Romance Reciprocated

Are you a romantic person? I am.

I love thinking up ways to add a bit of romance in my relationship with my husband.

Since Gwynly is a logical thinker and I’m a sentimental feeler, my efforts don’t always yield the expected results. Sometimes my attempts fall flat. Other times they’re flat-out fun.

While grocery shopping recently, I came across a display of cute little critters. Some looked like bumblebees, others like ladybugs. I couldn’t resist the latter and added one to my cart.

I took this cute little spotted fellow home, set him on Gwynly’s place mat, slipped a note in the clip serving as a foot, and filled the hidden pouch inside with a bag of peanut M&Ms, one of my guy’s favorite candies. Then I waited, unsure how he would react.

Gwynly got home, saw the toy on his place mat, and raised an eyebrow. He read the note, unzipped the secret compartment, and pulled out his treat. And then he grinned.

I done good! So good, in fact, that Gwynly took a real liking to the little fellow and awarded him the name Buggly.

Over the next couple weeks, I hid a variety of goodies inside Buggly. I’d found a way to show my hubby love in unexpected ways, and that made me happy.

One morning not long ago, I awoke, came to the kitchen, and found Buggly on my place mat. He held a note for me and was so full I wondered how Gwynly got the zipper closed.

Inside was a bag of raw almonds, one of the healthy snacks I like. Since I gave up most sweets years ago, Gwynly asked me several days before what I’d take on a hike in place of the M&Ms he puts in his pack. I gave him a few ideas and forgot about the conversation.

My hubby’s thoughtfulness didn’t stop there. As I examined the bag, I noticed some writing on it. He’d written a love note, one perfect for pun-loving me.

When I bought Buggly, I thought Gwynly might pooh-pooh my purchase. I had no idea he would like the little messenger as much as he does. And I certainly didn’t expect him to reciprocate and use Buggly to bless me.

Romance is, as I learned, catching. But this is one bug I’m happy to share.

• • •

Have you made a romantic overture and ended up being the recipient in return?

What is one of the nicest little romantic surprises you’ve received?

Can you recall a case of romance reciprocated in a story or movie?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Romance Reciprocated

  1. So sweet, Keli! 🙂 I love when I come home and unexpectedly find the kitchen cleaned. My “love language” is acts of service, so my husband really shows me he loves me when he does those types of things without me asking…especially when it’s on MY to-do list.

  2. I don’t know that I’m romantic in the same way you are but gifts do surprise me and make me thankful (for example, those little things I get from you every so often are wonderfully sweet!).
    I love when my hubs made me a candlelight dinner. It’s only happened twice in our marriage but I’m eagerly awaiting him doing it again. *grin*
    I should probably be more proactive about showing romantic overtures to my husband…Glad yours loved the gift. 🙂

  3. territiffany says:

    This is sooo sweet!!:) You guys are blessed for sure to be open enough to show your love through these gestures.
    My husband and I leave little notes and cut out hearts for each other now and then. I am not the most romantic person around nor is he but we try!

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    Oh, that’s just the sweetest thing! I love it…not only did your husband leave you a treat, but a treat you love. He took the time to think about something you’d like. So sweet!

  5. A swooning, sighful (is that word?) post! A big ole love, Keli! 🙂 I read it twice. lol

  6. Ha–love the “nuts about you” thing. I think your kindness inspired his! My husband has had a sinus infection for a couple of weeks, so when I was in the grocery store, I bought him the lemon curd he likes and some English muffins to put it on. It was a little thing, but I think it brightened his day. I need to find more ways to incorporate romance. But for him, I think a hug or headrub goes REALLY far, with his love language.

  7. Donna Pyle says:

    Awww, that is too sweet for words! It’s those little, unexpected surprises that keep the romance alive. I NEED a Bugly – the little guy is just too cute for words! 🙂

  8. Oh my word, you two are TOO cute, Keli! I love that you are still finding ways to be romantic with your hubby. Inspiring!

  9. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Too, too cute, Keli.
    And I love how your husband adjusted the expression of love so that it fit you.
    My husband learned the hard way to keep the romance alive in our marriage. After a few years of medical school, his efforts to romance disappeared. Part of me understood — he was one worn-out med student. Part of me missed the cards and flowers he used to give me. Here’s how Rob handled having the want-to but too little time. He went to the Hallmark store and stocked up on cards — I mean he bought quite a stash! Then he learned to use them as needed. We’ve talked about it through the years and he’s told me that he’s also told other younger married men his trick — and advised them to do the same.
    🙂

  10. Lynda K says:

    Such a sweet story….. and what a cute little bug, too! My work days are often longer than my husband’s, so he is forever leaving me little things to find when I return to my desk, each with a little note on a post-it. I have a collection of those notes, much to his chagrin, taped across the bottom of my computer monitor — those xx’s and oo’s really give me a welcome pick-me-up!

    Thanks for sharing your Bugly with us!

  11. My husband and I are more “acts of service” type people, so when I come home and he has done the dishes or vacuumed the floor, I am giddy. He owns a landscaping and lawn care business, which keeps him very busy during the summer, so once in a while I will cut the lawn before he gets home or pull weeds to surprise him and you’d think he came home to find a million bucks sitting in the driveway! When he does offer me a romantic gift, it is usually very unexpected and thus, extra special. Two years ago, two months after giving birth to our twins, I woke up on Mother’s Day with a beautiful box on my pillow – inside were a gorgeous pair of diamond earrings. It was so unexpected and so above anything I had ever hoped, I still hold it as a very dear moment in my heart. Thanks for sharing your “bug” with us – I loved the puns!

  12. I love your blog today, Keli. Am thinking your hubby is a very lucky man to have you loving him so much.

    I do little things all the time, but nothing newsworthy. The 366 days he spent in Vietnam I sent him a letter every day and a care package every two weeks on payday. I did get quite inventive with some of my posts and I know it helped him a lot.

  13. Well I already knew you were a hopeless romantic, Keli. But you have the one ingredient that a real romantic needs most … myrth. That it also got a similar reaction from your lovely spouse, is like icing on that darn cake you can’t eat. Think buttercream as you chew on almonds 🙂

  14. That is adorable!

    Yesterday my husband sent me a ‘thinking of you’ email, and it thrilled my romantic little heart. 🙂

  15. Don and I used to do the same thing, Keli. Makes me feel a kindred spirit with you today. One gift I gave him was a coffee cup with a small green frog on the bottom, hidden by whatever was in it. Don almost choked when he saw it, but exploded with laughter afterward. When the cup broke, he saved the frog and would put it somewhere he knew I’d find it. I found a tiny pink porcelain pig and set her down, snout to chin. We passed them back and forth from time to time, and it was always an “upper.”

    Miss Piggy

  16. Darlene says:

    My husband gave me a very touching birthday card today and a gift certificate to a spa. He seems to be getting more romantic as he gets older, which is very nice. Think I’ll keep him around!

  17. I love this! It has inspired me to do something romantic for my hubby. Sadly, I don’t do romantic things for him very often.

  18. Oh this touched my heart. Mr Kindness (my sweet pea) gave me a peck on the lips one day, and I said “save that for your mama”… and asked him if we could kiss during the day… that good kind of kiss that otherwise would only happen at night in the dark. He liked my idea! So we do… kiss that is.
    I learned a lot in my first marriage. I learned mainly what I don’t want, and now I am translating all that into what I do want. Thank goodness I have a willing partner to explore it all with me!

  19. Oh, this is adorable! Kudos to you, Keli, for finding a beautiful way to bless and love your husband. I’m as creative as making a batch of chocolate oatmeal cookies in this department. LOL!

  20. Sherrinda says:

    Oh my goodness!!! That is the cutest thing ever! I love hearing about marriages that still find time to show love for one another. It is awesome!

  21. this was one of the sweetest things ever! buggly bringing the romance to the gwyns. 🙂 awww.

    keeping romance alive and well is like tending to a fire. it takes time, attention, and persistence. i know things that i can do stir the embers, so to speak, as does my husband. i’ll just leave it at that. 😉

  22. That is so incredibly sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am a romance junky. Sadly, (but appropriately) my husband is not. But he DOES try super hard, especially on “big” occasions (although… that was after a few failed big occasions that ended up with a wife in tears… but I digress) And every once in a while, he’ll go out of his way and do something super unexpected, more so in our younger days (before we had 4 kids to run after and take up our time, ha!)

Comments are closed.