Transitions

My last post dealt with change.

I’m undergoing a major one today.

I’ve been a die-hard desktop computer person for years, but I’ve come to accept the fact that a laptop has advantages I could use, namely portability.

Yesterday my ever-supportive hubby took me to the Apple store where I had my iMac spiffed up and got a shiny new MacBook Pro. Yes. I’m entering the age of the enlightened. At least that’s how Gwynly sees things. He’s convinced I’ll end up using my laptop more than I will my desktop model.

I planned to begin my new Copyediting with Keli series today, but I didn’t realize I’d have to leave both computers at the Apple store while the Geniuses oversee a data transfer. I’m using Gwynly’s laptop for now, but I don’t have access to my files, bookmarks, etc., so the debut of the new blog series will have to wait a week. My apologies.

• • •

Are you a laptop person, a desktop person, or do you use both?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Transitions

  1. Gwyn Weyant says:

    Have gone for portability. We have two laptops. and sometimes I have been known to have them both going at once. Don’t even own a desktop anymore.

  2. the writ and the wrote says:

    Laptop. I started using a laptop in 2002 when I went away to college and haven’t looked back. My mom has a desktop which I use when I need to print and I use a desktop at work.

  3. Definitely a lap top person even before my Apple days. I purchased my first Mac (Mac Book Pro) 2 years ago. Perhaps, once upon a time – laptops vs. desktop – was like comparing apples to oranges… but now, with the growing access to FREE wi-fi in many places (and smaller, lighter versions of lap-tops) I can’t imagine NOT having one. Of course the fact that I have 4 children and the fact that I can add 150 miles on my odometer in a day without leaving town may play a huge factor in my close relationship with my laptop; I have recently found wi-fi in a gym, at the orthopedic surgeon’s office, the physical therapy facility, and Starbucks. I bring it with me to download pictures from my SD card after each sporting event (ie, baseball, soccer, volleyball games) and I keep up with e-mail and blogging at Baking4Six.com while my daughter is at physical therapy. Perhaps, you can introduce Mac to Taco Bell sometime next week. I have a feeling it just may be the start of a beautiful friendship. 🙂

  4. Renee C says:

    I’ve never used a Mac before but they look nice. I like both a laptop and desktop but I think desktops last longer than laptops for some reason. I think they’re built better, at least that’s what it seems like.

Comments are closed.