Friendly Friday: Meet My Sister

Sisters can be cool. Do you have any?

I do. Two.

I’m the oldest of four. The next in line is my sister, Karla Lannon, who is two years my junior. OK, two years and five days to be precise. We used to celebrate our birthdays together each July, and Karla loved to remind me that I’d always be older than her. Yeah, she’s like that. ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know about you, but I learned the hard way that just because someone is your sibling doesn’t automatically make them your friend. Karla and I didn’t exactly get along. Now that I’m older, I can see why. She’s prettier, smarter, and funnier. In high school she was the popular one, starring in plays and making people laugh.

Things have changed in recent years. I started writing and building a web presence. As I came out of my shell, my confidence grew–because of you, my supportive cyber friends. I learned that I have more to offer than I thought.

I’ve been blessed in many ways and love to pay it forward. When Karla moved to a city only a hour’s drive from my small Sierra Foothills town and I learned that she’s writing a romance novel, I got excited. How many writers have a sister who shares their passion?

Karla and I reconnected after years of minimal contact, and I’m now privileged to be serving as her mentor. In fact, as you read this, she’s visiting so we can do a big picture read of her first story. There will be plenty of talk, laughter, and eating out, too. And she’ll consume gallons of Diet Cokeยฎ.

Being able to serve as a mentor to my real-life, romance-writing sister is exciting. No longer does the green-eyed goblin of yesteryear torment me. I’ve found a friend in my sister and can’t wait to see good things happen as she pursues her dream of publication.

โ€ข โ€ข โ€ข

Do you have sisters? If so, do you have any mutual interests?

Did you ever battle jealousy in regard to one of you siblings?

If you don’t have real-life sisters, do you have heart sisters?

Note: The sister plaque pictured is available from Amazon.com.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesโ„ข and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Friendly Friday: Meet My Sister

  1. Wendy says:

    Boy you hit on something with me this morning. Big time! I’m the youngest of four girls. And after reading this I see why I’m so comfortable with you in a mentor role. You are in some ways like an older sister I didn’t have. Don’t get me wrong, each of my sisters is gifted in their own way, but it’s a wild wild story…and you have that beautiful loving quality to you.

    I used to be terribly jealous of the sister closest to me in age. She was excellent at soccer (played against Mia Hamm, met Pele, etc.) and I wasn’t as good as her. It taught me a lot about resilience at an early age.

    God has also blessed me with heart sisters. I truly believe one reason why I’m so at home with women’s fiction is the diversity I’ve seen in my family alone–all those layers!
    ~ Wendy

  2. Sandra Orchard says:

    Oh, yes, I have two older sisters, shared a room with my middle one for years and yup, we fought. We became great friends after we got married and didn’t have to share a room! But since she was never one to give false flattery to her little sister, it wasn’t until she read my novel and conceded she liked it that I knew I’d arrived. LOL

  3. Erica Vetsch says:

    I have an older sister who lives many states away. We’re not super close, being very different in personality. For years I carried around a shocking inferiority complex around my sister, but as I’ve gotten older, gotten wiser, and gotten some distance, I feel I can meet my sister on my own ground without feeling inferior.

    I’m so glad you and your sister have re-connected, and that you share your love of writing.

  4. So glad you two are reuniting!!

    I have four sisters and we all get along well with each other. With growing families we may only see each other two or so times a year, but the phone keeps us connected way more!

  5. How neat! Sharing your passion for writing with your sis, and being able to mentor her as she pursues publication, sounds like a God-thing to me. Love the fact that it’s drawn the two of you together. Enjoy every minute! God bless!

  6. Loree Huebner says:

    I’m the youngest of the family. I have older brothers and one older sister.

    Carol is beautiful. When she was a child, she looked like Snow White with her milky white complexion and dark as night hair. As she got older, she looked more like a young Liz Taylor. She is the artist of the family. She lives in Colorado and paints beautiful landscapes. There is a big difference in our age (over ten years) but we are close. We are much closer now than when I was younger. We have more in common. Being with her is like clutching that new Coach purse, but wearing an old comfy sweater…

  7. bethkvogt says:

    Family relationships–be they between brothers or sisters–can be complicated, can’t they. That’s one of the reasons that topic shows up in my novel.
    Yeah, I could talk about me and my sisters (and I have a twin sister. We look nothing alike. Nothing!) But I loved reading your story. How fun to see the transformation and the renewal in your relationship with your sister. May the conversation and the laughter (my favorite sound) and the Diet Coke flow!

  8. Well, Keli, my family is definitely one of those “you can pick your friends, but not your family” kind of a thing. I have 5 sisters and only have a relationship with 2 of them. Without delving into the why’s, this isn’t probably going to ever change. There are certain lines that, if crossed, can destroy a relationship. And that’s what happened. What that did was make me so grateful for the two sisters that I DO interact with and not bemoan the others. Sisters are so wonderful and I am happy to have two great ones!
    Patti

  9. It’s great that you have re-connected! I have one younger sister, she just started writing too- a different genre then me, but it’s still a lot of fun to talk about.

  10. Sherrinda says:

    I have two sisters, both younger than me. I am closer to the youngest, because we share similar personalities and life experiences.

    I’m so glad you and your sister have something to share together. I know that she will benefit from your expertise and your gentle care!

    Have fun this weekend!!!!

  11. Lisa Jordan says:

    I have a younger sister who is my best friend. We look more like adopted siblings than blood relatives. She prefers literary novels, nonfiction and biographies. I read romances. She is 5′ tall and weighed most of her life in double digits…and I didn’t. She tans nicely and has very dark hair. I had blonde hair most of my life and burn from riding in the car. She loves to run. I love to … not run. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, she always has my back. She’s my encourager, my supporter and provides me with a daily dose of laughter.

  12. Anne Barton says:

    Keli, love that picture of you and Karla. So cute! Have a great time visiting and writing this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Enjoyed this post, Keli (and the picture of you and your sister–what a cute picture!). ๐Ÿ™‚ I am the “baby” of 3 girls (my sisters are fairly close in age, then there’s a BIG gap before I came along). But in recent years, it’s as if we’re all about the same age! We are super close, and I feel VERY blessed to have my 2 older sisters (especially since we lost both parents in recent years–I don’t know what I’d do without my sweet sisters). ~ Although both sisters love to read, neither one is pursuing writing. BUT, they think it is soooo cool that their baby sister is a writer! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yes, sisters can definitely be a blessing.

  14. Keli, it’s wonderful that you two have gotten together! I’m the oldest of three sisters and I HATE jealousy, inferiority, etc. I haven’t really been jealous of my sisters, except in school my younger one def. had better fashion sense and more friends, but there’ve been times where I have felt a horrible, horrible sense that maybe they were jealous of me, or felt inferior next to me. I can’t describe what a terrible feeling that is, esp. when I love them so much, or how much pain it causes the sibling who is put in that “higher” position. It’s NOT a good thing and as a parent I’m really hoping to emphasize to my kids how unique and special each one is. I NEVER want to see sibling jealousy in my home, and I won’t promote it. Maybe you can tell how strongly I feel about this. When you love your sisters, and I like them too (we’d be friends), to know that someone feels inferior next to you is a sickening thing. I feel sick just thinking about it. All that to say….my sisters and I get along great now and I think it’s awesome you two have common ground. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I truly enjoyed this post, Keli. I alwasy wanted to have a sister, but instead did battle as the baby and only girl with two older brothers. What I found as I grew up is the loyalty and love of soul-sisters, the magic of us as women when we bond as we cannot do with anyone else.

    Lucky you to have her in your life and also share your passion (and I am sure talent) for writing ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Susan Mason says:

    How wonderful, Keli! I have two brothers, no sisters. But I have a wonderful sister-in-law and a great best friend who is like a sister!

    Happy writing to both of you!

  17. I don’t have a sister, but I always wanted one. I’ve loved having an older brother though. We’re super close. He’s one of my favorite people. I don’t think brother-sisters pass through the same level of sibling rivalry that sister-sisters or brother-brothers do.

    You are BOTH beautiful, Keli and how exciting that Karla shares your passion!

  18. Julie Nilson says:

    I have a sister who is 2.5 years younger. When we were kids, we got along OK most of the time, but we grew apart a bit in high school since our activities and social lives were so different: She was a very social super-jock, Ms. Popularity… and I was a book nerd. ๐Ÿ™‚ So the issue was really that our paths didn’t cross all that much since she was at track meets while I was studying or at drama rehearsal. But now that we’re adults, we’ve learned that we have a lot more in common in terms of the stuff that matters–our outlook toward family, kids, parents, lifestyle, work, etc.

Comments are closed.