2012: A Year of Change

I’ve heard it said the only constant is change, a saying most often attributed to the Greek philosopher Heraclitus.

The older I get, the more I agree with the saying.

The year 2012 holds significant changes for me.

I’m the mother of a full-fledged adult. Our one and only turned 21 on New Year’s Day, and she now has all the rights and responsibilities of adulthood. I feel old mature.

Another change took place on January 1st. My agent, Rachelle Gardner, left WordServe Literary and moved to Books & Such Literary. I’ve chosen to follow her.

Making that decision was challenging. I made many wonderful friends while I was with WordServe. Not only that, but I have great respect for the president, Greg Johnson.

While leaving WordServe saddens me, I’m excited to be joining the Books & Such family. A number of clients at the agency are my friends. Plus Books & Such is in my home state of California less than three hours from where I live.

A third change, a rather exciting one for me, is that my debut novel will be published in 2012. I’ll be receiving my edits this month and am looking forward to incorporating my editor’s suggestions. My book appeared for pre-order on Amazon and Barnes and Noble this past week, too. It’s really happening.

• • •

What changes are you anticipating this year?

Image from istockphoto.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 2012: A Year of Change

  1. Loree Huebner says:

    You’re going to have an awesome year, Keli! Feel the blessing flow! Happy New Year to you and yours!

    I have some changes in my personal life which I am anticipating later this year. It’s going to be a good year.

  2. Keli! I’m sooo excited for you! And I’m over-the-moon excited that we are now fellow “Bookies!” Congratulations on your continued success! (Do you realize the next time I see you at ACFW, I’ll be holding your book in my hot, little hands?!) Yay!

  3. …And I feel the need to self-edit…Should be “Bookies”! according to the 16th ed. of the CMOS. I felt the need to rectify that. Oh, we Type A souls/writers can be such grammar/punctuation freaks, but I think you’ll understand. 🙂

  4. That’s great news on the move to Books & Such, Keli.

    Big changes for me this year: moved homes, launching my picture book as an iPad app and more.

  5. Sherrinda says:

    Wow! You have a great year coming up, and I’m excited to see what the Lord is going to do with you in it!

    One of my strengths is adaptability, so change doesn’t faze me too much, but this year, I’d like to finish my second novel and possibly get an agent. That would be the coolest changes for me. 🙂

  6. Exciting changes indeed! I’m beyond thrilled to be an agency-mate with you, Keli, and I’m even more thrilled to read your debut novel soon!

  7. 2012 will be a year of some change for me as well. I start a new full-time job tomorrow and for the first time will be balancing that, blogging, writing, and personal responsibilities (oh yeah…and fun) as well.

    Good luck to you in your agency move and with the release of your debut novel. I’ll be rooting for you the whole way!

  8. Congratulations on your book upcoming book debut, Keli! I can imagine how your heart sped seeing it for preorder on Amazon and Barnes and Noble 🙂

    I’m really anticipating my hubby coming home for vacation in a few months, and then his deployment ending for good later on this year. I feel so blessed that he will be here with me when my first book launches.

    Happy New Year!

  9. You’ve had a wonderful year!!! I expect many more changes this year–one with getting a home—we are thinking of building one ourselves and when I say ourselves–I mean about everything! Haven’t done that in 26 years!!

  10. Wendy says:

    Moving with you, lady. And so excited about your debut novel. Change for me is I really think we’re all out of babies in this house.
    ~ Wendy

  11. How totally exciting to see your book out there for pre-order!!! Congrats and here’s to a wonderful 2012.

  12. the writ and the wrote says:

    I can’t wait to read your book, Keli! I’m excited about building up my freelance business and doing some self-publishing, as well as shopping my first novel.

  13. Darlene says:

    Change is good and these are all very positive changes. I love my relationship with my adult children, there is nothing more special. Congratulations on the new book! Here’s to a fabulous 2012 for all of us.

  14. bethkvogt says:

    Keli,
    You and I are experiencing some of the same changes in 2012. I, too, followed Rachelle Gardner to Books & Such. And I also have a debut novel coming out in May. And I do believe we’re both working on our book 2s, aren’t we?
    So thankful to have met you along the writing road. You’ve made the journey so much more joy-filled.

  15. Like Beth, we’re experiencing a lot of the same changes.

    Leaving WordServe to be a Books and Such client and my debut releasing.

    Unique to the Ganshert family would be my husband giving his kidney to his little brother, who experience kidney failure this past September. And our adoption! Lots in store! So much so I’ve labeled 2012 the year of Change.

  16. I’m not only looking forward to reading your book, but having you as an agency mate! Yay!

  17. Jill Kemerer says:

    Your daughter turned 21! Mine is headed to high school this fall, and I too feel old, ahem, mature. 🙂 Congrats on all your exciting changes this year, Keli!!

Comments are closed.