Christmas Wishes

Only four days until Christmas!

Only two days until our college daughter gets to come home.

Gwynly and I are excited that our gal gets December 23-25 off work and will be able to spend those three days with us. It doesn’t feel like Christmas without her. She’s one of those people so into Christmas she starts singing carols in November and wants the tree up with the gifts under it the weekend after Thanksgiving, which it was.

We wrap our gifts in drawstring bags made of colorful Christmas fabrics. Makes wrapping a clean-up a breeze.

One of our favorite traditions is putting out the German Christmas decorations we bought when we lived in Germany or made subsequent visits. I love the Holy Family figures, which we bought from the woodcarver in the town of Oberammergau where the famous Passion Play is held every ten years.

Some of our traditional German Christmas decorations.

Another tradition we look forward to is our candlelight Christmas Eve service. I love the hushed air of expectancy when the lights are extinguished, the glow of candles fills the sanctuary, and we sing Silent Night. That’s what Christmas is all about. Remembering the best gift ever given, God’s own Son come to earth to live among us in preparation for His incredible sacrifice on our behalf.

I’m looking forward to focusing on my family for a few days and am taking a blogging break. I’ll resume my posts on January 2nd.

I wish you a blessed celebration of Christmas.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in My Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Christmas Wishes

  1. Martina Bedregal Calderón says:

    Merry Christmas to you , Keli, to your family, to all here and to the world! Frohe Weihnachten! Felíz Navidad! Nollaig Chridhe! Joyeux Noel! 🙂

    May it be a peaceful Christmas on this planet!

    xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Martina

  2. Merry Christmas, Keli!!! Be blessed with much joy and awe in the truth of Christ!

  3. Merry Christmas!! Enjoy your family times!

  4. Those ornaments are so neat! Merry Christmas, Keli to you and yours! 🙂

  5. bethkvogt says:

    Merry Christmas, Keli!
    May you have a wonderful, love-filled time with your daughter and husband!

  6. Merry Christmas, Keli!

    Drawstring Christmas bags? Bright and cheery, easy clean-up, and saving a few trees! Love it!

  7. Keli, and what fun to use those bags to sew something else! I am also taking a break after today’s post and will return on Jan. 4th. I have enjoyed this wonderful Holiday season and your heart-felt posts, but most of all, I have enjoyed the connection I felt all year and each time I read your latest post.

    May you and your husband and daughter enjoy the true Blessings of this time. Happy Holiday and a great New Year 🙂

  8. Loree Huebner says:

    Merry Christmas!

  9. Merry Christmas, Friend. We are celebrating Christmas in our new home. The move is done and we are working to get settled. Not having time to put up a tree, I am drinking in the displays all around us. Many neighbors have 10-star light shows. Glory to God in the highest!

  10. Guadalupe Casillas says:

    Beautiful traditions and ideas! Have a blessed joyful and peaceful Christmas with your family 🙂

  11. Sherrinda says:

    Merry Christmas to you, Keli. May your holiday be filled with joy, laughter, family, friends, and love. Love you, friend!

  12. Julie Nilson says:

    Thos drawstring bags are genius! And so environmentally sound! 🙂 I may start doing that once my girl are old enough to know who *really* leaves all those presents under the tree.

  13. Merry Christmas to you, Keli!

  14. Merry Christmas, friend!! Enjoy your time with family.

  15. Darlene says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas and enjoy your family time.

  16. Few things are as beautiful as the “hushed air of expectancy.” Wishing you a very merry Christmas!

  17. merry christmas keli! i hope it’s wonderful. 🙂

Comments are closed.