Thank You for Being A Friend

Me with some of my many wonderful friends. September 2010

You’re special to me!

I’ve been blessed by your comments, your emails, your tweets. You have encouraged and uplifted me. You’ve made my day more times than I can count. You are my friend, and I’m ever so grateful for that.

When my sister and I met for one of our marathon lunches recently, we happened to touch on the subject of songs. The conversation meandered as ours often do, and we each pondered which song was our song. I told Kal I didn’t think I had one, and she insisted I do: “Thank You for Being a Friend,” a hit song originally released by Andrew Gold in 1978.

I grinned. Kal knows me so well it’s scary. I loved that song when it came out. Yes, I know you might not have even been born in 1978, but I was in my first year of college. I belted out the memorable lyrics as I drove to campus many a time.

As I reflected on how special my friends are to me this week, I decided a blog post was in order and that the perfect item to include would be a video of Andrew Gold performing “my song.” I popped over to YouTube, found the song, and learned via comments left on the video that Andrew Gold died on June 3, 2011. He was 59.

I’m one of those women who’s prone to tears, and I shed a few when I hear the news. Some were for Andrew Gold, but some were tears of thanksgiving. He left a legacy in the form of a song, one that honors friendship. Here’s the clip, which I dedicate to you, my friend. Thanks for being a special part of my life.

In memory of Andrew Gold: August 2, 1951 –  June 3, 2011

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thank You for Being A Friend

  1. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    I can only give the compliments and feelings back to you, Keli. Although I don´t know you in person I have you in my heart. Your words are very inspiring,, you are a woman with a wide heart, deep feelings and a great creativity, and I feel honoured and blessed to know you. 🙂

  2. Wendy says:

    One question, am I already at the bar? 😉

    You are a dear friend, Keli! My life is better b/c of you.
    ~ Wendy

  3. Appreciating your friendship today, Keli! Have a beautiful weekend. God bless!

  4. Where would we be without our friends and the supportive people surrounding us? Very lovely blog, Keli.
    Patti

  5. Cindy R. Wilson says:

    Keli, you’re a beautiful person and I’m so blessed to have met you!

  6. Friendships are truly sacred relationships. They fill a place in us that no other relationship can touch, especially us women who need the support and encouragement and silliness that other ladies bring. Great post, Keli.

  7. Sherrinda says:

    I, too, am more than blessed to have come to know you through the airwaves. You are a special person, gifted by God to encourage and uplift those around you. God’s fingerprints are all over you! (((hugs)))

  8. I thank you for your friendship, Kelli. I appreciate your kindness and willingness to encourage me. I listened to the song. I liked it. I’m sorry to hear that Andrew Gold died so young. Blessings to you…

  9. Susan Mason says:

    Keli,
    The coincidence of this post means something, but I’m not sure what! LOL. One of my best friends gave me a birthday card last week and when I opened it, it played “Thank you for being a friend!” I laughed and laughed. I hadn’t heard that song in a long time, and another little joke is that we always said that we would end up like the Golden Girls (I think I’d be Rose!) and that’s the theme song of Golden Girls.
    Now I find out Andrew Gold died 3 days later – how odd is that? Hmmm….

    To be serious, loved your post. And thank you for your friendship over the last few years! You have been such a wonderful encouragement to me. I can’t wait to meet you in person in September!

    Sue

  10. cynthiaherron says:

    My goodness, Keli, this was a fantastic post! I listened to Andrew’s song with tears in my eyes! And I’m thanking God for new friends I am making every day! I feel so blessed.

  11. Friends are like earrings–we feel naked without them, and they make us look better than we really are. You are one of those people enhancers, Keli. Although I don’t know you well, I hope to! Blessings, Jen

  12. How like you, Keli, to acknowledge your friends when you’ve been such a wonderful friend yourself. One thing I’ve said over and over since beginning my blog three years ago, is that the online writing community is a remarkable place, and it’s because of people like you, readily sharing your experience and quick to be encouraging and supportive.

    I wasn’t familiar with Andrew Gold, but that’s a great song!

  13. You are a very special friend, Keli, to many a writer!

    Sadly the clip isn’t coming up for me, my protection is probably blocking it. But I do very well recall that song and I love it too.

Comments are closed.