Lighting the Way for Romance

What is more romantic than a candlelight dinner?

Not long ago, I had a busy day and was still hard at it when Gwynly got home from work. I eagerly accepted his offer to fix dinner. I’m not into cooking, so his willingness to take on this task made my day.

When Gwynly told me supper was ready, I was in for a surprise. He’d lit every candle on the table. Since we both like candles, there are quite a few. Lighting them takes a while, so we don’t do it that often.

Most of these candles were gifts from Gwynly.

Dining in the warm glow of the candles turned a simple chicken dinner into a special occasion. I hadn’t expected Gwynly to make such a romantic gesture, but I sure enjoyed his efforts on my behalf. He scored some serious mush points that night. πŸ™‚

In the days since, I realized that making time for romance in the midst of our busy schedules is important. Rest assured I’ll be lighting those candles more frequently.

β€’ β€’ β€’

Do you enjoy candlelight dinners? Do you arrange to have them often, or are they a rarity?

What would your special someone think if you prepared a candlelight dinner tonight?

What kind of candles are your favorites? Pillars, tapers, scented. . .?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lighting the Way for Romance

  1. Melissa Tagg says:

    Reading your sooo sweet posts on romance has convinced me I need to get married NOW. πŸ™‚ Hehehe…

    I love candlelight dinners…of course, that statement probably worries anyone who knows me and my history with fire. πŸ™‚

  2. Aw, so sweet!! And yes, I love candlelit dinners, but haven’t done one in ages…maybe that’ll be next on my list! Thanks as always for your inspiration.

    And Mel, whoever you marry is gonna be one lucky guy!!

  3. jessicarpatch says:

    I love candles! Scented are my favorite, but sometimes I like all different colors of votives lit up around my tub.

    We haven’t done a candlelight dinner in awhile. But when my daughter makes us dinner (she loves to cook and is very good) she always lights them. Then my 7 yr old son blows them out to tick her off. Not so romantic. LOL

  4. How sweet of your husband! πŸ™‚ Oh my, I LOVE candles! That is my one and only “splurge” in life, LOL. Where some women love to shop for clothes and shoes, I shop for candles. πŸ˜‰ Even though there are many scents I enjoy, Yankee Candle company has one called “Sparkling Pine” that I absolutely love! In fact I have one burning on my desk right now. πŸ™‚

  5. Keli, your romance posts are refreshing. At this stage in our life (with four young kiddos), candles are a hazard! But, last Christmas we did start a “Silent Night” tradition where we turned off all the lights and had a candlelight dinner with the children. It was a hit and something we plan to keep doing.

    My husband and I love camp fires and we are blessed to live along the Mississippi River. Last summer my husband built a beautiful patio and firepit about thirty feet off the river and at least one night a week during the summer we put the kids to bed and head out to enjoy an evening with our camp fire. I love those times together.

  6. So sweet! I’m not a big candle person because I’m always afraid I’ll burn the house down πŸ™‚ but I would never turn down a candlelight dinner.

  7. Donna Pyle says:

    Ahhh, there’s just something about candles that invites intimacy and romance. πŸ™‚

  8. We only have ONE candle in our house. How weird is that? So it would be a dark candle light dinner, but it would still be fun. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.