Favorites on Friday: Season

What’s your favorite season, and why?

My favorite season is summer.

Here are three reasons why. . .

My birthday is smack dab in the middle of summer.

My teacher hubby is on vacation, so I get to spend more time with him.

I tend to run cold, so I like being warm. I’m one of the few people who doesn’t mind the hot summers here in the Sierra Foothills of California where I live.

Image from Wikimedia Commons
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Favorites on Friday: Season

  1. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Oh, Keli … can I say I like them all? Colorado does all season well.
    OK, I’ll choose.
    I like …. mulling, mulling, mulling … summer best.
    I love summer vacation when my still-in-elementary-school daughter can sleep in (and me too!)
    I like hiking in the Colorado mountains. And camping–summer camping over winter camping any day!
    And I like longer days … and warmer weather …

  2. Mine is right now … autumn. Because my birthday is the very first day of the season, because of the incredible colors this change brings, and because the cooler weather and Indian summer meant I could spend endless hours riding along the shore on my bike. Most of all because I have three months to prepare for what comes at the very end … the “Fifth” season … the Holidays 🙂

  3. Wendy says:

    Last year I might have said fall, but I’m going with spring…

    1. flowers
    2. flowers
    3. flowers

    😀
    ~ Wendy

  4. I also love the summer – although this summer was even a little to hot for me this year! I’m enjoying the fall more than usual this year.

  5. Love them all…at the beginning of each one. Then the awe and newness wears off and I long for the next one. Right now, my favorite is Fall. The leaves are so beautiful and crunchy. The pumpkins are out and fun to see and the weather is crisp enough to snuggle under a blanket and read or eat a yummy bowl of chili. 😉

  6. I like fall. Roasting dogs (hot dogs that is), chili, soups, pumpkin candles, pies, and breads. I love hayrides, sitting on the back porch at night with quilts and outdoor firepit, Rolling houses with toilet paper, apple cider, red and gold leaves, geese flying overhead all day long, honking and signaling new directions. I just love fall. 🙂

  7. the writ and the wrote says:

    Fall, without a doubt. Unless I’m in Tahoe, in which case I choose summer and fall and spring and winter.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      I agree wholeheartedly. Tahoe is beautiful any time of year. I’m blessed to live just one hour away and get to enjoy the beauty in all seasons.

  8. Loree Huebner says:

    October – autumn is my favorite.

    I love the changing colors, the cool days and crisp nights, my birthday, (Orion’s back) looking at Orion on the eastern horizon through my telescope, the smell of a campfire or the fireplace, weekend road trips to the kids colleges, and it’s harvest time.

    I feel more creative during this time of year. I also go back to my love of baking and cooking comfort foods.

  9. Anonymous says:

    One word – Snow. Wonderful snow (ok three words) 🙂

    My favourite season though is Autumn, all that colour.

  10. I’d hate to live somewhere without the diversity of the seasons because I like all of them — the new buds, returning birds and warming days of spring; summer’s lazy vacations and abundance of flowers; fall’s crisp edges, amazing colours, and the smell of burning leaves; crunching through winter’s snow, evenings by the fireplace, and the magic of Christmas. If I have to pick one, I guess it would be fall. I don’t enjoy heat so by the end of summer I can hardly wait to welcome fall’s cooler weather.

  11. Jill Kemerer says:

    For me it’s summer and fall. I’ll gladly skip winter, and in Michigan, spring often feels like winter! We have the most gorgeous colors right now, but don’t blink, or you’ll miss them!

  12. cynthiaherron says:

    Love the fall, Keli! I find all the beautiful color inspiring. I look forward to scented cinnamon-apple candles, pumpkin pies baking in the oven, family get-togethers, and making new holiday memories. I find I write more in the cooler months, too…probably, because the bad weather keeps me indoors more!

  13. I had to chuckle when I saw the title of your blog for today, Keli – – last night I finally updated my blog and titled it: Amazing Autumn 🙂 Although I do enjoy all 4 seasons, Autumn is without a doubt my very favorite. Here in Georgia we have beautiful Autumn days—crisp, cool breezes, gorgeous leaves, and a sapphire-blue sky. A stark contrast to some of our summer days, LOL. Somedays in July and August, our heat and humidity is almost unbearable—you walk outside and feel as though you cannot breathe! So, it’s definitely Autumn for me (with Spring being my 2nd favorite). 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

  14. Hmmm…I used to like spring best, but Spring in MN is cold, sleety, snowy, and muddy. I much prefer summer here. Beautiful weather, lovely flowers, soft breezes, and no school. 🙂

  15. up where i live, there are two seasons, rainy and dry. i vote for dry. it’s so temperate here, too….so temperatures are pretty constant…but summer is the best (which for us is actually the dry season….around april through october-ish. just marvelous. 🙂

  16. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    I love all seasons, and I go out every day, no matter which weather we have. I love the young and fresh green of spriing and its promise of life, I love the sumer with the harvest mon on the ripening corn and grain and fruit and its warming sun. I love the colorful autumn, the golden sunlight and the fullness of life in trees and fruits and I love the sparkling ice crystal diamonds of winter. I love the entire Cuibhle Mor, the Big Wheel of Life of all four seasons, the empire of sun and water and ice and earth, the winds and the rain, the snow and the cold, all expressions of life itself. I love walking or lying underneath the stars and the sun and the trees and the endless skies, I love the breathing of the sea in summer and the frozen shores in winter. I am hopelessly in love with nature in all its facettes….lol.

  17. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    And I love painting it all…..

Comments are closed.