Beach Reads

Here in California, summer is already knocking the door. While visiting our college daughter down in the Sacramento Valley this past weekend, the thermometer in my truck hit 100 degrees at one point. Thankfully the temperature dropped as Gwynly and I headed home and was in the low 90s by the time we reached Placerville in the Sierra Foothills.

When the mercury moves upward, thoughts turn to summer activities. Families racing to the end of the school year are eager to embrace more relaxed schedules. The big kickoff of the season takes place Memorial Day weekend. For many, holiday plans are underway.

One of the prime destinations in our area is Lake Tahoe. The locals here in Placerville–the halfway point between Sacramento and South Lake Tahoe–know to avoid Highway 50 during the getaway. A seemingly endless stream of vehicles hauling camping gear, bikes, boats, and more will pass through town that Friday afternoon and evening.

Many of those cars will be carrying people who are looking forward to relaxing with a good book. Some of those readers will stretch out on the sand somewhere around the massive alpine lake, bask in the sun, and prepare to lose themselves in their beach reads. Others will lounge around the plentiful pools at the many resorts and hotels.

The sound of lapping waves or kids splashing in a pool, the unmistakable scent of sunscreen, and a good book. Does life get any better than that?

• • •

Are you busy making Memorial Day plans? If so, do they include devouring a good book?

Do you read more books during the summer months than at other times of the year?

• • •

Drawing for a Book and a Bag!

I’m giving away a tote bag just the right size for a soda, some snacks, and a book. The winner will also get a copy of Wish You Were Here, a contemporary romance by Beth Vogt.

To enter the drawing, leave a comment by Tuesday, May 15. (Be sure to provide your email address in the appropriate field so I can contact you if you win.)

I’ll select the winner on Wednesday, May 16 and post the name here and in a comment.

Congratulations to the winner, Lindsay Harrel!

No purchase necessary.
Offer void where prohibited.
Odds of winning vary due to number of entrants.
About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Beach Reads

  1. Darlene says:

    You are lucky it is nice and warm where you are. I love warm weather. I also would love to win the book bag and book. (I spent Mother’s Day Sunday at the beach reading a book) My email is darlene(dot) foster(at)telus(dot)net

  2. Darlene says:

    BTW Lake Taho looks fabulous!

  3. Sally Riley says:

    Yes, I live here in SoCal. HOT already I agree. Looking forward to your book.

  4. my husband is planning a trip to the sierras in june…right around father’s day. he and two of his buddies go every year. i’m not sure what we’ll do for memorial day….this past weekend we went out to some lagoons up here in my husband’s drift boat so i could practice rowing with it. (no need to try to learn that skill in a river yet!) it was really fun!

  5. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who read the post and left a comment. I enjoyed them greatly.

    I’ve held the drawing for the cute beach tote and the copy of Beth Vogt’s debut novel, Wish You Were Here. The number that came up on random.org was thirteen. Lindsay Harrel left the 13th comment, so she’s the winner.

    Congratulations, Lindsay! I’ll be in touch.

Comments are closed.