Romance by the Light of the Moon

This past Saturday morning as I lay on the couch checking email on my laptop, Gwynly was on his over at the kitchen table doing research on something he referred to as the Super Moon. Although he was excited about this special event, I didn’t know what it was.

Gwynly was happy to educate me. He explained, in true science teacher fashion, that a Super Moon occurs once each year when the moon is at the closest traveling point to the earth, causing the milky orb to appear 14% bigger and 30% brighter than other full moons.

My guy invited me to take a top-down drive that night in his classic British sports car, a 1968 MGB roadster, so we could witness the astronomical extravaganza together. Being a romantic at heart, I was delighted at the prospect and quickly accepted his offer.

Around 8 p.m. Pacific time, the moon appeared on the horizon. While it was quite bright, I wouldn’t have noticed that it was any bigger if Gwynly hadn’t told me that was the case.

At 8:34 p.m. Pacific time, the moon reached perigee–the closest point. The people around us oohed and aahed, camera’s clicked, and Gwynly grinned. My guy was in his element.

What did I do? I snapped a few shots of my own, but mostly I watched my usually staid fellow get more outwardly excited than he has in a long time.

And I smiled. Why? Because Gwynly had spent hours anticipating our moon-watching excursion, one he considered quite romantic, and yet we were witnessing the spectacle from a park-and-ride just off the freeway. The lot was littered with construction cones and barricades. My shots above were taken through a chain link fence, which I cropped to remove the numerous highway signs.

Lest you think me ungrateful or unappreciative, that is not the case. I understand my guy and found his eagerness to share this event with me quite romantic. The setting was irrelevant really. Just being with Gwynly on a date he’d planned made it special.

While the actual moon viewing didn’t do that much for me, the drive home under the stars with the Super Moon bathing the night sky with light was romantic indeed.

• • •

Did you and your special someone view the Super Moon together?

Do you have any moonlit night memories you’d be willing to share?

When’s the last time your special someone planned a date all on his/her own?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Romance by the Light of the Moon

  1. Sherrinda says:

    Awwww, how romantic! And I love the car!!!!! How cool is that?!?! So, did you two share a kiss with all those people around? 🙂

  2. wendypainemiller says:

    My guy was traveling for business during the Super Moon. Would you believe this is the first year I’ve ever heard of this? And it seemed to explode–the idea of the moon being so, so near. I’m a star woman myself. Some nights I step outside and they take my breath. Steal it right away.
    ~ Wendy

  3. We stepped outside and looked for it, but a tree blocked it. Then we went out later and stood there in our driveway for a few minutes hugging and looking. It was very sweet. I agree though; it didn’t appear bigger, just brighter.

  4. Nope, we didn’t. But I did notice how exceptional it appeared and pointed it out to my boys. I just didn’t know it was a super moon until the next day. lol

  5. One of my best friends is a meteorologist. She would’ve loved it. Like you, I would’ve enjoyed the time with my hubs and the stars overhead. 🙂

  6. jennifermajor says:

    It RAINED during the Super Moon! Bleck. I was so disappointed. Moonlit memories eh? Hmmm. There was one time at Bible camp when a bunch of us female staff went skinny dipping when the phosphorus was quite active. Okay, pay attention…Phosphorus GLOWS in the dark, you can find it in the ocean. We snuck out and walked a half mile to the secluded beach… it was dark…the moon was out…our hair filled with thousands of tiny phosphorescent beads…we’d go under and come up and just GLOW! It was amazing. We were out in the ocean, glowing like mermaids and ………….the guys hiding on the shore loved every minute of it. Just so you know, I can tread water for A LONG TIME.

    😉

  7. Keli, the very fact that your guy was so excited and you shared that, made the moon as super as it could get. One of the best moon drenched dates was me and my then boyfriend (who I eventually married) driving out to Kennedy Internatinal Airport, parking on a bluff and lying on the hood of the car watching the stars and the lights of the planes arriving and departing.

    BTW … I feature your guy’s car … the MGB Roadster in a book I am doing. What a classy ride she is indeed 🙂

  8. Melissa Tagg says:

    I think it’s fun when we can delight in the delight of others. I’ve had those times when I honestly didn’t care so much about something…but a friend did…like, REALLY did…and it was fun to watch and participate in.

    Love that car, too!

  9. jennifermajor says:

    As for romantic dates? PLANNED ahead? Without me asking? Or for no reason? Let me get back to you on that…but please tell Gwynly I like his car.

  10. Beth K. Vogt says:

    My hubby mentioned the moon … even took a photo of it. But I was exhausted from a book launch celebration and we were out with family at a birthday celebration, so my reaction was a bit subdued. It was a beautiful moon.

  11. Brianna Soloski says:

    Aww, that’s so romantic. I would love it if someone planned a date like that with me.

  12. Loree Huebner says:

    We did see the Super Moon rise over Indianapolis. It was huge! What a fun date. I’m a sky watcher so I knew about the Super Moon.

  13. I did enjoy the Super Moon from the front porch of my house, but I was alone unless you count the dog. My hubs had to work. It was a pretty cool night I must say!

    As far as my someone special – let’s just say that he and the word “plan” do not go hand-in-hand. The only thing he plans is that I’ll have a plan. I could so mess with him and refuse to plan on occasion, but then we’d never go anywhere, eat anything, buy anything new, or even get out of bed most mornings, because I hadn’t planned ahead, the alarm woulld’t have gone off and we’d still be sleeping. We wouldn’t have jobs either. He’s lucky he has me and my ability to plan.

    Fun post, Kelli. Sounds like Gwynly is a good guy to keep around.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  14. Teri Metts says:

    I’m a wanna-be photographer, so I’m often out snapping pictures whenever there’s a full moon. My husband, like yours, was the one who informed me there was a super moon on the horizon for this past weekend. And he was sweet enough to walk with me over to the town park while I took pictures Saturday night. However, as you said, although it was bright and pretty, it didn’t seem to be any bigger than other times when I’ve taken pictures of a full moon. But I’ve seen some shots taken along the Gulf of Mexico (Alabama & Panhandle of Florida) that were quite impressive. Guess we just weren’t in the right place. Next time maybe we should plan a trip to the beach for this event. 🙂

  15. Darlene says:

    Being with your best guy with a full moon would be great anywhere as far as I’m concerned. We, however ,missed it as we were both too busy to notice. Maybe next year. XO

  16. i had no idea about the super moon until after it had happened. jeannie = clearly out of the loop. i remember being in new orleans on my first date with my husband….he took me out to bonnabel point that jutted out into Lake Pontchartrain after a wonderful dinner on my birthday. we got engaged there almost a year later…so very special to me.

  17. markrhunter says:

    Emily and I went out into our back yard, which is mostly shielded from the town’s lights, and sat on the grass, staring up at the sky. From there you could see how much larger and brighter it was — especially by the way it washed out all but the brightest stars. Incredible sight. (Your honey and I feel the same way about this kind of thing!)

Comments are closed.