Friday Fun Victorian Style

Early in my debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, widow Elenora Watkins and her nine-year-old daughter, Tildy, meet the hero, a mercantile owner named Miles Rutledge. Tildy asks Miles if he sells candy, which he assures her he does.

Miles, Elenora, and Tildy proceed to Rutledge Mercantile, where Tildy is delighted to find several jars of candy on the counter, one of which includes her favorite: peppermint sticks.

Following are four more candies that may or may not have been available in a shop like the fictional Rutledge Mercantile in 1870, the year my story takes place.

Which of the four candies do you think existed in 1870?

(Disregard the modern packaging, which could be misleading.)

You can leave your guess in a comment.

Butterscotch

Caramels

Necco® Wafers aka Candy Lozenges

Taffy

I’ll update the post over the weekend to include the answer, so you could check back Monday. I’ll also provide a link to this post at the end of next Friday’s.

• • •

Update and Answer

Guess what? Everyone who guessed is correct!

Yup. All four of the candies shown were available in 1870.

The Necco® Wafers were called candy lozenges at the time. They first appeared in 1847 when Oliver Chase, a young English immigrant invented the first American candy machine, a lozenge cutter. He and his brother, Silas founded Chase and Co., which became the first member of the New England Confectionery Company (NECCO).

• • •.

I’ve updated the Friday Fun post from last week.  You can click this link to see the answer.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Research and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Friday Fun Victorian Style

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Hhhhhmmm, I think taffy. I’m not sure why, but it seems I read about taffy in a historical book once. Or maybe that was caramel! lolol….no, I think it is taffy. 🙂

  2. jessicarpatch says:

    I think Taffy but my second choice would be caramels (which I happen to L.O.V.E.!)

  3. Anne Payne says:

    Definitely Butterscotch, I hope 🙂 Does the answer have more than one candy?

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Anne, I’m going to be sneaky and suggest you read the question I asked carefully with the word “one” in mind. 🙂

      • Anne Payne says:

        Well, you know I have some “duh” moments! I’m sticking with butterscotch, even though my son says I should change to taffy. I’m used to being wrong 😉

  4. wendypainemiller says:

    Caramels.
    ~ Wendy

  5. Melissa Tagg says:

    I’m going to say Taffy…for no other reason than I love it! 🙂

  6. Beth K. Vogt says:

    I’m going with taffy.
    And thank you, Keli, for waking up my sweet tooth.
    🙂

  7. cynthiaherron says:

    Keli, I think it’s taffy. I recall “taffy pulls” being mentioned from time to time in historicals. (And wouldn’t you know, my stomach just growled!)

  8. Cindy says:

    I was thinking either caramel or taffy. Think I’m going to go with the taffy.

  9. I’m going to go with the Necco Wafers. I remember reading something on the package years ago that the company was over 100 years old.

  10. Taffy is my favorite so am going with it.

  11. I’m going with taffy. I made it a lot when I was in high school, and it’s pretty simple.

  12. Fun post, Keli! And my guess will be caramels. 😉

  13. diannechristner says:

    Sweet post 😉 Butterscotch?

  14. jeanniecampbell says:

    i’m going with butterscotch. Necco has been around forever, too. methinks you made this difficult on purpose….

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Jeannie, I actually meant for this question to be easy. As I said in my reply to Anne’s comment, take careful note of the question I asked with regard to the word “one.” Do you see it? Or not? 🙂

  15. My gut says butterscotch, but I do remember reading about Taffy pulling in historical books, as well.

  16. Marji Laine says:

    I had trouble with this question because I thought that a few of these were around in the 1870s. So I’m not going to choose just one candy as my answer. I think Caramel, Taffy, and Butterscotch were all available at that time. I think the Necco wafers are from closer to the turn of the century.

  17. Keli Gwyn says:

    Update and Answer

    Guess what? Everyone who guessed is correct!

    Yup. All four of the candies shown were available in 1870.

    The Necco® Wafers were called candy lozenges at the time. They first appeared in 1847 when Oliver Chase, a young English immigrant invented the first American candy machine, a lozenge cutter. He and his brother, Silas founded Chase and Co., which became the first member of the New England Confectionery Company (NECCO).

  18. Pingback: Friday Fun Victorian Style | Keli Gwyn's Blog

Comments are closed.