Romance Languages

What do you think of when you hear the words “romance language?”

My daughter, a German-French major, immediately thinks of French.

While French is one of the romance languages, I’m not thinking of that kind of language. I’m thinking about one’s personal romance language. Mine is mushy.

Gwynly learned years ago that if he picks out the mushiest card he can find, he’s sure to score major romance points.

His choice of a Mother’s Day card this year was spot on. How did he know? He watched the tear-o-meter. If I get misty-eyed, he figures he nailed it. And this card had definite tear-producing power.

Since Gwynly is a logical science teacher guy with a dry wit, his personal romance language is a far cry from mushy. His lingo is humor, so I look for cards sure to make him laugh. If he reads one I give him and cracks up, I know I scored.

• • •

How would you describe your personal romance language?

Do sweet words work for you, is humor your thing, or would a hug make your day?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Romance Languages

  1. jessicarpatch says:

    Because I’m both, my husband always buys me 2 cards for every occasion! (Even though he knows I’m going to throw them away as soon as I read them. I don’t save cards unless they’re encouragement cards. That’s probably bad.) He gives me a “mushy” card, and follows it up with something humorous and over the top!

  2. Keli, I might have thought that Italian was the language of romance. We are passionate, while the French are aloof and the Germans are stoic. We are huggers and kissers and lovers. Bella Keli … I think the perfect combo is a bit of both. After all is said and done, Italians might have given the world DaVinci but we also gave them Felini 🙂

  3. wendypainemiller says:

    Physical touch is huge for me. My husband used to rest his hand on my leg to say good-bye when he had to leave for work early in the morning. Just that simply touch communicated so much.
    ~ Wendy

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    Quality time is a big deal to me…

    I love that your husband knows exactly what to give you to make you misty-eyed. 🙂

  5. When my man cooks dinner or rubs my back or does the laundry or cleans the kitchen….I feel very loved.

  6. Loree Huebner says:

    I adore Eric’s unexpected touch. He might tickle my arm, or rub my back while were talking with people…or when he takes my hand just to hold.

  7. It’s romantic to me when my husband takes care of me. I had a horrible headache last night and called him crying (it hurt really bad!), and he came home and rubbed my head and got me an ice pack. His voice was so concerned. It spoke volumes to me of the depth of his love for me.

    I can’t remember the last time we got each other cards. But usually the presents we get each other are really thoughtful. We enjoy getting each other just the right gift.

  8. bethkvogt says:

    I’m with Jess: my husband usually buys two cards because I like one with tender words and one that makes me laugh out loud. And yes, I keep the cards tucked away in a special drawer … I have quite a collection. 🙂

  9. gabriellemeyer says:

    Last night I came home from a dinner with my MOPS friends and my hubby had made a.) put the twins to be, b.) made sure the kiddos hadn’t destroyed the house and c.) cleaned up the kitchen after their meal! This was the most romantic thing he could have done – seriously. I love when he takes the time (especially after a long day at work) to make my job a little easier – and I do the same for him.

  10. That is sooo sweet!!! I don’t know what mine would be. Sweet words on a card are good if they feel sincere to me but they’re more powerful when he says them to me. *swoon* I also love hugs though.

  11. Becky Doughty says:

    I’m a word-girl, but my favorite words are “Honey, I fixed the….” (fill in the blank). Seriously. If Kevin fixes something that he knows I want or need fixed WITHOUT me asking a thousand times, I melt. The kiss on the back of my neck when I’m elbow-deep in dishes comes a close second. The blank store-bought cards that he fills with his own words rank right up there, too!

    Fun post, Keli!

  12. How sweet! It’s the opposite in my house. My hubby likes the sentimental cards and I like the funny ones, although he hasn’t figured that out yet because he continues to buy me the mushy ones. I’ve learned, finally, to get him the sentimental cards and I rely on my friends to give me silly cards.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  13. cynthiaherron says:

    I’m a sentimentalist AND I adore humor so I guess you could say I like both kinds of cards, depending on what kind of mood I’m in. And my “love language” I think would be a thoughtful gesture, a softspoken endearment, or a hug when I’m least expecting it.

  14. candidkerry says:

    I’m with Cynthia – we generally give each other humorous cards and we like to joke around and tease, but it’s always best with a side of sweet, affectionate words. Every now and then Trev surprises me with a compliment or a romantic card, and I try to do the same for him. 🙂

  15. A hug will always be my mushy language with anyone I love. It’s something only that person can give you and when they are gone, it’s the one thing I miss the most. Flowers or Sees Candy are a quick second. 😉 My birthday is next week so the invite to take me to Red Lobster was a mushy, too. It only happens on very special occasions.

  16. jeanniecampbell says:

    i’m pretty practical when it comes to romance. i like my cards to be straight-forward. i’m not big on those cards that go on and on in this flowery language that my husband would never use in real life. (not sure how i’d like that anyway, come to think of it.) just a sweet sentiment and no glitter at all on the card makes me happy. 🙂

  17. What a lovely, sweet card you received from Gwynly. 🙂 Sweet words are very nice, but I am a hugger! I do have to say, though, that my husband does thoughtful things for me (like surprising me with a Starbucks Mocha or box of donuts). 😉

Comments are closed.