Romance: It’s All in a Name

Honey. Sugar. Sweetheart.

These are but a few of the terms of endearment many couples use.

But not Gwynly and me. We’ve come up with some of our own.

My guy often calls me Wifely, and I call him Hubbly. Yeah, I know. Really original.

Early in our marriage, we coined two terms of endearment I’ve never heard anyone else use. They stemmed from the traditional “Dear,” but grew into something unique.

I’ve always been one to make up words. That was one of the ways my creativity found release in my pre-writing days. Gwynly learned this while we were dating, so it came as no surprise to him that “Dear” morphed into “Dear-face” soon after we were married.

What was surprising was Gwynly’s response. I knew he had a sense of humor, but I’d yet to see it show itself in wordplay. He took my “Dear-face” and changed it into “Deer-face,” which led to a pet name I can’t believe I’m admitting in the intimacy of the Internet.

And what is the clever name Gwynly’s gal answers to?

Doe-buns.

Now most women might not find being likened to Faline’s backside romantic, but since I’m sure Bambi found that particular attribute of hers attractive, I’m fine with the name.

β€’ β€’ β€’

What pet names do you and your special someone use–that you’ll admit to in public? πŸ™‚

If you’re not married, what special names were you called as a child?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesβ„’ and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Romance: It’s All in a Name

  1. Sherrinda says:

    LOLOL…oh Keli, I love it! That is awesome! (And thanks for sharing such an, ahem, intimate endearment! You would think with an name like mine I’d have a nickname, but I don’t. My dad had a pet name for me and he will still use it from time to time…Rinda-bird. πŸ™‚

  2. juliejarnagin says:

    Doe-buns. – Ha! I love it.

  3. jessicarpatch says:

    Love it! TP (a nickname I call my husband. Initials, real original but I’m the only one who does it) calls me “baby” but I notice it’s mostly when I frustrate him and he’s answering me. LOL

  4. Keli, you and your hubby once again cheer and delight us. I don’t think anyone could have ever thought of Doe-buns as a term of endearment. Can’t even begin to top those and mostly it was sweetie or silly stuff like honey buns. You and Gwynly rock πŸ™‚

  5. So cute!!! So, my husband HATES being called “hubby,” which I find sad. But I do as he asks. Sigh. I think his main term of endearment for me is “Love”. It’s pretty sweet. I think I just call him “hon” or “babe.” Yeah, not original at all.

  6. This is AWESOME! Doe-buns. Oh my goodness – totally classic.

    I love this post. Mainly b/c I call my son all kinds of weird, affection names that maybe don’t sound affection to others. Like I call him Stinky a lot. I did it while picking him up from preschool the other day right in front of the teacher and I wondered if she thought I was whacked. I said, “Come on, Stinky man, let’s get your backpack.”

    I also call him Bugs, B-man, Buggerboo, Stinkerdink, Baby-love, and Lovey

    I pretty much call my husband Hot Cakes. Just kidding. But I do think he’s pretty darn smokin’

  7. Erica Vetsch says:

    You are so funny! I love it!
    I’m afraid we’re not super original as a couple. He calls me Sweetie, I call him Honey. (Though I kidded him that as a diabetic, I might start calling him Splenda…)

    I call my daughter Dolly and Dollface, and my son is Furball or Jamester.

  8. wendypainemiller says:

    Just found a new name for my man…doe-buns! Loving this beyond words! πŸ˜€

  9. Casey Herringshaw says:

    LOL! I seriously love this post, Keli! My parents have never been one for endearments toward the other, but they’ve given us kids cute names. I was “bug” (thus Bug’s Beads ;-)) My sister was “mouse” because she made said noises in her sleep and my brother the caboose…he doesn’t have a name come to think of it.

    I hold a not-so-secret desire to be Babe someday. πŸ˜‰

  10. Melissa Tagg says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. I loved this…LOLed for sure! πŸ™‚ Doe-buns!!

    I’m not married (yet) but I’ve had nicknames for sure:
    May (as in Maytag the brand)
    Milbo Taggins (Bilbo Baggins)
    Milly (I guess “Milly” is England’s version of “Missy.” I always balked when people tried to shorten my name to Missy, but Milly I didn’t mind…probably because it was said in an English accent…the Brits could’ve called me about anything and I would’ve loved it.)
    And now, the nickname I hear every single day at work: Sparky. (Because of a little incident I had with the microwave a couple years ago)

  11. Hahahaaaaa! That’s hilarious!!! And very, very cute. My hubs has funny names for me, things I can’t even spell. lol I’m trying to think of one he called me for a long time but it’s escaping me right now. Anyway, mostly I just call him Lover, which I picked up from an ex-step-mom. I thought it was sweet. πŸ™‚

  12. Brianna Soloski says:

    I cannot believe I’m admitting this, but my brother used to call me Boo-Boo when he was little because he couldn’t say Brianna. Nobody calls me that now. In fact, nobody outside my family even knows about that nickname. Now, I don’t really have any nicknames, other than Bri.

  13. Loree Huebner says:

    So funny, Keli!

    I call Eric, Huebie, and he calls me Poo.

  14. cynthiaherron says:

    Soooo sweet! Ahhh, the romance that ooozes here! (And your secrets are safe with us! πŸ˜‰ ) Keli, you MUST use this in a future book!

    Hubby calls me “Dear.” I call him, “Babe,” and “Sweetie.”

  15. LOL, Nothing that creative here. πŸ™‚

  16. Donna Pyle says:

    Doe-buns!! Awwwww!! How very sweet.

  17. There’s just no way I’m sharing…one must always strive for politeness on the innerwebs. But my childhood nickname? Freckle Face Strawberry. I’m a redhead. My nose burned all the time. I call my eldest son ‘Runt’. He’s 6 foot 2.

  18. my husband and i aren’t very original, i guess. “babe” or “hon” for each of us.

    now my little girl gets all the good ones: sweet cheeks, goose egg (as i am the goose), tina (from Napoleon Dynamite…”eat the food, tina!”) and smalls (as in the Goonies – “you’re killing me smalls!). she loves them all. πŸ™‚

  19. Martina Bedregal CalderΓ³n says:

    Doe -buns…hehehehe πŸ˜‰

    In my youth everybody, including teachers and friends , called me “Pinky”, some still do it nowadays…lol.

    My boyfriend calls me “wood-fairy” as I love the forests and trees and we often walk in the forests. Haha, “wood-hobbit” would suit me better, as I have put some pounds of weight on and am smaller than my boyfriend πŸ˜‰

  20. Becky Doughty says:

    A most en-deer-ing post, Keli!
    My husband Kevin gave himself a French version of his name when he was a kid and it’s become a favorite of ours: Kevonne-Devonne-JeBleu. I love to introduce him that way – puts people right at ease. πŸ™‚

  21. Cute post, Keli! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing these “intimate details” with us today.;) My precious Daddy always used nicknames, so I have inherited his habit. ~ Since my husband’s name is Hugh I sometimes call him Hubert (just a variation on his name, I guess–not super original). ~ And both my sons-in-law call me CatMom—which I LOVE! πŸ™‚ (guess it’s appropriate since I’m the “cat lady” to all who know me, LOL)

  22. Carol says:

    Oh, my, that’s special, to be sure! We’re not very original with pet names … mostly we call each other “hon” or I might call him “RC” which are his first two initials. I have a multitude of names for the grandchildren, however — pumpkin, munchkin, Looby-Lou, pixie-face, and skookum-guy, to name a few.

  23. Pingback: W is for Wonder-Wench | BRAVEHEART

  24. Ha ha ha! That is hilarious! We have our own nicknames, too – ones that wouldn’t make sense to anyone. (For example, I’m Bob, as in Bride of Bonzo.)

Comments are closed.