Raining Romance

Sometimes my best romantic ideas are all wet.

Such was the case last week. Literally.

Knowing that St. Patrick’s Day fell on Saturday this year, one of the days Gwynly is able to join me when I hike my favorite trail, I planned a surprise for him.

The Tuesday before, I walked the six miles in the pouring rain. Not to worry. Since I plan to walk four days a week regardless of the weather, I’d purchased water-resistant gear.

Not a car was to be seen in the trail-head parking lot, but there was one happy hiker.

I pretty much had the trail to myself, which suited my purposes, because I was on a mission. Weeks before, I’d decorated a spot on the trail with Valentines’ Day goodies. Gwynly thought that was cool, so I planned to do the same for St. Patrick’s Day.

That Tuesday, I was packin’ plenty of green. Rather than trimming the trees and shrubs in one spot, I spread the holiday cheer along the entire three-mile section of the trail.

I hung three swirling streamers, one per mile.

I twisted three wire garlands around shrubs, again one per mile.

While the streamers and garlands were fun, my plan centered around the forty-eight shamrocks I suspended from trees and shrubs at frequent intervals. Since wind and more rain were predicted, I used cable ties to ensure that the decorations didn’t blow away.

Gwynly walked the trail Friday without me. He knew I’d hung the shamrocks, but he didn’t know the rest of my plan. Once again, a storm raged. He carried an umbrella, which may account for him seeing only one garland and a single shamrock out of all those I’d hung.

When Gwynly told me how few decorations he’d seen, I fought to hide my disappointment. My guy isn’t as into details as I am. (Few people are, I know. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I suspected vandals had pulled some shamrocks down, but I hoped they’d left more than Gwynly saw.

Saturday dawned dreary and cold, but Gwynly and I donned our rain gear and hit the trail. To my delight, we spotted nineteen of the shamrocks I’d hung. Each time we saw one, I gave Gwynly a reason why I’m lucky/blessed/happy to have him as my guy.

Gwynly was impressed at how many reasons I came up with, but what impressed him more was the time and effort I’d put into planning this surprise for him. That and the fact that I was walking in the rain and having a good time.

While life doesn’t always go the way I’d like, I’m learning to make the best of the situation. Rather than let the vandals or the wet weather ruin my surprise, I chose to proceed with my plan. Things turned out better than I hoped. You could say it rained romance that day.

โ€ข โ€ข โ€ข

What is a unique way you could list the reasons you’re grateful for your special someone?

How do you deal with the inevitable changes in plans that affect us all at times?

Do you walk or jog in the rain? If so, do you enjoy or endure the experience?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesโ„ข and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Raining Romance

  1. Melissa Tagg says:

    Oh, this is just the sweetest! I love it. I’m not married, but someday when I am, I want that kind of intentional romance.

    As for dealing with things when they don’t go as planned, I think I’m slowly getting better at that. Emphasis on the “slowly.” Honestly, the way I usually handle it is forcing myself to remind myself (yes, sometimes out loud) that God’s plans are ridiculously better than mine. (But, okay, fine, that usually doesn’t happen until I’ve pouted a bit first.)

  2. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Keli,
    This is one of the most romantic things–ever!
    You just put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!!

    One thing I did for my husband that revolved around numbers was for his 40th birthday: I wrote up “40 Reasons I Love Rob Vogt.” Then I asked a graphic artist friend to design a large poster, complete with photos of my husband, me, and other appropriate images to go with my 40 reasons. I framed it and gave it to my husband on his birthday. It hangs over his dresser in our bedroom.

  3. Lindsay Harrel says:

    This is sooo sweet, Keli! You are such a thoughtful wife. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like Mel, I’m slowly getting better at dealing with it when things don’t go according to plan. Because they often don’t, even though I’m the Queen of Planners. I try to remember that God’s plans are often better than our own…and to just have fun with whatever happens. And honestly, sometimes I just need some ice cream to cheer me up when things go awry. My hubby is happy to comply with that request. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I am pretty much in awe of you. You so so inspiring me to be more thoughtful and put more effort into making my hubby feel loved and appreciated. Wow, Keli. You are just….a big giant hug in a body.

  5. Awwww! Sadly I don’t even think of things like this. I love your phrase, “raining romance”. I love the rain and don’t mind walking in it. Not jogging because knowing me I’d fall on my face. lol

  6. Keli, you are so inspiring! ๐Ÿ™‚ What a fabulous idea. I love jogging/walking in the rain.

  7. I love the creativity you put into telling G. that you love him. Actions. They speak louder to most men. Thoughtful time-involved gesture. Now I need to get to it and brainstorm some ways for my man.
    ~ Wendy

  8. Keli, I am in danger of falling in love with love … or coveting your spouse ๐Ÿ™‚ What a wonderful idea and a great way to show love. You are the true romantic and I love how you live your craft. It means more than anything to know how deeply you feel each moment and cease the day !! Thaks for another great post and another wonderful insight into our loving marriage ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Donna Pyle says:

    Keli, you’re such a romantic! I love hearing stories of how you keep the romance alive in your marriage. Woo Hoo!

  10. Loree Huebner says:

    So romantic, Keli! It’s important to tell our loved ones just how much they mean to us, and how much they are loved. Awesome post. Stacking up years with Eric, I know how important it is to tell them what a blessing they are to us. They know it…but it’s good to hear it every now and then. Thanks for sharing your special moments…

  11. Another thoughtful post, Keli. No. I don’t walk or run in the rain…actually, my family forbids me walking in rain or snow due to my lack of grace and probable tumble. After three months of physical therapy on my knee, I listen now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do have something to post, though. You know I make quilts to give away. My hero was with me the other day while I was looking for just right material for one of my loved ones who is in the music business. I was his fan club president for fifteen years and want to donate a quilt to a benefit for him. Leave it to Ken, he found the most perfect fabric not only for the front frame with music notes all over it, but even more perfect for the back that includes all the points Kevin uses at the end of his performances. I made a big deal about how wonderful he was and how perfect everything, including the solids, was that I needed to make the most gorgeous quilt.Now that I almost have it done and love how it looks, he is getting a second dose of joy from me. It’s quite perfect and I am hoping it raises lots of money for the silent auction.

  12. Carol says:

    You really are an inspiration, Keli! I always think it’s the little things that keep sparks alive in a marriage, but the special things you undertake are anything but little. I’m never that imaginative! I do like walking in the rain, but I can’t walk long distances any more, thanks to the nuisance of arthritis. My hubby does a brisk daily walk with the dog, rain or shine, and I have coffee ready for him when he returns. Does that count?

    BTW Keli, Iโ€™ve tagged you in a Lucky 7 meme originally introduced to me by Laura Best. I don’t usually participate in such things, but this oneโ€™s fun. It’s an opportunity to introduce everyone to a few lines of your current work in progress. Iโ€™m hoping youโ€™ll play along. Come on over and check it out at my blog: http://bit.ly/GKxSWs

  13. What a wonderful way to buoy your man, Keli. More than what we normally think men need (hmmmm… what could that be?), they need appreciation. You showed Gwynly in a big way how much you appreciate him. I love it!

    And you know me, I’ve got my rain gear and run in the most awful weather. It’s refreshing and can make you feel like you can press on even when “cold, wind and rain” are coming at you.

  14. duhpaynes says:

    That is one of the sweetest things I have ever heard someone do! I have to admit I wouldn’t go that far. I’m not a walk in the rain person and I probably wouldn’t succeed in getting my honey too either! What we usually do is leave little notes around. I’ll put one in his lunch box, under his pillow, etc. He writes me messages on the mirror in the bathroom ๐Ÿ™‚ And once, he even wrote on the inside lid of the potty seat. Now that’s romantic ๐Ÿ˜‰ It did bring a huge smile to my face!

  15. Keli, I have to admit I thought of you and your husband this morning. We were talking about the Five Love Languages at my mom’s group this morning, and I thought of all the different ways you and your husband show love for each other. So inspiring. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. my husband is into fishing and the mountaineering. i’ve been known to tuck a card away in his backpack (and believe me, this is no easy feat since he guards it with his life while he’s measuring how much weight is in it).

    i hope he and i are just like you and gwynly. so sweet.

  17. What a sweet idea. You two sure do enjoy life. I was away visiting family in another province last week. Just before I left I exchanged my 8 year old cell phone for a smart phone and learned (with the help of my grandkids) to text. So all week my hubby and I were texting little notes to each other like “Love U”, “Miss U” “See you soon” “XO”, etc. It was fun and nice to know that after 35 years we still enjoy sharing sweet nothings.

  18. Sherrinda says:

    Keli!!! you are such a romantic! I think it is so cool that an empty nester makes romance a priority. Thank you for being such a good example for all of us!

Comments are closed.