Friday Fun Victorian Style

I recently made a list of some of my favorite shows set in Victorian times.

So that this post wouldn’t be too long, I forced myself to narrow my list down to three. That was not an easy task, let me tell you, but I made my choices. And here they are. . .

Clark Davis is one of the nicest heroes ever. I love Dale Midkiff’s portrayal of him.

I love tortured heroes, and when they’re as drool-worthy as Richard Armitage, I’m a goner.

The fact that this love story really happened totally melts my heart. Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend did a great job bringing Victoria and Albert’s romance to the screen.

• • •

Which Victorian-era shows would top your list of favorites?

(For those, like me, who tend to forget the dates, Queen Victoria reigned from 1837-1901.)

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Fun & Friends, Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Fun Victorian Style

  1. Sherrinda says:

    North and South!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HUGE SIGH….that hero is soooooo awesome. When he watches her ride away and stands at the top of the steps and whispers…”Look back at me…Look back at me.” OH MY GOODNESS….sigh.

    I am going to watch this tonight. 🙂

  2. Erica Vetsch says:

    Any cowboy movie. I’m in total love with the American West. 🙂

  3. Oh, your choices were grand, Keli. I must admit an attachment to several writers from the Victorian era; in particular Charles Dickens and Sir Arthor Conan Doyle. There have been so many movies made from Dicken’s tales … notably A Christmas Carol, the musical Oliver from the book Oliver Twist and the lesser known movie made from his wonderful book: A Tale of Two Cities.

    Although I would love to add my favorite, Sir Arthor Conan Doyle to the Victorians, since he was born in 1859, he was stories were of the early 1900’s.

    The enduring and most often made tale from the Victorians must remain Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Her story has been done on the big screen and on Public Television more than ten times in the last 80 years and like Scrooge from A Christmas Carol, Jane is one of the giant literary characters of all time 🙂

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    North and South!!! I love it sooo much! And I’m echoing Sherrinda…I love the part where he’s watching her ride off, too. Oh…swoooon!

  5. How fun! I have seen the first and third (just bought the third, actually!), but not the second…I must find and rent!!

  6. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    I need to see North and South ~ Laura Frantz is always talking about it, too!

    This seems so silly, but one of my favorite Victorian Era movies is Lady & The Tramp! I LOVE that Disney cartoon – it makes you want to jump into the screen and become a part of their world…wait, as I wrote that line it reminded me of Little Mermaid… 🙂

    I also love Meet Me in St. Louis, with Judy Garland and Cheaper by the Dozen (the original) with Myrna Loy. Little Women (any version) is also a favorite of mine. There are so many great Victorian Era movies made back in the 1940s & 1950s. I would watch an oldie over a new movie any day!

  7. is that show North & South anything like the earlier tv series with the same name? Patrick Swayze was in that….and i LOVED it. something tells me it’s not the same concept, though. so i don’t guess i watch any shows from that time period. are these shows on now? jeannie = out of the loop.

  8. I adore North and South. I think I have a partiality to the Brits. It seems most of my heroes have been Scots or English. With the exception of Tom Selleck. I love Pride and Prejudice, but have not idea what timeline it falls into.

  9. bethkvogt says:

    I didn’t realize Love Comes Softly would be considered Victorian Era … and you are right, Clark is so kind. Very heroic.
    Had to smile at Gabrielle’s answer of Lady and Tramp — now that is thinking outside the box. And I love her answer!
    🙂

  10. Darlene says:

    Glad to see Young Victoria on your list as it is one of my favourite as well. Bleak House has to be my favourite Charles Dickens adaptation. I am also a Jayne Eyre fan and can watch it over and over. Bravo for narrowing it down to three.

  11. Susan Mason says:

    I’ve just ordered Love Comes Softly from the library. Heard so many good things about it – will have to see for myself! Love the other two choices as well!

  12. Carol says:

    Anne of Green Gables and The Secret Garden will always be childhood favourites that I haven’t outgrown, although I also like Phantom of the Opera, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, and The Man From Snowy River (oh, what scenery in that one!!).

Comments are closed.