Favorite Reading Spots

Some people read in bed. Some sneak in a chapter or two while sitting behind the wheel waiting for their kids’ activities to finish. And this time of year some read at the beach or while stretched out poolside.

I end most days with a Calgon-scented soak while I savor a few chapters of a romance.

In the winter when I sneak in some extra chapters, I can be found in a comfy armchair in the living room with my feet draped over the side soaking in the heat of our pellet stove.

I found a great new spot for my summer reading. My hubby removed our tiny back lawn recently, and we replaced it with with walkways and planters. The result is a park-like setting I find inviting. I spent much of the past Sunday afternoon outdoors savoring the second half of a friend’s historical romance. Bliss!

• • •

What are your favorite reading spots?

Do you devour a novel in one sitting, or do you usually read a few chapters at a time?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Favorite Reading Spots

  1. Sherrinda says:

    I usually read in bed before I go to sleep. Since I work full time and have things to do around the house when I get home, there doesn’t leave a whole love in reading time. Sometimes I do go to bed early to squeeze in more time though.

    I love your backyard! It looks amazing and I’m sure it is such a wonderful place to escape to. Yay for a handy husband!

  2. donnapyle says:

    Your photo looks so relaxing! I love to read in so many places, but mostly in my library at home, a local Starbucks and propped up on pillows before I turn out the light to sleep. We can take our reading adventures just about anywhere.

  3. My favorite reading spot is in our eating knook where I have a very large window and can see the trees and sky and the lighting is great. Otherwise I kick back in a nice comfy chair. Tried reading in bed but the put me to sleep part kicks in too quickly.

    How fast I read depends on my mood and the book. There are times when I can’t stop until I finish even if that is into the wee hours. Other times I savor and read slowly.

    Your yard looks so pretty and peaceful. Great place to read and relax 🙂

  4. Wendy says:

    Keli,
    That’s beautiful! Most often the couch works just fine for me and I’m a few chapters at a time girl (maybe because my nose is usually in more than two or three books at once). I’m convinced I have reading ADD.
    ~ Wendy

  5. Beth Vogt says:

    I’ve always thought of you as a nice person, Keli. Possibly on the “nicest person ever” list. And then you post a photo like that … and make me all jealous …
    Sigh.
    What a lovely spot to read. What a nice husband you have.
    I like to read on my couch, snuggled under the blanket, with a cup of tea nearby. And it’s okay if my 10-year-old daughter snuggles under the blanket with me and reads her favorite book too. We’re a family of readers. ;o)
    Reading in the tub? Not such a good idea for me. I doze off and the pages get all wet.

  6. the writ and the wrote says:

    I usually only read in bed. I need complete silence when I read, otherwise I get distracted. It makes it hard to read in other places. I used to be able to read anywhere and everywhere. People who read with the TV on are so odd to me.

  7. Erica Vetsch says:

    In the winter time I love to read in the bath. In the summer time, it’s the sofa. And I always have to read a little bit in bed at night before I can fall asleep. Your backyard is lovely!

  8. Alica says:

    Such a lovely space- I have children so I read anywhere they will leave me alone long enough to do so. But my bed is my fav.

  9. Cool backyard, Keli! Looks great. We redid our backyard and took out the lawn and weeds and mud and dirt. We put in a large deck with chairs and an umbrella. That’s where I love to sit and read on those beautiful days when I can plop my feet up on a chair opposite me and soak in some sun and fresh air and look at the trees.
    Patti

  10. My favorite time to read is just before bed. Sometimes I devour a novel in one night! But usually I read for a couple hours and then get my beauty sleep. It was a lot easier when I was a kid and a teen to stay up all night reading and still feel good the next day, LoL.

  11. cynthiaherron says:

    I’ve been known to devour books in one sitting: Debbie Macomber, Lori Copeland, Deeanne Gist, Beth Wiseman, Karen Kingsbury to name only a very few…

    Fave place to read: my little sitting room in the front of the house surrounded by big, cozy cushions…although, now that I see your new spot…may I come over soon? 🙂

  12. What a nice backyard, Keli! All that hard work was worth it. 🙂

    My reading spots tend to be either the couch or recliner in our living room. If it’s a nice day, I like to go out on our back patio and read on the swing. Or if I’m tired, I’ll read a chapter or two in bed. So, I guess that means I soak up a good book anywhere and everywhere. 🙂

  13. Rita Garcia says:

    Beautiful racing spot, Keli! I love reading outside.

  14. I love the new look of your backyard! Perfect reading spot.

    I read anywhere. Car rider lines, my comfy chair, the tub, and in the spring/fall, I like to read on my big double hammock in the backyard. This summer has been too hot to read a whole lot at the pool. Most of the time, you have to stay in the water. Heat index temps have been 110 on some days. I can’t think straight let alone read.

  15. Loree Huebner says:

    Nice place to read! Bet that pine tree smells heavenly. What are the purple flowers?

    I love to read in the big hammock on our back deck…or in bed.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Loree, surprising the Ponderosa pine tree has no scent that I can detect. The purple flowers are on one of our crepe myrtle bushes.

  16. Anne Barton says:

    Your landscaping looks so lovely! If you didn’t live so far away, I’d grab a bottle of wine and head right over. 🙂 Enjoy your new reading & relaxation oasis!

  17. I love your patio. It’s beautiful.
    I usually only have short spurts to read so I do it wherever, often while watching the girls ride. I also read a chapter or so to relax before lights out in bed.

  18. I enjoy reading on my sofa, with several of my cats curled up next to me. 🙂 LOVE your park-like yard—so lovely!

  19. candidkerry says:

    Looks like a perfect reading spot, Keli! Beautiful. I have a hard time reading outside on our lanai because I get interrupted by our boys (often:), so my best reading spots are in the bathtub at night or on our couch. I love taking long driving trips too, because my hubby always drives and I can read, read, read for hours! ahhh….. 😉

    I do dream of a big, cozy comfy reading chair, but right now we don’t have the room in our bedroom. One day…. 🙂

    If I’m really into a book, I’ll get through it in less than a day. Otherwise, I’ll be reading it for an hour at a time for a couple days.

  20. Keli Gwyn says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading all the comments. Like many of you, I like to read in bed and used to do that a lot. However, I married a man who is an early riser. Since he’s often in bed before I am, I don’t want to turn on a light and disturb him. Thus, I found my nightly Calgon soak a great time to enjoy a few chapters before calling it a day.

Comments are closed.