Friday Fun California Style

The heroine in my debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, likes to take long walks through the Sierra Foothills of California. The hero accompanies Ellie on one of her treks. While walking, Miles warns her of some possible dangers she might encounter and advises her to keep a lookout for them.

Bearing in mind that my story takes place in 1870, which one of the three possible dangers shown below do you think Miles tells Ellie does not pose a real threat to her?

Grizzly Bear

Poison Oak

Rattlesnake

• • •

Update and Answer

Miles tells Ellie that the grizzly bear doesn’t pose a real threat because most had been killed by miners and others who were scared of them or by hunters who wanted their furs.

The grizzly bears that still remained in California in 1870 would have been found high in the mountains, not down low in populated areas such as the Gold Country.

The last remaining grizzly bear in California was shot in 1922.

The grizzly bear is our state animal and is pictured on our flag.

• • •

Images are from Wikimedia Commons.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Fun California Style

  1. jennifermajor says:

    I’m going to say poison oak, simply because I’ve heard the snakes while walking through the mountains in California, and…oh heck, I need to know! Be right back…..ohhhhh. Very interesting.

  2. wendypainemiller says:

    I’ll second the oak.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. Sherrinda says:

    I’m thinking the rattlesnake. I’m sure there are snakes in California, but I wonder if rattlesnake is a problem in there. To me that is more of a Texas problem. 🙂 Now, I’m off to check to see if I’m right. 🙂

  4. cynthiaherron says:

    I think it’s the grizzly bear. I’ve often heard they don’t attack unless they feel threatened or are protecting their cubs. Off to check! 🙂

  5. Hmmm…I’m going to say the Grizzly Bear.

  6. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    I’m guessing the bear, because that freaks me out more than the others. I think most people see bears, but never see rattlesnakes early enough.

  7. I’ll say the oak. Maybe it wasn’t around yet? …

  8. Melissa Tagg says:

    Which one doesn’t pose the most threat? I’m going to say bears, because I like to believe they’re all cuddly and nice.

  9. I’d say all three since we have all three on our property.

  10. black bears maybe, but not grizzly bears so I am going to guess there weren’t any in the area for him to tell her to look out for ~*~ grizzly bears is my answer

  11. Hmmm… just looked at the answer.

Comments are closed.