Best Bargains for Book Buyers

Do you want to get your books for the lowest prices possible?

I certainly do.

This past week I learned that there are a number of sites that compare book prices.

These 13 sites show varying results when I input the title of my debut novel as an example. I’ve put an asterisk after the five sites that produced at least five U.S. comparisons.

allbookstores.com*

alldiscountbooks.net*

bookbutler.com

bookfinder.com

booksprice.com*

cheapestbookprice.com

compareshopbooks.com

dealoz.com

fetchbook.info*

finderscheapers.com

isbns.net

source4book.com

spotcost.com*

Using one of these sites could help you save money, enabling you to s-t-r-e-t-c-h your book-buying dollars. In my book, that’s a very good thing.

• • •

Do you compare prices before making your online book purchases, or do you tend to do most of your shopping at one bookseller’s site?

image from istockphoto
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Best Bargains for Book Buyers

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Wow! I had no idea some of those sites existed! Thank you for sharing!

    I usually purchase from amazon. I sometimes buy the used books, or just order the full price…when something new hits the shelves. Oh…and KINDLE books, of course. 🙂

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      I’m with you, Sherrinda. I do most of my book buying on Amazon. Their prices are hard to beat. However, now that I know B&N offers free shipping on orders over $25 just like Amazon, I’ll be going with B&N whenever I can. They seem to be working hard to match Amazon’s prices. And for sales, Christianbook is hard to beat. I got Erica Vetsch’s A Bride’s Portrait for just $4.69 recently, and it’s cover price is $12.99!

  2. I’m with Sherrinda. Amazon usually tends to be the cheapest (at least, with sellers I’ve checked out), so I usually just go with that price. But I’ll have to check these sites out…

    Happy Friday, Keli!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Lindsay, like you I used to be an auto-pilot book buyer. I’d head to Amazon, assuming they had the lowest price. However, the recent price war between Amazon and B&N on my debut novel has shown me that B&N is doing its best to provide serious competition. The two companies have dropped the price of A Bride Opens Shop from the $12.99 cover price down to just $5.35. It seems Books-A-Million isn’t going to let Amazon and B&N get all the business. By using the comparison sites in this post, I learned that BAM! is offering my book for $6.74. The winners, as I see it, are the customers, since the companies can’t be making any money at those prices.

  3. Wealthy of knowledge here. You just opened my eyes. Must look into this!
    ~ Wendy

  4. Wow! I had no idea these sites existed! I tend to do most of my online buying through amazon.com or christianbook.com, but I’ll be compare shopping using these sites. My husband will be so proud of me. 🙂

  5. Donna Pyle says:

    How cool, Keli! Like Erica, I didn’t know about most of those sites. Thanks for this handy dandy list to keep close by. Woo Hoo! 🙂

  6. Gillian says:

    I’m like everyone else, I had no idea! Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

  7. Gillian says:

    Oh, and as a Mom who just looked at the prices on her daughter’s textbooks for next semester…another huge thanks!! 😉

  8. Anonymous says:

    I tend to go to one site … it’s just easier. But you’ve done the working of helping me shop around. Thanks, Keli! I love how our blog posts went hand-in-hand today!

  9. bethkvogt says:

    Sheesh. Anonymous is me, Keli. Don’t know why I wasn’t logged in.
    Sorry.

  10. Loree Huebner says:

    Wow! Thanks for the info…that’s amazing, Keli!

  11. i usually just google the title, hit “shopping” results, and find the cheapest price that way. i’m looking to buy melanie dickerson’s latest book, and when i typed it in on of the sites, it said i could get it for $1.89! i was stoked, clicked on it….and it was $8.99. [blows raspberry]

    but it’s always worth a try to save a buck!

  12. the writ and the wrote says:

    I tend to buy from Amazon, since I have a Kindle. I started using Amazon regularly in college when I was an English major and needed my books ASAP – they were always the fastest, even when buying from an outside seller. That being said, this is a great list and one that I will hang on to for future reference.

  13. Tonnie Heckathorn says:

    I had always purchased my books from a bookstore. Now that we have moved to the rural mts. the closest bookstore is over an hour away. I now purchase books online. Thanks so much for the web sites for price comparisons, they will be very helpful. Have a great week!

  14. Lots of fantastic information here, Keli!

Comments are closed.