Excited about Edits

My edits for my debut novel arrived Tuesday, and I’m excited!

Here are four reasons why. . .

1) My wait is over. I’m no longer wondering what it will be like to receive edits.

2) My editor is awesome! She knows her stuff and offered great feedback. She caught some typos, missing words, repeated words, grammatical issues, and other small stuff. In addition, she noted a few places where aspects of the story seemed unclear and offered suggestions on how I could remedy them. Her input will help ensure that the story is the best it can be.

3) My editor exhibited such respect for me as the author of the story. It’s evident she worked to preserve my voice, and I appreciate that greatly.

4) My story is one step closer to being a book. I’ll get the edits back to my editor in the next day or two, and the manuscript will be typeset.

I’m in the midst of incorporating the edits and making the necessary changes. I look forward to sharing more of the process in future posts. If you have specific questions about edits, you can let me know in a comment, and I’ll do my best to address them on the blog.

Image from iStockphoto.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Writing & Promotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Excited about Edits

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Wow! You can get all those edits done in the next day or so? Double wow! I am so impressed with you. You must not have had much! πŸ˜‰

    I love hearing about your publishing journey and pray that this year is full of blessings surrounding your debut novel!

  2. You go girl. Savor the day!

  3. What’s cool for me is seeing how different everyone’s experience is as they go through edit with various houses!

  4. Wendy says:

    Your attitude is so admirable. I’m watching YOU & taking notes (see my post today).
    ~ Wendy

  5. Yay for you, Keli! That’s so exciting. Like Wendy, I admire your attitude. I think it’s so great that you welcome edits, especially being of an editing mindset yourself. It takes humility when someone edits your work, and you’ve got loads of it! Bravo. πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to read your book!

  6. Keli … I sure did miss you during my two week break. It must be a wonderful feeling to actually have an editor, edits and the real thing instead of the waiting and wondering. Can’t wait for the day you are between the boards and available for me to read. You earned the right to enjoy this journey, so make the best of it and great success with you work πŸ™‚

  7. Wow, I’d thought you’d already had them. Are these your line edits? I’m so glad you’re having a great experience!! πŸ™‚ Have fun with them and I can’t wait to read your book!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Jessie, I performed self-edits recently in preparation for receiving my edits and sent the updated file to my publisher, but this is my only round of edits from my publishing company. They are my line/copyedits.

  8. Susan Mason says:

    One step closer! That must feel great. Happy editing!

  9. the writ and the wrote says:

    Enjoy this final round of edits. You must be bouncing off the walls with excitement!

  10. bethkvogt says:

    So excited for you, Keli. One step closer to debut day. I can’t wait to read your novel!! πŸ™‚

  11. It’s hard not to get excited with you, you’re infectious in such a good way! I’m looking forward to your stories on the process. Happy editing!

  12. Loree Huebner says:

    I’m so excited for you, Keli! Enjoy the moment…and the edits! Looking forward to reading it.

  13. Congratulations on reaching the next stage in publication, Keli! Glad you got a kind, respectful editor. I’ll probably be asking you questions about edits in the future.

  14. Woohoo! So glad your edits went smoothly. I love that final stage of putting the polish on a manuscript. Wait until you get the thrill of seeing your manuscript galleys. πŸ™‚

  15. Exciting and encouraging, Keli! Praying that God guides you through the process!

  16. How exciting, Keli! I’m curious to know if all your work in rewriting the book for your agent paid off in your editor letter. In other words, did you feel like you had less changes than average since you’d invested so much time and effort BEFORE submission? (Since I’m in the pre-submission editing process, I’m looking for hope that it will make things easier in the long run! :))

  17. Marsha Young says:

    Keli, congratulations on the progress toward publication!

  18. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks for sharing in my excitement. Your support means more to me than words can adequately express. If I could, I’d give each of you a heartfelt hug. Those of you I see at conference can expect one. πŸ™‚

  19. So thrilled for you, Keli! Can’t wait to read it!

    Thanks for letting us know what to expect!

Comments are closed.