Friday Fun Victorian Style

What traditional food did the Victorians eat for breakfast on Good Friday?

Hot cross buns.

Today many bakers make the traditional cross on top using frosting, but Victorian bakers and those before them generally used one of two toppings. Can you guess what they were?

I’ve provided the number of letters and given the first and last.

l  __  __  __ n   c __  __  d

m  __  __  __  __  __  __  n

Many hot cross buns included one of two dried fruits. Can you guess what they were?

As before, I’ve given the number of letters, filling in the first and last.

c  __  __  __  __  __  __  s

r  __  __  __  __  __  s

You can leave your guesses in a comment.

I’ll update the post over the weekend to include the answer, so you could check back Monday. I’ll also provide a link to this post at the end of next Friday’s quiz.

• • •

Update and Answer

Congratulations on the great guesses. Erica was the first to get them all.

The toppings used were lemon curd and marzipan.

The dried fruits often found inside a hot cross bun were currants and raisins.

• • •

I’ve updated the Friday Fun post from last week. Click this link to see the answer.

Image from iStockPhoto.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday Fun Victorian Style

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Yum!!!! I think the answers are lemon curd, (I can’t figure out the next one), currants, and raisins. That is my guess. If I think of the other one, I’ll jump back in to answer. 🙂

  2. Sherrinda took my ENTIRE answer! Lemoncurd, can’t figure out the next one, currants and raisins.

    I had no idea about the hot cross buns but I know the little song b/c I sang it to my preschoolers! LOL

  3. bethkvogt says:

    Learning so much here on Fun Fridays …

    Hhhhmmm.
    I think #1 is lemon curd
    I am drawing a blank on #2.
    And I think #3 is currants and #4 is raisins.

    A blessed Easter to you, friend.

  4. Hot cross buns, hot cross buns. One a penny, two a penny, hot cross buns!

    Is that the song, Jess? 😉

    And yeah, I can’t figure out the second one either, but I’m with everyone on the lemon curd, currants, and raisins.

  5. Keli, I’ll make it 100% for lemoncurd, currants and raisins 🙂

    I’d like to share part of my Southern Italian Easter tradition. There are two pies and one bread that are a must. One pie is a sweet rogatta pie with currants and lemoncurd, bottom crust only; the second is a meat pie with four cheeses and three meats with top and bottom crust. This meat pie is often baked in a square pan and cut into pieces served as a side dish with a meal or for lunch.

    Our Easter bread is a sweet egg bread twisted into a circle or figure eight and into which the baker places four colored Easter eggs.

    Enjoy your holiday and Buona Pasqua 🙂

  6. Erica Vetsch says:

    I’m going to guess Lemon Curd, Marzipan, Currants, and Raisins. 😀 I have no idea if #2 is correct, but I think it fits.

    Have a blessed Easter season, Keli, and know that God’s love for you is even bigger than you think.

  7. Anne Payne says:

    I think Erica got them correct! I knew Lemon Curd, Currants and Raisins, but not the Marzipan 🙂

    Wishing you a blessed Resurrection Sunday!!!

  8. Lemon curd and marsipan

    raisins and currents

    Our Swedish daughter made them for us while she lived with us and we loved them. Guessing on the currents but remembered she asked for me to pick them up for something. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Friday Fun Victorian Style | Keli Gwyn's Blog

Comments are closed.