Flashback Friday: Board Games

I enjoyed playing board games when I was a kid.

Two of my favorites were Candyland and Chutes and Ladders. When I got older, my sisters and I would duke it out at Monopoly and Parcheesi. In college I discovered backgammon.

All of these games are enduring classics. Just last week I enjoyed a play date with my sweet little six-year-old neighbor girl, and she brought over Chutes and Ladders. I was whisked back in time and had a blast.

What board games did you enjoy when you were younger? Are they still around today?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Flashback Friday: Board Games

  1. Wendy says:

    Monopoly is a classic and I loved Life. Still do. πŸ˜‰
    ~ Wendy

  2. Wendy says:

    Also, a little factoid about me…we used to keep a box from Trivial Pursuit behind the toilet.
    No wonder my brain is full of random facts!
    ~ Wendy

  3. I loved Monopoly as a kid. My family plays Star Wars Monopoly all the time now. We also like Cranium and Scategories.

  4. I LOVE games. I use them in my classroom all the time. My favorite growing up was card games. But I have a special place in my heart for the game Sorry. My grandmother and I spent hours playing it. Now the two favorites in our family are Sequence and Phase 10.

    In the interest of staying married, my husband and I do not play Monopoly or Scrabble together

  5. I dominate Clue!! I also liked to weave in the tales of why Professor Plum used a pipe in the conservatory. A writer even then. πŸ™‚ I have never played Chutes and I only liked to play with the money from Monopoly. Generally, it was “stolen” money and I was on the run.

  6. Jen J. Danna says:

    How about childhood games that we still play? Clue is the big game in my family. We get together with my brother and he and I , our mom and sister, and my two teenaged daughters play a wicked competitive game of Clue (okay, most of the time we gang up on my brother and try to beat him to a pulp, but that’s half the fun!). The other competitive family favourite? Hearts. We play a mean game of Hearts. Who ever is in the lead better watch out because everyone else colludes to bury him or her.

    Did I mention that the Danna clan is naturally competitive? πŸ˜‰ But it’s all in good fun…

  7. I loved board games when I was a kid and still do so now! Childhood favorites are Candyland, Chutes and Ladders, Clue, Yahtzee, and Life. I still have them and love playing with my nieces and nephews. Now when my family has game nights we play Scrabble, Sequence, Trivial Pursuit, Apples to Apples, Cranium, Imaginiff, Scattergories or Taboo, just to name a few!

  8. I absolutely loved Monopoly as a child but I bet most kids did! Now we own a more modern Monopoly game with a hand-held gadget that adds up your winnings and money – not as fun because you don’t get to actually hold you fake cash! Bummer.. but the kids love it.
    Patti

  9. Hungry Hippos and Chutes and Ladders are popular in our home. Although I loved Candyland as a child.

  10. We played card games as kids, like Skippo and Rummy Royal. As we became adults we played Trivial Pursuit and then Pictionary. We eventually devised our own version of Pictionary and games at family gatherings became legendary… to this day.

  11. Sherrinda says:

    Candyland!!!!! Loved that game. And then when I got a little older, I enjoyed Life & Monopoly. Oh, of course, Yahtzee. And cards….I absolutely love card games. Still do, in fact.

  12. Monopoly. It’s still around. Scrabble, my all-time favorite, still around. Today I play Scrabble on my iPhone. Blessings to you, Keli…

  13. I enjoyed Candyland and when I got older I liked Life and Sorry. All of these are still around.

  14. candidkerry says:

    We play a lot of Candyland around our house. When I was younger my sister and I enjoyed Clue, Life, Hotels, Sorry, and Monopoly. I’m not a big gamer player, though. My sister always had to twist my arm to get me to play.

    I hope you have a great weekend Keli! πŸ™‚

  15. When I grew up to be a preteen, I found I liked Risk, surprisingly to those who know how long a game of Risk can last? Now, I have a passion for boardgames, and I can recommend a TON to anyone who is interested. πŸ™‚

  16. Julie Nilson says:

    When my kids were babies, someone gave them Candyland, and I mentioned to my dad that I was looking forward to playing it with them. He went on a rant about how utterly boring that game is for anyone over 8, and that he hoped my kids looooved Candyland and made me play it over and over as payback for all the times I made Dad play it. At the time, I thought he was just being a game snob, but boy, was he right. It’s OK though–he babysits a lot, so before I leave I always whisper to my girls that they need to ask Papa to play Candyland with them. πŸ™‚

    Fortunately though, they are little board game geeks so we play a lot of others too. The current fave is Sorry, which is a lot more complicated than I remember, but I’m impressed at my youngest’s ability to remember all the rules and explain them to newcomers. Also, I learned the hard way that my sweet-faced little kindergartner is CUTTHROAT at Sorry! (It’s equal opportunity though–she called me out when I was trying to let her win and made me send her back to Start.)

  17. Liz Jakes says:

    LOVE Scrabble, Monopoly–though I haven’t played in years (I do have the unopened Star Wars edition) Life. TROUBLE! Chinese Checkers. Regular Checkers. My kids loved Candyland, too, and Chutes and Ladders. Candyland had a computer game version that was fun (my kids revisited in the pre-teen years) Yahtzee. Great post–brings back the memories. Operation! zzzt.

Comments are closed.