One BIG Advantage of a Traditional Publisher

There are many publishing avenues available to writers today, each with its own set of advantages. My dream was to go the traditional route, even though I knew it would take time and that my chances of “making it” were slim.

One of the major reasons I chose the path I did is that I lack the knowledge or platform necessary to launch a book on my own. Sure, I could learn to format a digital book if I put my mind to it, but I don’t possess the marketing know-how or promotion savvy many self-published authors exhibit. I admire them, but at this stage in my career I don’t have what it takes to emulate them. Getting my book in front of readers would be a challenge.

I’d heard that traditional publishers are able to get our books in front of many potential readers, but I’m seeing firsthand how true that is.

Being a debut novelist eager to learn all I can about the process my book is going through, I periodically perform a search for my book’s title to see where it has made an appearance.

To my surprise and delight, I discovered that my publisher’s sales department got my book up for pre-order on the major booksellers sites over six months before its scheduled release date. It’s available on Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and Christianbook.com.

A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California has been showing up on other sites, too, among them BiggerBooks.com, The Book Depository, eCampus.com, e textbooks now.com, Overstock.com, and The Reading Warehouse.

To my amazement, readers in other countries can buy the book as well. No, my agent hasn’t sold foreign rights. The version that’s available is the same English book that will be sold here. Even so, it’s cool to see my book for sale in other countries, including Japan (Amazon.jp), the United Kingdom (Amazon.uk), and the Netherlands (Van Stockum).

And this is only the beginning. My publisher will be getting my book on other sites, in booksellers’ catalogs, in stores, and more.

Seeing my book for sale in so many places is incredible. Due to my publisher’s efforts, millions of people around the world have the opportunity to discover and order my book. Without the sales and marketing departments doing so much work, my story would not have such a reach. I’m beyond grateful to the team at Barbour Publishing!

• • •

Are you as amazed as I am by how many places a traditional publisher gets a book placed?

What do you see as the biggest advantages of a traditional publishing company?

Is traditional publishing your path of choice? Why or why not?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Writing & Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One BIG Advantage of a Traditional Publisher

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Oh yes! I am completely amazed by the power of the traditional publishing company. I cannot begin to imagine having to do all that by myself. I know it is a long shot, but I am going for traditional.

  2. Since I am also publishing a series with Barbour, starting in October, this was especially encouraging to read! Thanks!

  3. Yes, I’m dreaming of a traditional publishing career for a lot of the same reasons as you. I know that even with traditional publishing, we have to take charge of marketing our books in some ways (social media, blogging, building a brand, etc.), but certain doors seem to close if you choose self-publishing (e.g., you can’t get your books into libraries, etc.). Plus, I like the challenge implied in traditional publishing. If I can “make” it, then that will be a major goal met.

    Thanks for your words of wisdom as you travel this road, Keli!

  4. Many of my reasons for pursuing traditional publishing echo yours, Keli.

    As authors, we still have to verse ourselves in social media, branding, etc., but I personally don’t have the experience to be a marketing expert and I fully recognize that’s not my area of expertise. Also, the traditional publishing route is a personal goal and one that I feel will best meet the direction I want to go.

    Congrats on your wonderful accomplishments! You’re on your way!

  5. Keli, you post speaks directly to the major advantages writers have with traditional publising. In publishing, like in many aspects or my life, I prefer traditional. If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it comes to mind. I just went to amazon to see your book on pre-order. How exciting that the time is almost here 🙂

  6. Donna Pyle says:

    Keli, I’m just so excited for you! Since I’m just now getting my toes wet in traditional publishing, it’s awesome to know how serious they take marketing. Again, congratulations!

  7. Another advantage is marketing. I know there’s a whole bunch of authors out there who bemoan traditional marketing. But I have to say, I’ve had a wonderful experience! My book is already getting exposure it never would have with my own efforts because of the marketing and publicity people and sales people at my publishing house. I love ’em!

  8. Such an encouraging post, Keli. I was actually thinking about this (marketing/traditional) yesterday–curious to know what all they do. Many of my reasons for traditional publishing are the same as yours. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  9. Loree Huebner says:

    Very excited for you, Keli! This gives me a great outlook into the traditional publishing marketing end of the business. Thanks for sharing.

  10. bethkvogt says:

    Keli,
    I always appreciate your “here’s what I know, let me share it with you” approach to blogging.
    I think I went with traditional publishing because, well, I’m a bit of a traditionalist. And when I started on the writing road, that was the option: traditional publishing. Doesn’t mean I won’t try an e-book on my own at some point. But I’m thrilled (and humbled) I landed a contract with a traditional publisher.

  11. i guess it will depend for me whether i go traditional or self pub based on how popular i can get my brand. i know i have some time before either becomes a reality, so i’m working on that platform!

  12. Brittany says:

    Congratulations!! What a cool feeling. I can’t imagine myself doing the self-pub route for this reason. I have no knowledge on how anything works, and I’d rather focus on learning how to be a better writer than how to be a publisher.

  13. the writ and the wrote says:

    My goal, for my first novel, is definitely traditional. Subsequent projects will likely be self-published, but I definitely want that feeling of getting the acceptance letter and meeting with an editor and going on a book tour and all that. I’m super excited to read your book, too!

Comments are closed.