Friday Fun California Style

Let’s have fun seeing what you know about one of the highlights of California’s history.

I’m a native Californian. Now that I’m writing historical romances set in the Golden State, my fourth-grade California history lessons are coming in handy.

One event my classmates and I studied was the Gold Rush. I listened with rapt attention as our teacher told us about James Marshall’s discovery of the gold nuggets that sparked a mass migration as people from around the world headed for California’s gold fields.

James Marshall worked for “Captain” John Sutter, a man who played a significant role in the early days of California and forever left his mark on the state. A number of historic landmarks bear his name, including the one where Marshall discovered the gold.

At which of the landmarks pictured did Marshall find the nuggets? Cast your vote below.

Sutter Creek

Sutter's Fort

Sutter's Mill

• • •

To make this guessing game more fun, use only your current knowledge rather than performing a search on Google or making a dash for your reference books.

I’ll update the post over the weekend to include the answer, so you could check back Monday. I’ll also provide a link to this post at the end of next Friday’s quiz. If you view that post, you’ll be able to click the link and see which of the choices above is the correct one.

• • •

Update and Answer

James Marshall discovered the gold nuggets that launched the Gold Rush at Sutter’s Mill in Coloma, California.  He was Sutter’s partner and was overseeing the building of the mill on the South Fork of the American River. On the morning of January 24, 1848, Marshall made his history-making discovery when he was inspecting the mill’s tailrace.

For more information, visit the Coloma Valley Gold Discovery site.

Keli at the Sutter's Mill Monument marking the spot where James Marshall found the gold nuggets.

Close up of the plaque on the Sutter's Mill gold discovery monument.

Keli seated in what was the tailrace of Sutter's Mill on the American River, where Marshall found the gold nuggets.

• • •

Sutter’s Fort photo from Wikimedia Commons. Others taken by me or my husband.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Friday Fun California Style

  1. I love what you’re doing with your blog lately, Keli! Keep it up and Happy Friday to you!

  2. Ha ha. I didn’t know this was a real answer, I thought you were wanting a response for where to place it in your NEW novel. ❤

  3. Too fun! I loved these pictures. Seems like I read a book about Sutter. A novel. That will be bugging me all day, now! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. You are where my heart is – in my stories, too. My writing time period is the gold rush so I sorta had an easy one with this answer. Love the place. 🙂

  5. Being from Minnesota, we of course learned about the Gold Rush of ’49, but I don’t remember details – although Sutter sounds very familiar. Thanks for these trivia questions, not only are they fun, they are also informative! I voted for Sutter’s Creek – can’t wait to find out the answer!!

  6. Keli, I thought I remembered this one from an old B&W movie. Sutter’s Mill is what I picked. I await the results 🙂

  7. Great pictures, Keli. Thanks for giving more info about the Gold Rush. Have a great weekend!

  8. Another fun one. While I might google a point during a TV show, I would NEVER leave your blog to google it. 🙂

  9. Donna Pyle says:

    I’m amazed that you remember 4th grade history. I barely remember 4th grade. 🙂

  10. Cindy R. Wilson says:

    Loving Fridays at your blog, Keli! How fun.

  11. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Keli, You are such a fun, fun blogger!

  12. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks, thanks, thanks for your comments and encouragement, ladies. I’ve been trying to make my blog more reader-friendly instead of just writer-focused as it used to be. I was afraid my writer pals would skip out on me, but you’re more supportive than ever. I heart you!!!

  13. Sherrinda says:

    Love the Friday Fun! I vote was decided by the pretty picture of the mill! 🙂

  14. hmm. i’m not a native californian, so i’ll just go with my best guess…the mill. (my first hunch was the creek….b/c the movies always depict people finding gold in one. i believe they usually call them “cricks” right? but the pic you put up there was just of a town, but surely it was built around a crick. hmm….anxious to find out!

  15. Pingback: Friday Fun California Style | Keli Gwyn’s Blog | Marji Laine ~ Writer

  16. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who visited the post and took time to respond to the quiz. Nineteen of the twenty-five who responded guessed correctly. I’ve updated the post to show the answer and added photos of the actual gold discovery site.

  17. Pingback: Friday Fun Victorian Style | Keli Gwyn's Blog

Comments are closed.