Venturing into Vlogging

I ventured into the vlogging arena recently with my Copyediting with Keli series in which I share tips on how to put the final polish on your manuscripts. You can view my vlog posts here on my blog on Mondays, or you can visit the YouTube channel for Keli Gwyn where you can see them all in one place.

I’m not a techno whiz, so learning to vlog has been a s-t-r-e-t-c-h. Sitting in front of a camera can be a bit intimidating. I’ve made my fair share of mistakes as you can see . . .

Even though vlogging may present some challenges at first, vlog posts can add a fun element to a blog. Visitors have the opportunity to see and hear the blogger rather than just reading static text, which works well for those who are visuals learners.

The blogger gets the opportunity to explore new skills. I like to think of my venture into vlogging as a way to use the technology available to me, hone my speaking skills, and reach a potentially larger audience through my YouTube channel.

In addition I’m getting used to seeing and hearing myself as others do. I don’t know about you, but that can be kinda freaky at first. Who knew I had more wrinkles than Dumbo’s knees and a voice reminiscent of Minnie Mouse? πŸ™‚

β€’ β€’ β€’

Have you considered the idea of adding vlog posts to your blog?

What do you see as the benefits and downsides of vlog posts?

Does sitting in front of a video camera freak you out?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Writing & Promotion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Venturing into Vlogging

  1. Wendy says:

    Love it! I’m wanting to vlog, am planning on it. Have to soften my husband to the idea of it. He’s way guarded, I’m open. We shall see. I imagine I’ll post one someday.
    ~ Wendy

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Wendy, my hubby is actually the one who gave me the courage to try vlogging. He’s a science teacher who has his T.A.’s video his demonstrations for the benefit of students who miss class. He’s considering putting some of the videos on YouTube so others can benefit from them. I hope he does because he’s an engaging teacher who could help even more students understand chemistry by using this medium.

  2. Katie Ganshert says:

    I LOVE the bloopers. they made me laugh and smile. You’ve inspired me to do my own. I’ve got PLENTY!

    And you do not have wrinkles like Dumbo’s knees.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Katie, you’re the vlogging pioneer. I saw your vlog posts and was so impressed I wanted to play copycat. Remember that imitation is the most sincere form of admiration. πŸ™‚

  3. Great that you have braved the vlogging world. Indeed it is a bit unnerving to have to get used to the fact…yep, that’s what I look like and sound like. I think YOU look great!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Chris, getting used to seeing and hearing myself was one of my biggest hurdles. When I watch the vlogs, I see my “interesting” mannerisms. Who knew I tilted my head to the side so often when I talk? In one outtake–not to be seen by anyone else–I gave an eye roll to beat all eye rolls. πŸ™‚

  4. Loree Huebner says:

    I loved the bloopers!
    I also love your series.

    Great job!

  5. Donna Pyle says:

    Keli, you and Katie have inspired me. I’m definitely working on incorporating this into my blogging. You’re doing AWESOME!

  6. This concept does freak me out a bit, but I definitely see it as a far more personal way of interacting with blog friends, etc.

    One day I’ll google how to create a VLOG and try it out. Maybe I’ll try and do my first one for around Christmas. I’m assuming you use a webcam to create them. I do have one of those now on my new laptop, so I may not have any excuses anymore. πŸ˜‰

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Eileen, I look forward to your very first vlog. I’m sure you’ll do a great job.

      I use a video recorder to record my mini-presentations. I mount the camera on a tripod, which enables me to get further away from the lens than I could when I tried using the webcam on my laptop. I then upload the footage to my computer using iMovie and create the blog there.

  7. Ha, this cracked me up. I am so new to blogging that I haven’t really considered vlogging yet, but I love the idea. I can kind of be a ham when a camera gets busted out, though…not sure readers would appreciate that or not! πŸ˜› Must be the actress/performer in me!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Lindsay, it sounds like you’d be a natural when it comes to vlogging. I’d love to see you give it a whirl. I have a hunch your vlogs would be lotsa fun. πŸ™‚

  8. I always enjoy outtakes!

  9. Casey says:

    LOL! Those bloopers were great and so much fun. πŸ™‚ Then I watched one of your copyediting films and it was GREAT! Way to go on it, Keli! You are excellent on camera. πŸ™‚

  10. Love the bloopers AND your voice, Keli! πŸ™‚ I’d love to vlog (the camera doesn’t intimidate me much), but I’m trying to figure out what valuable things I have to say. I like how you include the vlog but that you also summarize your points in the post. That helps those who learn visually but also those who don’t have time to watch the vlog in its entirety.

  11. cynthiaherron says:

    Loved this! Keli, thanks so much for adding some sparkle to my day! You are such a joy–thank you for your warmth, your transparency, and your desire to teach!

    I would love to vlog–I’d probably do something silly…you know–like faint. πŸ™‚

  12. jeanniecampbell says:

    BLOOPERS! awesome! πŸ™‚

    after katie started, i went and googled how to do vlogs and found this site where the guy did everything from his iphone. i downloaded all the needed apps and bought this little mini-microphone that amplifies your voice…you just plug it into the headphone jack. pretty cool! but i haven’t given it a go yet. but it’s coming!

  13. Erica Vetsch says:

    Can I just say…I love you! These bloopers were so cute!

    I’m not sure if I’m ready to brave vlogging yet. But I love seeing yours and Katie’s and Rachelle’s.

  14. Marji Laine says:

    I’ve actually thought about this quite a lot, but I sound like such a hick. I have an author friend, Lynne Gentry, who does some GREAT Vlogs on her website, so I’m sorely tempted.

  15. Sonya Lee says:

    Great bloopers! How fun. I just began vlogging on Mondays on my website. So far, so good. Although, in my most recent vlog, my dog keeps getting in the picture. LOL! They are fun.

Comments are closed.