Historical Romance Novels on Sale

If you’re a fan of inspirational historical romance and like a bargain, you’re in for a treat.

The following releases from the past are for sale on Amazon right now.

Some are sweet, some gritty, some fun-filled, but all are good.

I’ve read each of the books and recommend them.

• • •

A Bride Most Begrudging

by Deeanne Gist

$5.60

When Lady Constance Morrow finds herself held against her will aboard a ship bound for the American colonies—a ship filled with “tobacco brides” and felons—she is quite sure that as soon as she arrives she will find a reasonable man who will believe her father is an earl and send her back on the next ship to England. Instead she meets Drew O’Connor, a determined Colonial farmer who is nearly as headstrong as she is. Drew wins Constance as his bride but soon realizes he has taken on much more than he bargained for.

• • •

Courting Morrow Little

by Laura Frantz

$6.00

Morrow Little is haunted by the memory of the day her family was torn apart by raiding Shawnee warriors. Now that she is nearly a grown woman and her father is ailing, she must make difficult choices about the future. Several men–ranging from the undesired to the unthinkable–vie for her attentions, but she finds herself inexplicably drawn to a forbidden love that both terrifies and intrigues her. Can she betray the memory of her lost loved ones–and garner suspicion from her friends–by pursuing a life with him? Or should she seal her own misery by marrying a man she doesn’t love? This sweeping tale of romance and forgiveness will envelop readers as it takes them from a Kentucky fort through the vast wilderness to the west in search of true love.

• • •

The Frontiersman’s Daughter

by Laura Frantz

$5.60

Lovely but tough as nails, Lael Click is the daughter of a celebrated frontiersman. Haunted by her father’s former captivity with the Shawnee Indians, as well as the secret sins of her family’s past, Lael comes of age in the fragile Kentucky settlement her father founded. Though she faces the loss of a childhood love, a dangerous family feud, and the affection of a Shawnee warrior, Lael draws strength from the rugged land she calls home, and from Ma Horn, a distant relative who shows her the healing ways of herbs and roots found in the hills. But the arrival of an outlander doctor threatens her view of the world, God, and herself–and the power of grace and redemption. This epic novel gives readers a glimpse into the simple yet daring lives of the pioneers who first crossed the Appalachians, all through the courageous eyes of a determined young woman. Laura Frantz’s debut novel offers a feast for readers of historical fiction and romance lovers alike.

• • •

A Lady Like Sarah

by Margaret Brownley

$6.00

 She’s an outlaw; he’s a preacher. Both are in need of a miracle.

Sarah Prescott has never known a respectable life. Just a hardscrabble childhood and brothers who taught her to shoot first and ask questions later.

Justin Wells left Boston in disgrace, heading out alone on the dusty trail to Texas. But when the once-respected clergyman encounters a feisty redhead in handcuffs with a dying U.S. Marshal at her side, their journey takes a dramatic turn.

His high society expectations and Sarah’s outlaw habits clash from the start. With a price on her head and towing an orphaned baby rescued from the brink of starvation, Justin and Sarah make the difficult journey toward Rocky Creek. There, justice will be meted out. Perhaps–they hope–with a healthy portion of grace.

Filled with mishaps, laughs, and adventure, Margaret Brownley’s inspiring romance will keep readers cheering for Sarah as she struggles to become a true lady.

• • •

Maid to Match

by Deeanne Gist

Paperback Price: $6.00

From the day she arrives at the Biltmore, Tillie Reese is dazzled–by the riches of the Vanderbilts and by Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack’s rugged behavior by tutoring him in the ways of refined society, the resulting sparks threaten Tillie’s efforts to be chosen as Edith Vanderbilt’s lady’s maid. But the stakes rise even higher when Mack and Tillie become entangled in a cover-up at the town orphanage. They could both lose their jobs…and their hearts.

• • •

The Preacher’s Bride

by Jody Hedlund

$6.00

In 1650s England, a young Puritan maiden is on a mission to save the baby of her newly widowed preacher–whether her assistance is wanted or not. Always ready to help those in need, Elizabeth ignores John’s protests of her aid. She’s even willing to risk her lone marriage prospect to help the little family.

Yet Elizabeth’s new role as nanny takes a dangerous turn when John’s boldness from the pulpit makes him a target of political and religious leaders. As the preacher’s enemies become desperate to silence him, they draw Elizabeth into a deadly web of deception. Finding herself in more danger than she ever bargained for, she’s more determined than ever to save the child–and man–she’s come to love.

• • •

Scattered Petals

by Amanda Cabot

$6.00

Longing for adventure, Priscilla Morton leaves Boston and heads for Texas, never dreaming that the adventure she seeks will leave her badly injured and her parents dead. Priscilla is determined to rebuild her life and make a home for herself in the beautiful Hill Country. But the bandits who took her parents’ lives also destroyed her hope for the future. Ranch foreman Zachary Webster knows what the future holds for him, and it’s not a woman like Priscilla. She deserves a cultured East Coast gentleman, not a cowboy who’s haunted by memories of his mistakes. The best thing he can do is leave her alone. When necessity draws them together, Priscilla and Zach begin to forge a life that, like the scattered petals of her childhood, is filled with promise. But then the past intrudes, threatening their very existence.

• • •

A Suitor for Jenny

by Margaret Brownley

$6.40

Jenny Higgins is certain falling in love and finding a husband are matters of the mind. Her heart has other plans.

After their parents died, Jenny felt responsible for seeing that her two younger sisters were well taken-care of. Tipped off by an article naming Rocky Creek the town with the highest number of eligible bachelors, Jenny rolled into this Texas town with a clear objective: find suitable husbands for her two sister and then start fresh somewhere far, far away.

Jenny believe that women who fall in love at first sight often wish they’d taken a second look, so she diligently begins to follow all the rules set forth in her handy manual on how to land a husband.

But while Jenny is interviewing the less-than-promising candidates, her sisters are falling in love the old-fashioned way–with men of their choosing. And the longer Jenny stays, the more her sense of control slips away. The town isn’t living up to her expectations, her sisters are rebelling against her practical choices, and soon her own heart starts to betray her, as US Marshall Rhett Armstrong stirs emotions in her that weren’t part of her plan.

To relinquish her control to God and calm her restless spirit, she’ll need to give her foregone conclusions about marriage, love, and faith.

• • •

A Tailor-Made Bride

by Karen Witemeyer

Paperback price: $6.00

Jericho “J.T.” Tucker wants nothing to do with Coventry, Texas’s new dressmaker. He’s all too familiar with her kind–shallow women more devoted to fashion than true beauty. Yet, except for her well-tailored clothing, this seamstress is not at all what he expected. Hannah Richards is confounded by the man who runs the livery. The unsmiling fellow riles her with his arrogant assumptions and gruff manner while at the same time stirring her heart with unexpected acts of kindness. Which side of Jericho Tucker reflects the real man? When Hannah decides to help Jericho’s sister catch a beau–leading to uproarious consequences for the whole town–will Jericho and Hannah find a way to bridge the gap between them?

• • •

The first book on the list holds a special place in my heart. I remember vividly the day I spotted it on the shelf at my local Walmart. I’d never heard of Deeanne and didn’t realize until later that A Bride Most Begrudging was her debut novel, a fact that impressed me–and inspired me.

When I finished Dee’s book, the dream of being a writer I’d held in my heart since I was seven reasserted itself and wouldn’t let go. Six months later, I embraced that dream and began writing my first romance.

• • •

Which writers or books have influenced you?

Have any writers or their stories led you to pursue a dream?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Historical Romance Novels on Sale

  1. Gillian says:

    Be still my heart! On top of such wonderful stories, all those covers are so lovely. A Valentine’s treat, to be sure.

  2. Very nice list, Keli, and all right in my price range! 🙂 I’ve read The Preacher’s Bride and bought a copy for a friend too. I haven’t read any of these other authors, though I’ve been wanting to try Deanne Gist for some time now. Maybe this is the perfect opportunity! 😛

  3. I see some books I would like to read. What a compliment for Deanne to have helped inspire you as a writer through her story!

  4. duhpaynes says:

    I’ve read most of those 🙂
    Siri Mitchell is the writer who most influences me. Her stories are always seriously deep and have an essential value for today. Does that make sense?

  5. Those all look great and very affordable!
    Yes, there was a writer who influenced me. I can’t remember her name and sadly it seems like she might’ve stopped writing (or selling) but when I read her bio after picking up her fiction at church, I found out that the book was her first and she wrote it age 22. That inspired me (since I was 23) and that moment, combined with some other things, put me on my writing path. 😉

  6. bethkvogt says:

    Lovely, lovely covers. I think the art department has such fun with historical romances!
    Found some books to add to my To Be Read (TBR) pile too.
    I’m a Siri Mitchell fan, as well as Susan May Warren, Rachel Hauck –and reaching way back — L.M. Montgomery and Georgette Heyer.

  7. Loree Huebner says:

    I’ve read a few of them, and look forward to reading a few of them.What a list!

  8. I just read A Bride Most Begrudging and I’ll tell you it’s one of my favorites. I’m pretty new at reading historicals, so I have a few on your list I’ve jotted down. Thanks for sharing, Keli!

  9. the writ and the wrote says:

    Thanks for sharing this list, Keli. I’ve added them to my wish list and will check the library or if they show up free on Kindle. Normally, I’d take advantage of the sale and buy a few, but my book budget is $0 these days. I want so badly to support these wonderful authors, but it’s hard, on a good day, to make ends meet right now.

  10. Keli, what a great and thoughtful list of good reads! I love adding to my TBR list and with all you provide it threatens to fall on my head 🙂

  11. Thank you, Keli! There are some books here that I’ve wanted to read but couldn’t fit into my budget. I’m heading over to Amazon right now!

    Deanne Gist has been a big influence to me. I like her edgy style, and that she’s not afraid to write passionate stories with characters possessing real-life attitudes.

  12. Melissa Tagg says:

    Ooh, I’ve read about half of those books, but the other half…? I’m now salivating! 🙂 (Um, figuratively. Just realized that didn’t make a very nice mental picture.)

    I’m a huge Deeanne Gist fan!

    I can feel the money creeping from my account as I type… 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!

  13. Susan Mason says:

    Great list, Keli! I’ve read almost all of them and they are all certainly well worth the money!

  14. I’m finishing Maid to Match right now and am really enjoying it! The setting is so unique. Thanks for sharing these good reads, Keli!

  15. i’ve read most of these, but a few i haven’t, so i’m checking them out on kindle or ibookstore.

    the book that impacted my life was The Hawk and the Jewel by Lori Wick. I found it in one of those inspirational kiosks in a grocery store….and I gobbled it up in a day or so as a young teen. my first Christian fiction to read, and it certainly wasn’t my last. 🙂

  16. Good question. Definitely Francine Rivers. When I was a kid, Norton Juster. The Phantom Tollbooth remains one of my all-time favs.

  17. Darlene says:

    I would have to say the writers/books that influenced me have been Lucy Maude Montgomery, Anne of Greeen Gables and Loiusa May Alcott, Little Women as well as all of Jane Austen’s books. I enjoy them because of the strong female characters and have read them many times over the years. These stories encouraged me to finally write my Amanda travel/adventure stories and I hope that my main character comes across as a strong young woman.

Comments are closed.