discs from Netflix.

  3. Never heard of it either. I’m not a big TV watcher unless of course The Amazing Race is on.

    I’m liking the new elements on your blog, Miss Diva. 😉

  4. I’ve never watched it, but I love Castle, Bones, and the Mentalist! What would we do without Netflix? 🙂

  5. HI Keli, I have never heard of this show before but it looks great! Glad you found a new one to love (sorry Wendy:)
    So happy to read you got a roomie for ACFW but sad too–would have loved to have been yours:)) Maybe another year??

  6. Susan Mason says:

    Keli,

    I got hooked on it, too, when it was on here. I think we’re behind the U.S. We only had the first 4 episodes I think. I did miss one but I saw the last one. Can’t wait for more! I love that we see the drama from the upstairs and the downstairs.

  7. This one’s new to me as well. My TV watching is pretty limited with little ones running around. When I indulge, it’s usually reality TV or sports. 🙂

  8. I’ve never heard of it before. But since you seem to love the same shows that Phil and I love, perhaps we’ll have to try it as we’re running out of episodes too. Thanks for introducing me to this one!

  9. Sherrinda says:

    Love, Love, Love Downton Abbey. I love the “unspoken” code of the servants. Their camaraderie, their loyalty, their wants and desires…it is so good! (especially set against the lives of the people they are serving. So good!

  10. I’m not familiar with the show, Keli – – but after reading your post today I’m eager to watch some episodes. 🙂 How fun that you and your hubby both enjoy the show! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Tana Adams says:

    I’ve seen an episode and I watched it mesmerized! I don’t do too much TV on my own, the family seems to rule the roost on that one, but I could see just from the excellent filming and costumes how this could be a hit!

Comments are closed.