Talking Romance with Katie Ganshert

I’m delighted to have Katie Ganshert as my guest today. She’s a talented author with her debut novel, Wildflowers from Winter, just beginning to hit shelves across the country. She’s also my agency mate and a treasured friend.

In addition to being a published author, Katie is a busy wife and mother. Because an empty nest romance is a lot different from that of a young mom, I invited Katie to talk about what romance looks like in her chapter of life. (Lest you think I bribed her to say good things about me by offering her a shipment of chocolate, let me assure you, that is not the case. However, I think she deserves some anyhow. :-))

Take it away, Katie. . .

Keli Gwyn has been a source of inspiration. A wonderful reminder that romancing the one we love is an important part of marriage. A wonderful reminder that just because he’s a dude, the romantic responsibility does not rest on his shoulders alone.

But I will be the first to admit…

In the midst of the craziness that is launching my debut novel and planning an adoption fundraiser and taking care of my wild-child of a son, finding time to romance my hubby can get lost in the hustle and bustle of the daily grind.

I don’t think this romantic challenge is unique to women with a book coming out. I don’t think it’s unique to women who are adopting. I think any woman who has a young one (or two or three or four) at home struggles to find ways to keep the romance alive.

But like I said, Keli Gwyn has been an inspiration.

Thanks to her, I’ve been much more cognizant of romance. Much more intentional about searching for ways to show my husband that I love him, that he means the world to me, that I couldn’t do this thing called life without his love and support.

And as I search for opportunities, I’ve realized romance doesn’t have to be big. Grand gestures are great, but equally so are an accumulation of small ones.

Like pausing to give my husband a good kiss. Not a mindless, habitual kiss that happens when I’m running out the door or he’s off to work. But a good kiss. The kind of kiss Jennifer K. Hale talks about on her blog.

Like leaving my husband quick little love notes in his lunch. Sure, those Post Its are great for plotting. But they have other uses too.

Like texting him in the middle of his work day to let him know how much I love him and respect him and appreciate him. What a wonderful husband he is. What a wonderful father. Or sometimes a simple, “U R hot” works too. 🙂

Like picking up one of his favorite treats at the grocery store, then surprising him with it after dinner.

Like taking the time to flirt.

Not only are these small gestures super beneficial for our marriage, they’re great for our son too. The other night, Ryan and I got into a very playful wrestling/tickling match. We were laughing hysterically while Brogan observed from the couch.

When I glanced over at my son, he had the most precious smile on his face.

Our children want to see us acting “in love.” They also need to see that staying “in love” doesn’t just happen. It takes effort. It takes intentionality. And it’s totally, 100% worth it.

• • •

I featured Katie on my blog not long ago. I invite you to visit that post,”Welcome Author Katie Ganshert,” to learn more about her and her debut novel. And if you haven’t read her moving story, Wildflowers from Winter, I highly recommend that you get a copy and find out for yourself why readers are posting rave reviews by the dozens.

Katie is hosting a blog hop this week, which she explained in her post, “Creating Buzz and Spreading Hope.” Since she does just that in Wildflowers from Winter, she’s invited bloggers to share “beauty from pain” stories from their real lives.

I debated joining Katie’s blog hop, because I like to keep my blog upbeat. Not only that, but I’ve suffered some real hurts in years past and don’t like to dwell on them. However,  because I want to support Katie, I’ll be sharing one of my “wildflowers from winter” stories in a rare Thursday post. It’s my hope that hearing how the Lord led me through a tough time and blessed me beyond belief afterward will serve as an encouragement to others.

So, until tomorrow. . .

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Guests, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Talking Romance with Katie Ganshert

  1. jessicarpatch says:

    Excellent words of wisdom, Katie. Keeping the marriage alive is vital. Keli has been an inspiration to me as well!

    Can’t wait till tomorrow, Keli! 🙂

  2. Katie and Keli … you both know how much I loved Katie’s story and how I look forward to Keli’s story as well. You have been a light at the end of a long, dark tunnel for many and you continue to shine as living examples of the true heart and soul of our craft. Thanks 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I cannot wait to read Keli’s book. I read some of the sneak peek on Amazon and already know I will really enjoy this one!

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Florence, it’s easy to see why you loved Katie’s story. Wildflowers from Winter is powerful, moving, hope-filled. It’s the kind of book that will stay with you long after you read the last page.

  3. wendypainemiller says:

    Love the two of you! Yep, yup I do.

  4. territiffany says:

    Katie, thanks for sharing how you keep the romance going! Love some of your ideas. I do the calls and notes but need to start giving more of those kisses!

  5. Keli and Katie- two of my favorite people! 🙂 Thanks for mentioning the blog, K. 🙂

  6. juliejarnagin says:

    I just got my copy of Katie’s book in the mail yesterday. I can’t wait to start reading it.

  7. Katie, I love your simple reminders to romance your husband. I’m in the same boat as you, a mother with little ones at home. I agree that one of the best things we can do for the health of our marriage and family is be intentional about flirting and loving each other in front of our children. My seven and five year old girls especially love to see my husband and I hugging each other – they pretend to be grossed out as they cover their eyes, but I can see their little green eyes peaking at us between their fingers.

    Keli, I really debated whether or not to join Katie’s Wildflowers from Winter blog hop, too. Sharing a painful experience, for all the world to see, is daunting, to say the least. My own story was very personal and not many people outside my immediate circle even knew what was going on. But as I sat down and wrote my story over the past couple of days, I am amazed and blessed at God’s timing. I’m excited to share His words, and my heart, with everyone tomorrow. And I am looking forward to reading your story, too.

    • Keli Gwyn says:

      Gabrielle, I look forward to reading your Wildflowers from Winter story. I’m sure the Lord will use it in a mighty way and that many will be blessed by it.

  8. How fun that Katie’s on both of our blogs today, Keli! 🙂

    And Katie, I totally get you on the romance can be hard to come by…and I don’t even have kids yet! Life is busy, but romance in marriage is a priority. Keli inspires me too!

  9. Keeping the fires burning is most essential!! It isn’t easy after 25 yrs of marriage, but we do try to make time for one another at least once a week.

    Thanks for the reminder!!

  10. cynthiaherron says:

    Katie, I can’t wait to read Wildflowers from Winter! The stories you’ve shared on your blog are so encouraging and I know have blessed many.

    Looking forward to your story tomorrow, Keli.

  11. Loree Huebner says:

    So important to keep the love light glowing…always.

    Love watching your writing journey unfold, Katie. I’m cheering you on!! Congrats on your success!

  12. It’s been so fun to be here today, Keli! And so fun reading everybody’s encouraging comments!

  13. Donna Pyle says:

    You are both amazing encouragers and it’s so exciting to celebrate your debut book launches with such cool peeps! Hugs… 🙂

  14. Very nice post ladies! I am glad to know that the silly little things I do for my hubby, like the spur of the moment treats, the silly notes in his lunch sack or stuck to the steering wheel in his truck, or buying his favorite flavor of ice cream once in a while, are not a waste of time. I try to make them regularly random if there is such a thing.

    One time I tried to surprise him with a “day off from work date,” but he got so suspicious and nagged me to death about what I had planned it turned out to be not as much fun as I had hoped. I just planned on lunch and an afternoon movie, but he insisted that I tell him what my plan was or he wasn’t going to take the time off work to go with me. Sort of deflated my balloon, but we still have a nice day off. Don’t know what he thought I had planned, but he was sure worried!

    Keli, your new pictures and site are awesome. I’m going to stop by at least one, maybe two of your book signing engagements too.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  15. Sherrinda says:

    I love your ideas, Katie! (I’ve been known to do a few of them!) I’m about 2/3’s through your book and am loving it. What a beautiful writer you are…really beautiful. I’m sure you will have a long an lustrous career. 🙂

    Keli, you sure do give Katie a run for her money in the romance department! You inspire me!

  16. i LOVE the goofy face my daughter has when she spies us doing things a couple in love do. i could just picture brogan’s face….there’s something magical and enthralling about our parents doing that stuff. 🙂 love it, love it.

  17. Cheryl McKay says:

    Love this article. 🙂 I just did the “Post Its” in my husband’s lunch just 2 days ago. And found a cute purple post it back to me this morning on top of my laptop. Great things for this newlywed to keep in mind as time progresses. Thanks for sharing. And Keli, look fwd to reading your Wildflowers From Winter post.

Comments are closed.