Romance: It’s for the Birds

I take romance seriously. I also take my need for exercise seriously. The two come together when Gwynly joins me on my frequent walks.

One day not long ago, we hiked the trail in the rain. Few people were out, but the birds were plentiful. We’d just started walking when I noticed a beautiful blue Steller’s Jay.

As we continued, we encountered a covey of quail scuttling across the trail, saw sparrows flit from tree to tree, and heard a riot of birdsong.

And then I saw a bird the most vivid shade of blue I’d ever seen perched in a pine. I talk to our cats, so it came naturally to me to call out. “Hello, birdie! What a vivid blue you are.”

My memorable sighting.

Gwynly gave me a “what are you doing?” look and burst out laughing.

Now, my guy has a good sense of humor and will laugh with me, but rarely does he laugh at me. And yet, that’s what he was doing.

Since I knew he wasn’t laughing because I was talking to a bird, I wondered what had caused him to crack up. His gaze darted from me to the branch I’d pointed out.

I stopped, turned, and studied the sight that had caught my eye. And I stared in disbelief.

The brilliant blue “bird” was not a bird at all. What I’d seen from a distance was a plastic bag that a pet owner had filled after a dog had done its deed and had flung into the trees.

Yup. I’d just complimented a packet of dog poop.

Um. Nope. That's definitely not a bird.

The humor of the situation struck me, and I burst out laughing.

When Gwynly and I passed by the spot on our return trip, he made sure to point out the “doo doo bird,” which he told me that he’s heard has replaced the extinct dodo bird. πŸ™‚

Doo doo bird dispenser

Our conversation on the return trip was much more lighthearted as we recounted my unique sighting than it was when we began. Each time I recall the incident, I’m reminded that romance doesn’t have to be a serious pursuit. Spending time laughing with my guy can be lotsa fun, too.

β€’ β€’ β€’

Do you and your special someone infuse your romance with laughter?

Do you have a funny story about the lighthearted side of romance that you can share?

Steller’s Jay image from iStockPhoto
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Romance: It’s for the Birds

  1. Now that’s hilarious!!!! LOL My husband does make me laugh. He’s pretty silly sometimes.

  2. Katie Ganshert says:

    I agree with Jessica! Too funny! Laughter is the BEST. Sometimes Ryan and I will be laying down at night, and we’ll get super goofy, and just laugh hysterically. Like stomach-hurting-tear-inducing laughter. There’s nothing like it.

  3. joannebischof says:

    Too funny! What a great story. My honey and I love to have fun and laugh. We are best buddies and are always cracking one another up. I love how you guys have your special walks together. Happy sight seeing πŸ˜‰

  4. Lisa Jordan says:

    LOL! What a great way to giggle while spending time together. Hubby and I laugh a lot together–he has a witty sense of humor…and I’m goofy enough that he laughs at the dumb things I do, but it’s all good. Being able to laugh at the private jokes and subtle moments enhances our relationship. Others may not get it, but we do, and that’s what counts. πŸ™‚

  5. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Oh, Keli.
    I am sitting in my den at 6 a.m. laughing out loud … surprised I’m not waking up my sleeping family.
    Too, too funny.
    I will never look at a, um, “doggie bag” the same way again.
    I have always told my daughters to marry someone like their dad — and one of the things my husband does best is make me laugh. He can laugh with me — and he is one of the few people who can laugh at me.

  6. wendypainemiller says:

    Love it! Like a scene right out of our lives! I love that you pulled a Mary Poppins and spoke to the bag of poop (unknowingly of course). The real laugh would have been if the poop talked back! πŸ˜€

    ~ Wendy

  7. Melissa Tagg says:

    It’s possible I’ve got tears in my eyes from laughing at this!!! I love laughter, and when combined with romance, it’s pretty much the best. πŸ™‚ Love it!!

  8. cynthiaherron says:

    Keli, this was so funny I had to go take a bathroom break! (Seriously.) What a great start to the day!

    There’s always something humorous going on at our house. My DH is more the studious type, so when he says something that’s laced with humor or irony it really gets a chuckle.

  9. Erica Vetsch says:

    Oh yes, laughter is definitely part of romance. My DH makes me laugh all the time.

    You and Gwynly made my day today with your story. πŸ™‚

  10. Donna Pyle says:

    Bwah haaa haaaa!!! Oh, that story just made my day. You are too precious for words, Keli!!

  11. Okay… did you fetch the little “birdie” and deposit it in the nearest “cage?” Had to ask. &-D

  12. Keli Gwyn says:

    I wish there was a like button on the comments, because I’d be clicking away today.

    And no, Chris, I didn’t fetch the “birdie.” The unique creature is still on its perch way above my head. I chuckle every time I see it. But not to worry. This particular breed of bird is 100% degradable, or so say the words on the dispenser. I certanly know what’s inside is organic. πŸ™‚

  13. Loree Huebner says:

    Oh Keli, that story is sooo funny!
    My hubby and I hike. We do birding together in the spring and fall migration seasons. I’ve never spied a blue poopie bag. Great find! LOL!

  14. MaryC says:

    As someone who has carried many of those “blue birds” I found this hilarious. Can’t wait to share with my dog-walking partner husband. We do laugh a lot together. There’s almost nothing I love more than watching him laugh except some times it gets scary because he’s laughing SO hard I’m afraid he’ll pop.

  15. Gwen says:

    HAHAHAHA!!!! Oh my gosh! Hilarious! I agree, Keli, romance happens in the humorous as well as sentimental moments. Thanks for sharing the laugh! No stories come to mind, but my hubby is always making me laugh with the things he says. πŸ™‚

  16. that’s pretty stinkin’ hilarious….pun intended. πŸ™‚

  17. jessicarpatch says:

    That’s hilarious! Romance and laughter go hand-in-hand at our house! πŸ™‚ Loved this story!

  18. Keli, I loved that story πŸ™‚ That being said … it is so very special to have a touch of humor and laughter in a relationship. One more reason you are such a lucky gal !!

  19. pattisj says:

    That is funny, Keli! I’m forever looking at birds, but I’ve not seen one of those. πŸ™‚ Just having fun together is romance in my eyes. I’m sure we have a funny story or two, but I can’t pin one down right this moment.

  20. Carol says:

    Oh. My. Goodness!!! Keli, that’s absolutely hilarious! As a dog breeder, trainer, show exhibitor, etc, I can’t tell you how many of those ‘goodie bags’ I’ve dealt with. But I have never, NEVER tossed one into a tree, or found one there. My hubby and I aren’t ones to do a lot of out-loud laughing, but that would get us going, for sure! The photos are priceless!

  21. Anne Payne says:

    You crack me up!
    My husband has a great sense of humor. I was always more serious, but he’s sort of rubbed off on me, you know. His funny bone is now my funny bone πŸ˜‰

  22. Sherrinda says:

    LOL…oh my goodness, Keli! That is so funny! I totally agree that humor and romance are a GREAT mix! (It mixes almost every day in my home!)

  23. jillrkemerer says:

    Ha! Ha!! Oh my goodness, Keli, this is sooo funny! My husband and I have always shared laughter–he’s really funny! Sometimes, if I’m in a bad mood, we’ll watch House Hunters (my fave show!) and mock the “I can’t buy this house because I don’t like the door fixture” comments.

  24. Joanne says:

    Oh my word. Keli, that’s hilarious. And, because I know you…it’s even funnier. I can just imagine the expression on your face!

Comments are closed.