Agent Appreciation Day!

Once a year members of the American Christian Fiction Writers are able to nominate one agent and one editor for the Agent and Editor of the Year awards.

Each person submitting a nomination is required to write an essay listing the reasons their nominee deserves the award. I was eager to nominate my agent, Rachelle Gardner.

There are many wonderful agents representing ACFW members, but the Agent of the Year Awards panel had the difficult task of choosing the three 2011 finalists. They are:

Rachelle Gardner of WordServe Literary

Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary

Mary Sue Seymour of the Seymour Agency

Congratulations to all the nominees!

I’m delighted to see Rachelle receive this recognition. She’s an awesome agent. Yes, I’m biased. I’m also blessed. I wouldn’t be where I am today without her.

Rachelle helped me shape, smooth, and polish my story until it was ready for submission, and then she sold it. That’s wonderful, and I’m extremely grateful.

Even more important to me, though, is the fact that she believes in me and is looking out for my best interests. I’m honored to have her on my Dream Team. Thank you, Rachelle!

• • •

I’m hereby declaring this Agent Appreciation Day!

I know some of you are represented by great agents who work hard for you. Feel free to give a shout out to your agent in the comments today.

If you’re not currently represented, you could thank an agent for what he or she has done to educate or encourage you.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, My Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Agent Appreciation Day!

  1. I’ve followed Rachelle’s blog for a long time and am indebted to her for the time she devotes to providing understandable information about both the craft and business aspects of writing. As well as being a knowledgeable agent, she seems like an awesome person, and I can understand why you’re pleased to have her representing you. It’s wonderful to see she’s one of the three nominees for ACFW’s Agent of the Year, and I hope she wins. She definitely deserves to!

  2. Wendy says:

    Keli, you are so cool. So is Rachelle. It would be wonderful to see her receive that award. She’s encouraged me in ways she’ll never know. As have you.

    ~ Wendy

  3. Keli,
    I’m thrilled that Rachelle is a finalist! She has encouraged me for years through her meaty blog posts. In fact, though she declined to represent me about a year and a half ago, she encouraged me to keep seeking representation. Because of her kind, encouraging words, I tried one more time–and signed with my agent, Les Stobbe. I love my agent, and he is the one who got me a contract with Harvest House, but as far as I’m concerned, Rachelle is at least partially responsible for my success. 🙂

    I’m convinced Rachelle would win by popular vote. You’re blessed, Keli! Happy Agent Appreciation Day!

  4. Susan Mason says:

    Keli,

    What a wonderful tribute! It’s great to hear positive things about agents and editors in this business! Thanks so much for sharing and best of luck to Rachelle!!

    Cheers,
    Sue

  5. Rachelle represents a whole bunch of my blog buddies! Congrats, Rachelle!!!

  6. Cindy R. Wilson says:

    Congratulations to Rachelle and the other nominees! Keli, I’ll be it’s great to see your agents name on that list and from what I’ve heard she’s an amazing agent and a great encourager. I’ve learned a lot from agent blogs throughout the years, so I’m thankful to all those who take time to encourage, support, and teach all of us.

  7. Aislinn says:

    Congratulations to Rachelle for the nomination!

    In honor of agent appreciation day, I would like to give a shout-out to my agent Sara Megibow. I haven’t been with her long, but I love her for her enthusiasm, her support, her awesome suggestions for improving my manuscript, and her willingness to deal with my newbie questions and insecurity. You’re the best!

  8. Congrats to Rachelle! Like so many other authors, I visit her blog regularly for encouragement, advice, a kick in the behind, and whatever else is needed.

    But I have to say, I’m very thankful for my own agent, Joyce Hart, and am thrilled to see her name listed as a finalist as well. I’ve only been with Joyce for four months, but already I am seeing huge benefits to having her as my advocate. She knows the business inside and out, knows the personal quirks of various editors, and believes in me and my stories. Kudos to Joyce!

  9. Katie Ganshert says:

    I was pumped to nominate Rachelle too! Great idea for today, Keli.

  10. Jen J. Danna says:

    Rachelle absolutely is a fantastic agent. But since I’m with the Seymour Agency (with Nicole, not Mary Sue), I’m just going to wish all three agents the very best of luck. It truly is an honour to be nominated and I’m sure it will be a tough decision between three great agents!

  11. Erica Vetsch says:

    What a fun idea to celebrate Agent Day! I was so thrilled to see Rachelle’s name in the list of finalists, since she’s A) Deserving of the award IMHO, and B) My agent! 😀

  12. Jill Kemerer says:

    Love that you’re declaring it Agent Appreciation Day, Keli!! Since so many of my friends are represented by Rachelle, I know she’s very deserving of the award!

    And while we’re appreciating–I’m giving a shout out to my agent, Rachel Kent of Books & Such Literary! I’m so blessed by her knowledge and encouragement.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  13. Agent Appreciation Day sounds like a great idea, Keli! Although I don’t yet have an agent, I’ve heard there are some wonderful agents out there who work very hard. And I’m sure you are SO happy for your agent being a finalist! 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend, Patti Jo p.s. And don’t forget….today is National Donut Day!!! 😉

  14. Blessings to agents, in particular, your nominees for Agent Appreciation Day! Thank you for introducing these special agents to us.

  15. Julie Nilson says:

    Rachelle deserves the recognition not only for what she does for her clients, but also what she does for so, so many other up-and-coming writers who need to learn about the publishing business. She rocks. 😉

  16. Cynthia Herron says:

    I always love reading Rachelle’s blog and learning so much! I believe she is a natural encourager. I’m so appreciative of the special people that we’re proud to call our agents. I still get teary-eyed when I think back to a little over two months ago when I received the offer of representation from mine! I can’t imagine navigating the publishing world without her. Thank you, Mary Keeley, of the fantastic Books and Such Literary team!

  17. That is really neat that you have such a great relationship with your agent. I am sure she was very honored that you recognized her in this way.

Comments are closed.